We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jedburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, shame about the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a weeks stay at the San Marco, room was lovely, the hotel very very clean and the staff excellent, we stayed half board and was very disappointed with the food, cooked breakfasts were dismal with the bacon unappetising greasy and oily, and the sausages were kept in a liquidy state which tasted horrendous, the saving grace at breakfast was the beautiful bread and if early enough very nice poached eggs.The Cava was also pleasant, but needed.


Brakfast and dinner was a challenge as the restaurant also catered for the adjacent hotel the San Pedro and on two occasions after being directed to a table by staff found ourselves"gazumped" by other gusets that the staff had allowed in without keeping them waiting until a table was actually vacant.

I am not a great lover of fish but normally find something to eat however on this trip I was faced with fish or unappetising meat dishes, I coan honestly say that the food was very bland, a salad would have been great but unfortunately, by the time that I got round to the salad buffet on two nights there was hardly anything that was appetising, as other guests must have had the same idea. I tried to get to dinner most nights for 7pm but it was a nightmare to try and get fed.

My wife and I ate sandwiches in our room on two nights after a visit to the local Mercadona supermarket and on the last night faced with the majority of the dishes on offer being fish. Ok was salmon instead of a roast and prawns at the salad bar but for non fish eaters this was not what we wanted.

The bottom line is that I was so happy to leave the hotel and go home, an experience that I have never had on a holiday before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear RoyBrookes57,
I appreciate the time that you have taken to write in to Facebook, and whilst glad that you liked the instalations of the Don Marco and the cleanliness of the hotel, I am sorry that you felt the restaurant missed the mark to such an extent.
It is true that in winter, when occupancy levels are below 50%, we only open the larger of the two dining rooms in the complex. As soon as we reach a capacity where both dining rooms are required we open them both.
I am sorry that you did not find your choice of menu either. We not only have stews and cold meat dishes, but every night we grill two different types of meat and two different types of fish on the show cooking, allowing guests to decide how they want their meat cooked. I am surprised that you did not find at least one meat dish to you liking at dinner and sorry that you were dissappointed.
I take your point regarding the bacon and sausages: we have bought new recipients to allow them to drain whilst on the hot buffet.
Thank you again for your input.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    233
    59
    19
    8
See reviews for
111
341
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton U.k.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose the Sol Don Marco for a 5 night New Year's Break in the sun ( we hoped !) The rooms were ready when we checked in with the exception of the double-bedded one for which we had to wait until after lunch time. This was on the top floor with a sea view and a sun terrace rather than a balcony. All 3 rooms were very comfortable with reasonable sized bathrooms.
The food offered at the breakfast and evening times was plentiful and gave a good choice for all. The restaurant was busy but if you varied your arrival there was always a table to be had. We had to search sometimes as we were a party of 6 but there was no great problem.
The New Year's Eve Gala Meal was excellent with a free bar and entertainment. This was €118 per person but was New Year after all.
The entertainment was varied both in style and location with the adjacent Don Pedro and Don Pablo hotels offering their lounges for clients rather than the Don Marco.
The clientele were mixed with " golden oldies" like our party and younger groups with quite a few families there. A good mix with some Americans being there for an extended vacation - and ,yes, the sun did shine throughout our stay - a welcome break from our miserable damp British weather.
There is a charge for Wi Fi which is offered free in some other Melia hotels.
Finally, the staff - nothing was too much for them with a pleasant attitude at all times. The bar staff and restaurant staff worked their socks off. Although the restaurant was self service, the staff were quick to clear tables and make things less cluttered. Bar service was provided by waiters as well as self service and were excellent at their job
We would return to the Don Marco without hesitation for the reasons given plus it's prime position opposite the beach. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea views worth the extra money and join the Melia Rewards programme for discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review ALord. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt well looked-after. I look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed in this group of hotels a few times and have always been very happy with our stay and will return again in the future. The Don Marco is our favourite of the group but the facilities of all three hotels are available to all residents so I guess it does not really matter in which you have your room.
We always stay on a half-board basis and particullary enjoy the delicious breakfasts, there is a great variety of food available to suit all tastes and usually a sparkly wine is on offer as well, though we do miss the lovely coffee that used to be served (coffee machines have taken over from the previous waiter service).
The hotels have an abundance of pools to suit all age groups, there are tennis courts and two large out door bowling greens. The animation team provide a wide variety of day and evening entertainment and are all pleasant and work hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable time.
The hotel rooms, lounges and beautiful gardens are expertly kept by a very hard working staff.
The location of these hotels is perfect with the beach just across the road and a long flat promenade where you can walk as far as you feel able, there is also an abundance of shops in the main town which can be found by walking up San Miguel Street also not far from the hotel.
You can also arrange any tours you fancy from Exotic Tours, also to be found in that area and they will collect you from your hotel in the morning of the tour but will alway include a multi-national group.

Room Tip: We prefer a room on the sunny side which will have differant views depending on which hotel you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Redzview,
Thank you for your delightful review of the Sol Dons, and more precisely the Marco. I am so glad that you keep enjoying the complex and keep coming back. As you mention, the three hotels enjoy all the facilities of the complex as well as the privileged position by the beach and close to the centre. Each of the hotels is a little different despite their shared facilities. The Don Marco is the quietest of the three and aimed mostly at couples and singles. The Don Pablo is a family hotel with very good-sized bedrooms and more of a Grand Hotel feeling, whilst the Don Pedro is cozier, more Andalucian, with less-spacious bedrooms but a more economical price. There is something for most tastes.
We very much hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

got there was dealt with promptly given room on 4th floor, not as big as i thought it would be from photos not much room to put clothes, we had to use shelves they where covered in fluff had not been cleaned for some time. Wife went to reception, who changed our room slightly bigger with seperate shower still not much room for clothing,head of house came to our room, once again there was areas with fluff she brought the cleaner in to clean again apoligising.The enterance area to the don marcos is a nice area but as others have said it isnt open you use the don p.several pool areas which take time to find, entertainment on every night didnt go.The food in particular the cuts of meat are the best i have had in a buffet style hotel, the breakfast is expansive,stopped half board. asked if we could change for lunch one day as we had booked a restaurent, no problems at all , which was good thing.There are several english channels on the tv but you have to look for them .there is a bus stop outside the hotel for the urbano L2 be aware it doesnt always go along to the melia so check the time table for that punctuality is not very good due to the drivers having conversation with each other at the treminus, where you can get the L1 to caraheilla, be wary as the bus goes off at 2200 hrs.and the taxi for 4 minutes ride cost 7 euros a total rip off and as such we didnt use taxis around the resort again.A small irish bar,irish affair, outside is worth a look it has on the signpost probably the worst irish bar in the world, the signs in side are worth reading as they are a good laugh, was there on thursday to be greeted with a sign saying closed back in three minutes if not read again. The front prom is very nice there is work going on at the moment but still is a nice walk. All in all had a good time there would like to go to the caraheilla area next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear crathie,
Thanks for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. Your opinions are our guide to continuing to improve our service. I am sorry to hear that the shelves in the room you were allocated had dust on them. When we have low occupation in winter we make sure that allocated rooms are reviewed before giving access to guests as sometimes they may have been empty for a little while. This obviously did not happen in your case and I will insist with housekeeping that more attention is paid to this.
You mention going to the other hotel lounges in the evenings. The Don Marco is always kept quiet (no entertainment in the lounge therefore) but as you discovered, those that want a little more atmosphere can go to either of the other hotel lounges in the complex for the different entertainment that is offered there every night.
I hope that you come back again and next time have the chance to walk down the promenade to the Carihuela area which is well worth visiting - especially for the fish restaurants.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel did not disappoint. Having stayed in several Sol hotels previously we expected it to be good and it was. Cleanliness is obviously a priority as is the food. I don't think anyone could complain about the food as the wide choice and quality was first class. The grounds surrounding the three hotel complex are extensive and immaculate. If the weather was bad you could walk from the Don Pablo through the Don Pedro to the Don Marco without ever going outside. Even in winter there were excellent outdoor activities such as archery and air rifle and pistol shooting, all free of charge. This seemed to surprise some clients who were expecting to pay. The evening entertainment was also of a high quality and the bar staff particularly friendly. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel complex to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear David W,
Thank you for taking the time to send in your very positive review. We are always keen to hear any criticism regarding quality as it helps us to keep refining our service, but it is always gratifying to hear that guests have had their expectations exceeded too!
Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Impressive entrance and foyer. Good standard of food in a convenienient location. Very well priced for half board. Lots of pools to choose from but bar areas very busy with not enough tables and chairs on an evening. Good restaurants and bars nearby. Ideal break for a week away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear igOthere42,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Sol Don Marco and the Don Hotels complex. I am glad that you enjoyed the time spent here. I see that your review is from September of last year so I will see why the service in the bars in the evening was not up to scratch.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location is Excellent, set on the Playa de Bajondillo beach. From Malaga Station, take the train (~3 euros, 15min trip, every 20 mins) to Torremolinos station (plaza), either utlise the taxis outside of the plaza, or walk ( ~10 minutes) from the other end of the plaza & make your way decsending down gioreta lorna del los riscos, & make your way to the beach (picasso 2 ladies sculpture roundabout). Turn right, and the Hotel as it's own private entrance 100 metres down
Don't be confused. The entrance is shared amongst the 3 hotels in the same complex. though you have access to all 5 pools (+ indoor pool)
Outside peak months, reception closed, use Hotel Don Pablo
More direct access visa the steps...via the lift, to the centre you learn to find
Breakfast @ ~7-15 GBP per day is pricey, quality of hot food is 'good', range of breakfast food to good-to-very good'. Gym is small but 'good'
Room, with Balcony(shared) is 'very good' ~daily sunrise & sunsets
Dinner was wide ranging though declined the buffet-style, & ate in town & around andalucia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Hotel I,
Thank you for your very informative review of the Don Marco and the complex.
Although the Don Marco is currently open all year round it is true that during low season we close the Reception and offer that service in the Don Pedro which is the same building. Guests choosing the Marco in winter do so because they love the decoration of the rooms, almost all of which are on the sunny side of the building, and above all becuase it is very quiet and relaxed. They have the option of joing in with any activities or using the common areas of the other two hotels but can always guarantee peace in the Marco.
All three hotels have individual receptions and entrances from outside the hotel but there is a shared pedestrian access to the beach in front of the Don Marco entrance.
Many thanks again for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#11 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#8 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#26 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
#20 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#19 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.