We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Save Saved
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the Sol Don Marco for 4 nights at the begining of July. Rooms are not huge but large enough, well decorated with good quality furnishings and a small balcony big enough for a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was modern and very clean with bath and seperate shower cubicle,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review julie j. I am glad that you enjoyed the Sol Don Marco. We hope to see you again next summer.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    165
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
69
225
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was our 2nd time at this hotel.We like the position as it's right on the beach front & only a 5 minute taxi drive from airport.Hotel is clean and modern.Cleaners come in every day & clean towells are left daily Beach towells are available. .Bed was really comfortable & there are extra pillows & blankets..Our balcony was over looking the beach & pools,which was nice.Breakfast very nice & lots to choose from.Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We very much look forward to seeing you back maxine g. I am so glad that you enjoyed your break.
Kind regarsds,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Don Marco 13/6/2012 for 10 days, this was our 4th time at this hotel complex, Never again the food is disgusting and we have always said that your hard to please if you do not enjoy the food at any Sol hotel. I complained to Hotel Manager and he basically said no one else found any complaints with the food. Well we would watch them leaving a full plate at morning and evening meals. Never again.

E. Cartman Newcastle England

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear EIL640Newcastle,
I am extremely sorry to see that you did not enjoy your holidays back in June as you felt the food was not as you had hoped. I have spoken with the other members of the management team in the complex and unfortunately none can recall having spoken with you about this issue at the time; although admittedly it was almost six months ago.
I would very much like to know more specifically where you felt that the food was different (or worse) than on previous occassions. It is true that in the past year we have made a number of changes to the presentation of the buffet but these changes have been seen by most guests as improvements, and we have been receiving even more positive responses than previously. If there were any specific point that we could work on, however, I would be very happy to have the opportunity to do so.
Our guests' opinions are very important to us as they are our guide to continuous improvement. We thank you therefore for your input and are very sorry if you feel that we have let you down.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Sol Don Marco for one week with family and friends, the hotel was very clean, staff very frendly and always ready to help, excellent food, the location is just perfect a fantastic and relaxing holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After our holiday at the Sol Don Marco we returned back to the UK fully relaxed and ready for the onset of a long English winter, found that the staff were always willing to help in any way possible to ensure that any slight snag did not become a major problem, in fact we would go as far as to say that we felt that they wished us to be part of the Sol family. We have been visiting this hotel on a fairly regular basis and we have always found the hotel to be spotless in all areas.Should anyone want any further information would be pleased to give them an up to date note on our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to Torremolinos and were a bit worried about the 70's image it portrayed. Well I have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
The Hotel Don Marco is one of three Hotels in a complex. The Hotel was beautiful. The room not huge, but perfectly adequate and had all mod cons in the bathroom with bath and large separate shower. I was a bit concerned about the position of our room as it looked out onto the Hotels swimming pool terrace, however the advantage of being able to just walk to the end of the corridor and to the pool was brilliant.
The restaurant was always busy but after a couple of days we made sure we chose the quieter times. Good selection from the buffet including an Italian counter which was nice- after the meal we liked to walk outside to one of the other many pools and have coffee or drinks from the poolside bar and listen to the entertainment .
Loads of other pools/ entertainment you could go to attached to the other two Hotels so never got boored.
The position was ideal as it was close to the beach bars, but set back enough not to be too noisy.
Overall would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 10 days. Room clean and adequate - could have done with more English channels on the TV for when the weather was cloudy. But we spent most of the time on sun beds next to one of the 9 pools in the complex - not crowded, and very relaxing. It seeems that the other hotels in the complex were more lively - the San marco was quiet, which is what we wanted.
The food was fine, and we endorse the comments about the dinner food being btter when they have a gala evening. There is a good range of dishes, but better labelling would be an idea - a label just saying "pork" could refer to roast pork, meatballs, casserole or liver. Towards the end of our stay the dinners got a bit "samey" and we decided that we would opt for B&B if we go back again..
A good variety at breakfast - but why when they are in Spain do they have to have powdered and reconstituted orange juice? Coffee and tea pots would have been useful, rather than small cups which have to be refilled at a machine.
We travelled with Cosmos and chose to have a private taxi transfer from the airport, and one returning - the arrangements worked perfectly. Except that it meant we had no contact whatsoever with Cosmos reps, who do not seem to have a presence at the San Marco - but we didn't need them. No invite to any welcome party, but these are really excuses to sell expensive trips. There is a travel agent a minute's walk from the hotel, with reasonable prices.
Pleasantly surprised by Torremlinos, and we would stay at the San Marco again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.