We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Don Marco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Don Marco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I are coming to the Don Marco on 20th May for two weeks. This will be the 15th
visit in 7 Years . Should we say more. From the Staff at reception, Eva, Miguel, to mention just two and we have a special word to say about the lady who looks after our room and maintains it
to the highest standard, Maria Jose. The food and service has always been excellent for all our
visits. Jamie, you shouls be very proud at what you have achieved with your staff at the Don Marco. Thank you too Louisa for looking after our booking over the years.

Tony and Linda Bradford, Scotland
,

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we like a room facing south overlooking the Don Marco pool for the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Tony B,
Thank you got your kind words. We look forward to seeing you next week!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    190
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
260
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a 5day stay at the hotel don macro. Excellent staff at reception who were very helpful at all times. Room was excellent and facilities first class. Had a choice of room which was great as we had the sun all afternoon on the balcony overlooking the pool. We have stayed at the don Pablo a few times over the last 5years and thought that was very good,but the don marco beats this hands down. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and from Malaga airport you can get the train for little money to torremolinos . The hotel bis no more than a 5-10min walk down through the town and down steps or lift to the beach. Would recommend for anyone wanting a first class break.

Room Tip: Had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Sun all afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioStalenhoef, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear "Debbie M",

Thanks you for your words about us, we are glad that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and we hope you keep coming to us as often as possible, we will always be wellcome here: your house.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife booked for us to go here as a surprise for my 42nd birthday and We weren't disappointed. Not one for packaged holidays we made our own way to the hotel via train from the airport which took 5 minutes and cost €1.75. From Torremolinos station it's a leisurely 5 minute walk down hill to the front and you hit the hotel straight away.
Don't believe the nonsense on here about it being difficult to book in, if you have half a brain you will soon realise that Don Marco, Don Pablo and Don Pedro are a complex so you can book in at any reception. The reception staff are top notch and can't do enough to help out, for instance we arrived late so missed lunch but without asking they said we could have it on the day we departed, we also found a nice complimentary bottle of champers in the room.
The food is exceptional and the variety is more than you would expect from any top hotel, add this to the fantastic customer service throughout the hotels and it is hard o find any fault at all.
I do get itchy feet and like to get about so we jumped on the train to Malaga (€4 return ticket) and went to the football while we was there. The stadium is 5 minutes from the train station (just follow the river) and tickets cost us €40 for some great seats. Some great little bars next to the ground with a very welcoming friendly atmosphere.
Just a quick point on wifi, I'm writing this in the hotel reception as I'm sat waiting for the wife to get ready. It is free across all reception areas and is fine.
She is now ready so I'm off, if anybody has any questions or I can help in any way just give us a shout.

Adios Amigos

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Chaz1055,
Thanks for your great review. I'm glad that you took advantage of the easy transport around here. The local train doesn't get much publicity but it is an excellent service: clean, economical and ALWAYS ON TIME! I'm guessing that you saw Malaga-Getafe. 2-1 for the home side. Good result.
Next time I see a guest on their laptop in reception I will wonder if they are writing about us! Thanks for taking the time to do so and I hope that we see you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sol Don Marco from 01 April to 07 April. This is part of the Sol Don Hotel. Complex which also includes the Sol Don Pablo and the Sol Don Pedro.
Our room was on the fourth floor with a beautiful see view. It is well worth paying the additional charge in order to get the sea view.
The complex is maintained to a very high standard.
We had access to the facilities of all 3 hotels. We stayed on half board basis.
The whole complex was very clean and food was excellent and evening entertainment was good.
All staff were very efficient, friendly and welcoming.
This was our first time staying at the Sol Don Hotels and we will definitely return.
We would highly recommend the Sol Don Hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon HOBcork. Thank you for letting everyone know that you enjoyed the Sol Don Hotels Complex.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just back from the Don Marco. Very helpful staff especially Eva. There was was some confusion about the rooms, should have been twins but were listed as double, but Eve sorted it out for us and we eventually got very nice rooms overlooking the pool area, with lots of evening sun. The grounds of the 3 hotels were great lots of areas to relax and no need to put your towel out to bag your sunlounger. The first night in the dining room [of which we only had access to one as it was winter schedule] was reasonable good but thereafter was only medioca, the staff tried hard but it was very noisy unless you were in the conservatory. We went out to dinner on the last night to the Shang-Hai chinese restaurant around the corner from the Don Marco where we had a supurb meal very reasonable priced. We also spent 2 nights in the Irish pub next door, the welcome was warm and the measures were generous

Room Tip: Sea view gets morning sun, but pool view gets a little sea view and lots of evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Quizni,
Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion on Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that the initial confusion about the bed type was quickly resolved by Eva. It is always possible for a misunderstanding to occur but the most important thing is a quick and effective resolution.
I see that you were not entirely happy in the restaurant. I am sorry to hear about this and would love to have more specific information in order to be able to solve any issues. In general we have very positive responses regarding the dining but there is always room to offer new services or improve if our guests suggest something. In any case, it seems that the Irish Affair next door made everything alright with their "generous measures"!
Thanks again for your review and I hope that we will see you again some day.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulsterIE
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Four of us spent a fantastic week in this hotel during mid-April, which is still considered the off-season in Spain and things were pretty quiet. You could see the hotels, although, getting busier every day. The hotel was really very good - the rooms were of a good size, adequate storage spaces, spotlessly clean....but with my long time complaint in holiday hotels...no counter space provided in the bathroom for your toiletries.
The Marco's dining room was still closed for the season and all the guests from all three hotels ate in the Don Pablo's dining room. Although it was very busy at times, everything ran very efficiently and the food was of a high standard. Of course there are some things you might think to yourself should be served, or done differently, etc., but we don't go on hols to stress ourselves out over trivial matters. Full marks to the catering staff.
There is plenty to do on the site with the three hotels having plenty of activities. The location of the hotel is good...near shops (such kinds as they are), the beach and the prom. We had never been to the Costa del Sol before in April and thought the weather might have been iffy. It wasn't, it was just perfect.
I forgot to add that the grounds of the hotels are beautifully maintained and a joy to walk through. Full marks to the maintenance crew too!

Room Tip: Be aware that many of the rooms in the Don Marco are actually in the Hotel Don Pedro, which a-joins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear tourister10,
Thank you for your positive and complementary report. Trip Advisor is a very important tool for us to make sure that we are providing the service that our customers want. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. Let's hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELSTON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Sol Don Marco in April 2013.

LOCATION: The hotel is very well situated, close to the beach, shops and restaurants etc. Some reviews comment on the "busy road" which we could not understand. Hardly saw any traffic and is perfectly easy to cross. It was a short stroll to the lift into the town centre which is worth a look. Also I would visit the Benalmedina Marina as it was beautiful (I wouldnt reccomend getting the train as the station is a long way from the Marina). There was a shop just outside the hotel which was cheap enough for ice creams and drinks etc.

HOTEL AMENITIES: Lots of pools to choose from. Hundreds of areas to sunbathe and sun loungers available. No problem at all to find one to sit on. Swimming pools were nice, but far to cold to get in despite the 30 degree heat. There was a lovely outdoor hotub which was a blessing to "cool off" because we couldnt get in the pool!

ROOMS - lovely rooms, very clean and had all the necessary aspects including a shaving kit which was a new thing (although ours was used which was less pleasant!). Big bathroom, with a shower and separate bath. Shame our room had no sun on the balcony - morning or afternoon though. The key cards can be a pain, we had problems on our first day but once they had changed the batteries in the door they worked fine.

ENTERTAINMENT: This was typical hotel entertainment, only saw the nightly shows but they were ok.

GENERAL: The hotel is very much full of retired 60+ people of a variety of nationalities. Seems to be very good for disabled people and there was the occaisional family. Towels are available at the hotel for a 10Euro deposit so no need to bring one. The 3 hotels (Marco, Pedro and Pablo) are very close together and really just like one large single hotel complex - most of the time you do not know which one you are in so it makes no difference which one your room is in.

IMPROVEMENTS: Lots of choice for food but it was a shame there was no drink included in dinner - even water or tea or coffee would be lovely. The Italian bar, while nice food could have had a selection of different pasta sauces or vary them nightly (it was always tomato).

The entrance to the Don Marco is gated and closed late at night. We arrived after they closed and had no idea how to get in (which was very disconcerting at 12.30am when the taxo dumped us outside the gates). There was no signage for new guests but there was a buzzer with no message saying whether it was for the hotel or not.

It would be appreciated if there was one of the outdoor swimming pools that was heated slightly - just enough to be able to get in. They were ice cold and I couldnt get in all week.

Room Tip: It makes no difference which of the hotels you stay in opt for the cheapest as they are all right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear REBECCAR141,
Thank you for your detailed and very balanced review. You make some comments regarding the Italian Corner in the dining room and the signage at the front gate for late arrivals that we will certainly address. It is always really useful to have feedback from guests who are living the experience of the hotel in order to keep improving. I hope that you appreciate the changes should you return!
As far as rooms in the three hotels of the complex are concerned, the Don Marco hotel tends to be the quietest of the three, which is not necessarily noticeable in March and the beginning of April because the typical guest is of retirement age. As the season gets going, however, many people appreciate the relaxed atmosphere. The Don Pedro and Don Pablo are more family-orientated with the Pablo having the largest rooms and the Don Pedro having a smaller and simpler room at a lower rate.
Please come back and visit us again to make sure that we have mede your changes.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.