We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor food good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matahambre

Matahambre
Calle de las Mercedes, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 952 38 12 42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 416 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Alhaurin de la Torre, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great decor food good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The restaurant has recently moved to this new location and have made a much more modern design with a great outside patio area on the first floor. The food is very good most times I have been here. The staff are sometimes really good or sometimes pretty bad and need some more training as seem to forget orders placed and only bring one drink when order two . As the food is good I do tend to go back but just hope some of the staff are more on the ball.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    14
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious alternatives to typical Spanish food in the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It is modern and very attractive decor. Super friendly staff. The food was delicious, slightly too much olive oil on the grilled vegetables but the chicken skewers with peanut sauce were perfect. The lamb wrap took a little too long but the service was otherwise good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The restaurant has moved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The old Matahambre was in an old red brick building on a side street off Calle San Miguel, which is the main shopping street in Torremolinos but it closed last year (2013) and has now re-opened on the main street that runs through Torremolinos, in a very modern and nice building. The upstairs outdoor patio is the best place to eat. The menu is still extensive and the food is still excellent and good value for money too. They have a few English menus and anything with a red dot is their recommendation. Their wine list is good and well priced. Overall I don't think they lost any of their charm by moving and if anything it is now better than ever and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went here for our friends 40th birthday meal, and what a meal !
Amazing choice of dishes on the tapas menu, which is where we chose from.
Service was very good, efficient but not intrusive.
Prices were really good for the quality of food and service, we paid less than 80 euros for a massive meal including 2 bottles of decent wine.
Would eat there again in a heartbeat.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Spanish tapas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here on advice from the waiter in the hotel as we were looking for a typical Spanish type tapas food. He advised us this is where a lot of the local people go. We arrived at 20:30 and there was already a waiting time of 30 minutes to sit outside with free table inside. Therefore we decided to eat inside. We had a combination of foods, seafood, chicken, beef and salads. The waiter advised us that we had ordered probably too much food and she was right. All the dishes were well prepared and good to eat. The plates of food generally medium sized and therefore are not really tapas size so be careful how much your order to eat. Would we go back again, yes as the menu is large and there was lots of good quality food to eat at reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matahambre also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Matahambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matahambre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.