We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Playa Flores

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torremolinos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Playa Flores
Save Saved
You added Club Playa Flores to your Saves list
Urbanizacion La Colina, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked the apartment through RCI as it is within easy walking distance of the station. This was the first time we decided not to have a hire car.

We had apartment 508. The apartment is two bed and huge. A large double overlooking the street. The larger twin had a sea facing balcony as did the big lounge/diner.

The kitchen is only a partial but the two rings and microwave oven were plenty for breakfast and light dinners.

We decided to use the twin room rather than the double as there is noise from the street that isn't too bad but it seems that it is a cut through from the beach road to the N340 main road.

The staff are very pleasant and I have to single out Manuel who greeted us at almost midnight when we arrived over two hours late after a flight delay.

We only ate in the restaurant once on our last night and it was very good and value for money.

If you don't like aircraft noise then the proximity of the airport might not be to your taste.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I read reports about this hotel before travelling and was concerned what I would be met with.
Firstly, and the only negative, the reception is part-time and there was no-one there to welcome us when we arrived. We had to get keys from a wall safe and find our own way to our room. Not a good start.
HOWEVER - the hotel is small, spotlessly clean throughout - stairways, poolside, garden area, bar area - everywhere.
Our apartment was very clean too and comfortably furnished. Our beds seemed to have new mattresses - other guests said theirs were 'springy'. Two balconies with good views, furniture and a clothes dryer.
Inside the apartment, adequate furnishings - somewhat dated TV -plenty of hanging space for clothes, extra pillows, bedding and enough towels (not very fluffy). T^he kitchen was a let down - the freezer door of the fridge didn't close properly so it did not freeze properly. Too much wasted space in the kitchen where it would be easy to fit an oven and more cupboards.
Adequate cutlery. pots etc.
The staff were very helpful, English speaking - nothing was too much trouble.
The diner/bar is run separately and on the occasions we ate there the food was excellent and good value for money, esp. the BBQs The staff there were also helpful.
Wifi is available in the reception and the bar - you have to ask for codes.
The whole hotel is quiet and in a peaceful location. It is uphill at the end of the return journey. We overcame this by walking along the flat towards the station and then going up the stairs to the front of the hotel. Anyway, it's not that bad.
The swimming pool area and garden are lovely, quiet and a great place to relax, with the bar close for drinks, snacks and dinners/breakfasts.
It's handy for the train station and train travel is cheap. Press the flags on the bottom left corner and the display is in English. Don't bother with transfers from the airport - the train is opposite and it costs about 2 Euros single for Torremolinos. There are other destinations available using this train.
The room was serviced every Wednesday and Saturday.

Room Tip: Room 507 was ideal - great views and plenty of space (except for the kitchen) Some noise from bar b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Was very pleasantly surprised with the accomodation. It was so spacious and clean, and there was a fan in most rooms.Staff were really friendly and meal prices absolutely brilliant. It's a bit of a trek down to the beach and back, but well worth it. Really got about on the train, getting on and off at different parts of the coast line from Fuengirola to Malaga. Enables you to see a lot of Costa Del Sol.Train prices are pretty cheap too. Would definetly go back! Total value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for a week, had booked for 4 but were given a 2 bedroom apartment. Couldnt really do anything about it so we stayed and 2 of us had to sleep on the fold out sofa.
We were told there would be currency exchange - nope
Pay phone - nope
Internet - nope
Jacuzzi- nope
The staff were unfriendly, except for the Spanish receptionist.
Tired and run down, and about a 20min walk to the beach and shops.
This was the 3rd and final resort on our trip to Spain, seems we saved the worst 'till last.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Me and my wife spend a week in November at the Playa Flores . It is an Apartment hotel located in La Colina , a neightborhoud of Torremolins , only 3 minuts away by car from the Malaga Airport.
The good things : it is a wery quiet hotel, the rooms are big, same the bathroom, the kitchen is well
equipped and the furnitures are nice and in good condition. There is a bar louge TV , a good restaurant with very reasonable prices, a games room , loudry, exterior pool and jacuzzy. A special remark to the reception manager - Manuel Garcia Belmonte , avery pleeasant , polite and well inform guy.The hotel is only a few minuts away by foot from the beach
The bad things :the matresses arevery bad and causes us big back pains , the television set old and very small - 13.4 inches and there is no aior conditioner- in summer this is a very serious problem

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The two of us stayed here 15 - 22 October 2011. We were concerned about a few things...primarily...finding the place, based on other reviews! So...with a little "home-work" via google Maps...we were able to handle that issue. A stated, close to Malaga Airport (AGP)...three stops from AGP on the Malaga - Fuengirolla Renfe Train. Got off at the La Colina Station and a 5 -10 min walk up a moderate slope. I sense it really comes down to what you are after! If you expecting a 4 to 5 Star All Inclusive -- You will be disappointed! In our case, the Price was very reasonable. We found the Staff & Restaurant to be Quite Good & Reasonable Rates (Food/Drink). All was Clean...except in All of Spain...it appears that Dog Droppings are a Standard throughout neighborhoods (fact). So...just reaIize UR in their Culture & Go with the Flow...Pay for a Sanitized Disney World Trip!! am a retired USAF Officer...so Ive seen the whole run-of-the-mill from austere to 5 Star Accomodations. This is probably a Nice 3+ Star Establishment. All the Staff made us Feel especially Welcome...Manager Cathy was efficient & superb, as was all of the wait-staff! Kudos to Stephanie (reception) for All Her Assist & Kindness. Steve & Les at the Bar/Dining Area were Brilliant! Many Brit Families have Time-Shares here...This is NOT The Playboy Club...nor should it be. If you want action...get out & about...it's certainly to be found in Espana! It is what it is...& I think it to be a great place for Young Families & the ~40+ Crowd. Everyone was Very Nice & Interactive...The Food was Very Good. Twin Beds are small/basic...a Double/Queen would have been nice! Firmi Mattresses...which We Prefer. If going here...recommend hiring an automobile!! If you wanna hang out all week...maybe you dont need one...but we travelled to Nerja, Ronda, Granada, Mijas, & Marbella -- So...A Car Makes it Easy! As for Driving, Well...for many Americans...the Small Streets, Confusing International Road Signs, Traffic Circles, etc may cause some distress! No problem for me...as I've resided in Italy previously. Internet is Available (WiFi)...but it's about as Slow as Molasses (dial-up?). Put that IPod away...UR on Holiday:>)! If you have any direct questions: e-mail me at ljschad@gvtc.com & I'll give ya my take. Otherwise...be patient, slow down, enjoy your "Holiday"...& All will be Well! All the Best LJ Schad, USAF (ret.)

Room Tip: NE Side = Morning Sun. SW Side = PM Sun! Compalints of Street Noise/construction from some (not me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have just got back from a three week trip to Playa Flores and it was one of the best relaxing holidays we have had. Just outside the main Torremolinos area, but with easy access by local train it is in an excellent location. We had no problems with noise or lack of sun as reported by others. The hill is nothing to worry about as it is really only a slope and we managed it easily in about 10 minutes.
The bar and restaurant are briliant and the resort is small enough to allow everyone to get together if they want to. One thing you have to do is go to BBQ night.
The rooms are large, but basic and the only thing missing was a good coffee maker which was unusual for Spain.
We would recommend that you give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Playa Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Playa Flores

Address: Urbanizacion La Colina, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Also Known As:
Club Playa Flores Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Playa Flores
Club Playa Flores Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Playa Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.