We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as nice experience as the last times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good, but not as nice experience as the last times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Sol Don Marco in mid-September for a week. It was my third time and my friend’s second time at this hotel and we have always been very happy with it so our hopes were high. Reception wasn’t particularly friendly or welcoming; the lady at the reception struggled with her English and didn’t understand all our questions. We had two separate bookings because we used our Mas rewards points for free nights and this resulted to be really complicated during our holiday. Practically we had to check in twice though the reception lady didn’t inform us on this upon arrival.

We had asked for a room with a partial sea-view but this didn’t work out although the hotel didn’t seem to be fully-booked. Also the air conditioning in our room was the most inefficient we’ve ever had. We asked for the repairman to check it but it didn’t help at all, the air conditioning offered just a warm breeze. The room was too hot (temperature being 28-30 degrees Celsius) and this is not acceptable for a 4-star hotel. Windows are open everywhere (in rooms upon arrival, corridors etc.) so I think the air conditioning problem is well acknowledged. Fixing the air conditioning would anyway be much nicer than seeing cockroaches and other bugs in corridors. Shower and magnifying mirror were broken (nothing happened although the maid saw it every day). There was also a lack of storage space and all in all we think that there’s a need of renovation of the rooms to keep up with the other hotels nearby.

Don Marco used to have the best service throughout the hotel, but this time we also had very rude service. For example on night when we had our dinner in Don Pablo restaurant we weren’t guided to the table but when we sat down, a waiter came and made us feel very unwelcomed. He kept asking about a white card and when we showed it to him, he started loudly speaking Spanish to the person who had checked our room number upon arrival to the restaurant. As these two people spoke, the waiter called us “niñas” (we both are over 30 years old). Their communication was like we didn’t exist there although we spoke Spanish with him. We never got to know what was the problem, did we sit in the wrong table or were we just wrong age category in the hotel. Older people get excellent service in this hotel, this I got to experience last January when I travelled with my parents. It’s really sad if younger ones are not welcome, however smiley and polite they are themselves.

It was also disappointing to see how forks fallen on the floor were just picked up and put in the same box with the clean ones in Don Pablo restaurant. We tried the Don Marco restaurant and the service was so good there, especially the tall dark waiter was like made for the job! Always smiling and being friendly. Some younger waiters in Don Pablo restaurant were nice too and very efficient.

We still think that Don Marco is a good choice in Torremolinos but that is mostly due to its location right by the beach and not far from the center of the town and train station. The pool area is nice and you can choose between various pools. Food is excellent compared to other half board hotels in Spain and the variety is impressive at dinner although there are remarkable differences between the two restaurants in the hotel complex. Sadly this time we felt like we should be 30 years older to be given equal service to most of the other guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    199
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
92
276
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pool in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited Sol Don Pablo last April, and thought that we would like to try the Marco later in the year for a week. From the professional photos,the hotel pool appears to be at the same side as the reception. With this in mind, we requested a room overlooking the pool. On arrival, we realised that the pool in the photo, is actually the Pedro's pool. We had our requests satisfied,ie. overlooking the pool,but the Marco's pool is at the other side,and not shown on the photos. No complaints, because we were expecting to be able to get the afternoon sun,but as it happened, it would have been too hot to sit on the balcony.
Regarding the hotel,very good and clean. More modern than the Pablo. We again, have the same comments regarding the evening meals. When it is a special theme night, the food is excellent. Other nights, it is ok. Always a good choice, and sufficient to satisfy your hunger, but it certainly wasn't the highlight of the day. Still worth the half board cost, as there is not a lot of difference between bed and breakfast.
The room we were allocated overlooked the pool at the far side, and we were able to see the sea as well. The room was actually adapted for the disabled, and this meant a smaller balcony. Still, table and two chairs, but a bit tight. Individual a/c,but both the a/c and mini bar require one of the cards to be left in the slot,otherwise they don't work.
Mercodonna supermarket,close by,on back street.Generally, a lot cheaper than those on the front.
Overall, no complaints, and would have no problem recommending this Sol complex. Very handy for the beach as well.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards marina get afternoon sun.Advisable in winter,but not in summer, as it does get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Torremolinos is in a lovely settling with miles of beaches and resorts as far as the eye can see. Many of the resorts are showing their age with peeling paint, rusting railings and missing exterior paneling. An exception are the Sol hotel properties; Sol Don Pedro, Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Marco. All three properties are in good condition and well kept. I stayed in the Sol Don Marco with my eight year old son on holiday. The hotel is across the street from the beach. Rooms are small but clean with balconies and updated bathrooms. When you stay at any one of the Sol hotels you have access to the facilities of all. That means the gym areas, spa areas and multiple pools of one hotel can be used by guests of the other. Breakfasts which were good but not great are the same from hotel to hotel. Because of this, if I were to do it again I would likely pick the least expensive Sol hotel.

Front desk service was very friendly and multilingual. Trips to the sights of southern Spain can be booked in the lobby of one of the other Sol hotels. If I were to return to Torremolinos I would certainly staying at one of the three Sol properties again.

Room Tip: No one goes to Torremolinos to spend time in their room, consider the least expensive room of the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got back from a relaxing weeks break to a wet and cold Wales. The Don Marco is a great relaxing hotel, if you fancy something a bit more lively then the don pablo/pedro would be your choice. The hotel was very clean and it was great to have a choice of 9 swimming pools, where always guaranteed a lounger!!! Hotel location was great, right on the beach and a stroll away from the town centre. Not a fault with the hotel, although the food could be a bit better, it was all cooked very well, however the bacon and sausage was not to my liking. Will definitely consider returning next year. Thank you for a lovely stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Returned to a very cold and wet England from a very hot and dry Torremolinos. As always the Sol Don Marco offered everything we wanted and it felt like going home, we relaxed immediately.

A problem at check-in was sorted quickly, effectively and efficiently by Maribel who went out of her way to assist. We had a sea view room and each morning I could be found on the balcony watching the world go by before my husband awoke. The room was cleaned in a timely fashion, it was always spotless and the chambermaid, happy and smiling.

The food, after a few years of being poor, is improving year on year and was really good this year with plenty of choice. We tended to go in a little later in an evening as, because of the number of people dining earlier, it could be difficult to find a table and then to have that table set and drinks ordered. Later when it calmed down this was no longer a problem. Having said that the staff all worked very hard and always had a smile and a pleasant word.

A fortnight here sets you up for the year, but I can't wait to return again next year.

Many of the staff have been there for many years and to me a happy staff who stay enhance the environment for the visitor.

My compliments to Jaime Floyer and his staff who are always welcoming, courteous and greet everyone with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days in mid September. Had been in Spain before but not on the Costa Del Sol so Terramolinos appeared quite quaint as our Taxi drove us from the train station to the Don Marco. We had asked for a room with a view of the ocean and were quite happy when they told us that our room was at the front of the hotel, facing the ocean. The room was quite pleasant and clean and we particularly enjoyed the balcony with table and chairs. This became our favorite spot at the end of each day. We enjoyed the pools of the Don Marco,Don Pedro and the Don Pablo. Although we could have eaten at the Don Pablo and Don Pedro, we had most of our meals at the Don Marco. So many foods to choose from. This was very different from the Paella and tapas restaurants in Barcelona and Madrid. We enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at the Don Marco. Like reviewers before have said, there are 3 hotels linked together. The Don Marco being a newer addition.There are 2 restaurants,you can eat in either. We had lunch in the Don Pablo's Cordoba and dinner & breakfast in the Casares in Don Marco.Both were excellent with great choices at all meals.Breakfast comprised of several cereals ,breads,yogurts,bacon, eggs ( boiled , fried or scrambled ) pancakes & lovely enormous fresh croissants. Lunch & dinner was good ,with an Italian corner offering pasta & pizza. Steak, chicken, pork, fish (often swordfish, hake, trout or sardines) was available too. Lovely salads with cold meats,prawns & tuna. Desserts were good too . Lovely cakes & gateau,fruit ,mousses & jelly ,cheese & biscuits. You might be able to tell that I was impressed with it all !! The food is important to us on holiday & can spoil an otherwise good hotel.

The rooms were nice , a bit small , but perfect for two.Not sure if there are larger rooms available. The maids cleaned well everyday,no complaints. In fact everywhere was spotless.

The hotels can be wandered around, and there are sunbathing spots all over. Some quite cosy ,some more open. All have decent sunbeds and parasols. No need to get up at the crack of dawn to get a bed .

The entertainment was pretty dire in our opinion.Duo's singing old British standard pop in Spanish didn't appeal to us, and the drinks were a bit pricey in those circumstances. £8 for a pint and a short & mixer ( 9 45 euro )

Happy hour is available daily at different times between 5 & 8 30 pm in all 3 hotels,when drinks are two for one.

The hotel is situated on the Paseo Maritimo which is surprisingly quiet. Directly across from the beach .

Parking is expensive in the hotel at 17 euro a day ,although it's free at the Don Pedro .We managed to get a space no problem, but there are spaces free on the road if you need them.

We would certainly visit again.

Feel free to ask me anything, I might not have mentioned.

Room Tip: Front rooms get the sun until mid afternoon with great views Side sea get the sun until it goes dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.