We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in nice location, shame about food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel in nice location, shame about food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here in June for 5 days with a friend. Was booked in Sol Don Pedro but given a room in Sol Don Marco as complex is made up of 3 hotels. Sol don marco hotel was more modern. Very nice looking hotel inside and hotel rooms were adequate and very clean with nice spacious bathrooms. Although beds really uncomfortable and gave us back ache. The hotel is centred on the beach front in torremolinos, great location near shops and restaurants and only 10 mins walk to main centre which has plenty of shops, restaurants. The hotel grounds are nice enough and plenty of swimming pools to choose from, you can go to any pool etc in any of 3 hotels. We had half board and although breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from, we struggled with dinner and for half the time we ate out. We found a nice little bar about 5 min walk, left from hotel along the beach called Copacabana. It was nice to sit there and watch people go by and did great food. Beware of the Bar Manager if your a young lady, hes def a ladies man.
I went on this trip with my girl friend and being in our early 30s we were surprised that the nightlife in torremolinos is not as expected. There are a couple of bars, irish bars mainly in centre of torremolinos but the main clubs are for gays as its known as the gay holiday capital. We found out that 10 minute down the road (approx. 10-15 euros in taxi) is a place called benalmadena and a 24 hour square. It has about 6/7 bars/clubs which are open 24 hours and is really busy at the weekends. It was a great place to go.
If your thinking of visiting Marbella and porto bunis, its a distance and cost approx 50 euros one way in a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear TAGarton,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Don Marco. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel even though not so happy with the beds or the dinner. It is a shame that we did not know about the bed issue as we have softer mattresses for those who prefer them. I am sorry that you did not enjoy dinner as much as the breakfast. In general we have positive responses to the dining room but we realise that, although we have a great deal of variety, we cannot cater to every taste.
The centre of Torremolinos is no longer the wild party town that it was in the 80's but at the Los Alamos beach, which is about 15 minutes walk along the front there are some great bars and clubs. There are also clubs in nearby Puerto Marina which is a forty-minute walk (or cab ride) along the beach front in the other direction.
I hope that we see you again in the future. Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    199
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
92
276
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My first stay at the Don Marco Hotel and Torremolinos. Excellent hotel in every way. Tastefully decorated, well maintained and cleaned to a very high standard. The grounds are beautiful. Also bedrooms very peaceful. Food fantastic. Excellent breakfast and the dinner at night had something for everyone. Reception staff very helpful. Eva was very efficient and helpful. Would definitely return as Great base for beach, shops and for walking to Carihuela or Benalmadena

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review Lesley C,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Sol Don Hotels complex so much. Thanks for taking time to let us know about your stay.
I really hope that you will be back one day soon
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a short 3 day break at the Don Marco, booked through their own website. Paid a wee bit extra for seaview , and asked for 5th floor, as we had been before in 2007. Great room, full bath and separate shower. Huge balcony with table, chairs, umbrella, and sunloungers! As for the food, something for everyone, great breakfast, staff work really hard to maintain standards. What we really liked was the quiet atmosphere, as all entertainment was in the Don Pablo, and Don Pedro. If you want a hotel in Torremolinos, you must try this one!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a front facing seaview room, and ask for floor 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Granny1,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see a returning guest writing up their opinion on Trip Advisor.
A lot of guests love the Don Marco for the very reason that you mention: it is very peaceful, but with the advantage of having all the facilities, services and entertainment of the Don Pedro and Don Pablo available in the complex if you should want it.
I see that you stayed in one of the sea-front penthouse rooms. We only have three of these and they are in great demand. Having said that, all the rooms are similar in the Don Marco; it is just that the penthouses have that spectacular terrace.
Come again!
Kind regards,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've probably spent my best vacations in Sol Don Marco in June 2013. Rooms were clean, location right near the sea shore and close to Torremolinos center. There are a lot of swimming pools, jacuzi and reach entertainment programme. Most of days we spent on tourist trips around Malaga. There are many interesting places to visit in near. In the remaining days we were participating in different games, dancing trainings, gym and zoomba. All entertainment animators are really fantastic. They like their job and are very friendly taking care of all hotels inhabitants. Every day we had mini disco for kids and interesting shows. Don Marco, Don Pedro and Don Pablo are building a real powerful hotel complex, which allows to arrange an entertainment on the highest level.
Searching very thoroughly in the disadvantages, I would point the capacity of the restaurant, which had some problems to service all breakfasts and dinners in the "rush hours". Some tourists had to wait in que even 20 mins to get a place.
Me and my family were very satisfied of all other services provided by the Sol Don Marco. For sure I would recomend that hotel for 2-3 weeks vacations in Costa del Sol.

Room Tip: Most of hotel rooms has a sea sight. Rooms situated on Don Pablo side are more loudly and let observ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear PiotrP,
Thank you for writing you review on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you took full advantage of all the services in the hotel complex as well as going out to discover the amazing Andalusian country that surrounds us. Many people forget that there is so much more than sun and sand in Torremolinos.
I really hope that we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comber
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Returned to this hotel for the second time and we were not disappointed!! From the moment we arrived till we checked out 10 days later we enjoyed every minute. Eva and Minguel were especially helpfull at reception as was even the house maid!! The food this year was even better than last year. Food to suit all and plentiful.
Seaview room is terrific especially on the 5th floor.It is well worth paying the extra for such room. The free gym is small but has all that you need in it. The fridge is free, safe 2euro a day and you can have towels for sunloungers at 10euro deposit but you get it back when returned. Happy hour is also available and prices are very reasonable. Well worth a vist. I have friends who have already booked for Sept.2013 on my recommodation. Treat yourself!!!!!

Room Tip: 5th floor seaview rooms are very quiet..Your own sunloungers table and chairs on balcony and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear binghamComber,
It is so rewarding to have returning guests, of who we have many, and I really appreciate you taking time to let people know. It is even more rewarding to see that you appreciate the efforts to keep improving. Lets hope to see you again soon. We look forward to having your friends here in September.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned & had a great stay.Reception were very helpfull & the service exelent
They upgaded us to a better room at no extra cost & they didnt have to
The holel was clean & offers exeptional value for money they even allowed us to keep hold of our room until 14:00 at no extra charge
The hotel has free WI FI in all the bars which is great for Facetiming all your friends & family for free
The breakfast was very good & they even had free Cava each day to wash it down with
I will be going back to this hotel again soon

Room Tip: The terace at the front of the Marco is exelent for sunbathing & you can look out over the tapas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Martin T,
I am so glad that you enjoyed you stay at the Sol Don Hotels complex. Thank you for letting us all know about your experience.
I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

lovely stay - check in very slow as they were busy doing something else but not huge problem.

Hotel clean and friendly, staff work very hard, lots of pools, sun loungers and a small gym and sauna which is free to use.

Area - Beach 2 min walk infront of hotel, nice bars (Tiki sushi bar is nice for cocktails) 7 euro each but big so you only need one. Nice little stalls with jewellery and souvenirs and shop on the right of hotel where chilled 2 litre bottles of water for 1 euro.

Room- Very clean, aircon and heating, fresh hand and bath towels every morning, hairdryer, iron and trouser press, tv has BBC1, Sky news, Itv4 and Channel 4.

Breakfast - unlimited drinks, tea & coffee, cheeses and hams, selection of jams, nutella, honey, fresh crusty bread which you can slice yourself, cakes and huge croissants, cereals, fresh fruit and continental hot breakfast with omelette, fried, poached & scrambled egg. Selection of sauces.

Evening meal - massive choice, soups, cold meats, lovely salads, fish, chicken, steak, pork, lamb, stews, selection of pastas and sauces, fresh bread, casseroles, pizza, paella, chips, potato wedges and jacket potato. basically anything you can imagine, they have it! all tastes fresh and very nice. Desserts were OK, not brilliant, very samey cakes every night, not much changes, they have icecream too and fresh fruit, cheese & crackers.

Benalmadena - turn right out of hotel and its 1hr 30 min walk to marina along the prom but you can also get bus for 1.70 euro single or the train.

Town of Torremolinos pretty with lots of shops and cafes/icecream. Turn left out of hotel and walk towards fair/mini golf and turn right, walk up to the top of road and turn left to walk through little back street and you'll find the lift to the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear letmese,
What a great review. You have all the bases covered. Thank you so much. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and hope that you return to us soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.