We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but can be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Playa Flores

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torremolinos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Playa Flores
Save Saved
You added Club Playa Flores to your Saves list
Urbanizacion La Colina, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but can be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Me and my wife spend a week in November at the Playa Flores . It is an Apartment hotel located in La Colina , a neightborhoud of Torremolins , only 3 minuts away by car from the Malaga Airport.
The good things : it is a wery quiet hotel, the rooms are big, same the bathroom, the kitchen is well
equipped and the furnitures are nice and in good condition. There is a bar louge TV , a good restaurant with very reasonable prices, a games room , loudry, exterior pool and jacuzzy. A special remark to the reception manager - Manuel Garcia Belmonte , avery pleeasant , polite and well inform guy.The hotel is only a few minuts away by foot from the beach
The bad things :the matresses arevery bad and causes us big back pains , the television set old and very small - 13.4 inches and there is no aior conditioner- in summer this is a very serious problem

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The two of us stayed here 15 - 22 October 2011. We were concerned about a few things...primarily...finding the place, based on other reviews! So...with a little "home-work" via google Maps...we were able to handle that issue. A stated, close to Malaga Airport (AGP)...three stops from AGP on the Malaga - Fuengirolla Renfe Train. Got off at the La Colina Station and a 5 -10 min walk up a moderate slope. I sense it really comes down to what you are after! If you expecting a 4 to 5 Star All Inclusive -- You will be disappointed! In our case, the Price was very reasonable. We found the Staff & Restaurant to be Quite Good & Reasonable Rates (Food/Drink). All was Clean...except in All of Spain...it appears that Dog Droppings are a Standard throughout neighborhoods (fact). So...just reaIize UR in their Culture & Go with the Flow...Pay for a Sanitized Disney World Trip!! am a retired USAF Officer...so Ive seen the whole run-of-the-mill from austere to 5 Star Accomodations. This is probably a Nice 3+ Star Establishment. All the Staff made us Feel especially Welcome...Manager Cathy was efficient & superb, as was all of the wait-staff! Kudos to Stephanie (reception) for All Her Assist & Kindness. Steve & Les at the Bar/Dining Area were Brilliant! Many Brit Families have Time-Shares here...This is NOT The Playboy Club...nor should it be. If you want action...get out & about...it's certainly to be found in Espana! It is what it is...& I think it to be a great place for Young Families & the ~40+ Crowd. Everyone was Very Nice & Interactive...The Food was Very Good. Twin Beds are small/basic...a Double/Queen would have been nice! Firmi Mattresses...which We Prefer. If going here...recommend hiring an automobile!! If you wanna hang out all week...maybe you dont need one...but we travelled to Nerja, Ronda, Granada, Mijas, & Marbella -- So...A Car Makes it Easy! As for Driving, Well...for many Americans...the Small Streets, Confusing International Road Signs, Traffic Circles, etc may cause some distress! No problem for me...as I've resided in Italy previously. Internet is Available (WiFi)...but it's about as Slow as Molasses (dial-up?). Put that IPod away...UR on Holiday:>)! If you have any direct questions: e-mail me at ljschad@gvtc.com & I'll give ya my take. Otherwise...be patient, slow down, enjoy your "Holiday"...& All will be Well! All the Best LJ Schad, USAF (ret.)

Room Tip: NE Side = Morning Sun. SW Side = PM Sun! Compalints of Street Noise/construction from some (not me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have just got back from a three week trip to Playa Flores and it was one of the best relaxing holidays we have had. Just outside the main Torremolinos area, but with easy access by local train it is in an excellent location. We had no problems with noise or lack of sun as reported by others. The hill is nothing to worry about as it is really only a slope and we managed it easily in about 10 minutes.
The bar and restaurant are briliant and the resort is small enough to allow everyone to get together if they want to. One thing you have to do is go to BBQ night.
The rooms are large, but basic and the only thing missing was a good coffee maker which was unusual for Spain.
We would recommend that you give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

where to start! The food is fantastic the restaurant is run by a lovely english couple who were more than helpful they have even made a lending libary and a little shop for essentials. There is a lot of choice on the menu and prices are extremly reasonable. the couple are very friendly and are more than happy to have a conversation all in all very welcoming. there is a lovely terrace area where you can sit bby the pool and eat one of ian and cathy's barbecques which are great valuee for money. i recommend trying the paella and a jug of ian's sangria! The resort itself it in a great location 5 mins from the trains and a five min downhill walk to the beach. The apartments are in good condition and clean and excellent ammenities . very recomened !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just stayed here for one week, I would go back BUT it is not, as other have also said , up to the same standards of other RCI places. Saying that, if you get a good deal then its worth it.
LOCATION - 3 stops on the train from the airport door to (almost) door. Excellent train service linking areas of malaga and torremolinos,quick cheap. la colina to the east of torremolinos itself, in a residential area, no clubs and pubs playing music. nighttime noise is just from some passing traffic, wildlife, and rubbish trucks. being so close to the airport you can watch the planes pass by landing from the balcony, you can hear them a little but they are by no means a noise problem. i have stayed near heathrow and its NOTHING like the flight path there! people talk in here about the location on a hill. Its actually on a gentle slope that is not an issue , and I HATE hills! be sensible about the times of day you are out obviosuly at 12midday the hill is going to seem like a mountain! otherwise its a gentle slop levelling out near the beach.10 mins to walk to the beach on a straght road lined with trees. train is 5 mins walk and once you have been once you can find a shortcut down some steps.trains come every half hour both directions. ticket bought at machine on platform, easy to understand, zone system. torremolinos downtown one stop so 5mins on train. large towerblock nearby on ground floor shops for food /toothpaste etc and 2 restaurents both tried and tested . esp the vietnamese is excellent.
BUILDING, reception, corridors and stairs clean fresh and well painted/decorated. flat spacious, entrance hall, bedroom with 2 singles ( because of heat boyfriend and I didnt mind) built in wardrobe , chest of d and a safe hair dryer. large balcony. ensuite bathroom ( only bathroom in the flat - maybe imortant if sleeping 2plus/ not family. kitchen, well designd 4 space - cupboards tired need replaced, pots too. fridge and icebox fine. micro fine too. bread, milk and bad of tea bags, coffee sachets and marg supplied free. large cool pantry store off kitchen. mop/ironing board ( on holiday!!) and clothes drying hanger. living room well decorated - 4chairs and table, sofa (bed) single sofa chair, coffee table, balcony 4 plastic chairs /table. small tv...really tiny like maybe 12inches.! cleaner came in on the wed of the week stay, changed beds and towels ( which are provided) , wasked floors and cleaned bathroom.because of the small hill there is a lovely breeze which come throught he apartment, we had all the windows open 24hrs aday. View to the south east - accross towards malaga. Sea view from both balconies.neighbouring buildings close but didnt feel overlooked.
games room - ping pong and table football.no darts for the dart board. Sauna was shut, didnt need it anyway! bar - run by a quiet british couple. speak spanish and english. worth going for happy hour 4-5 but a bit pricey otherwise. serve food all day, again not bad food but a bit expensive and slow.pool table in bar. large sports tv. bar terrace next to pool and sunloungers. lovely gardens, well maintained and full of flowers. pool is not huge but it is big enough. smaller square kids pool and a outside jacuzzi too. pool could have been cleaner and were some tiles missing too but didnt put me off smwimming so it wasnt that dirty. just things from the garden foating..nothing more sinister! sun loungers very good - in a large grassy area enough loungers for anyone who wanted, put them where you want, under mature trees, or half a dozen large umbrellas screwed into the ground. bar tables too for your drinks. toliet and a shower inside nearby.
staff - reception, not manned for many hours but any problems ( the safe broke) we sorted asap and very friendly. spoke english very well.wifi in reception and bar only but could get it to work. small supplies shop in bar also but didnt look at it. you have to pay for electricity upfont and they give back the money you dont use. we used 20.00 in a week ...?
enjoyed our stay, not like other resorts BUT location was good, quiet and small. no entertainment - but didnt want it anyway. near enough to torremolinos but peaceful location.need a but more TLC esp the kitchen and a bigger tv. great holiday though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

all down hill to the beach but remember its all up hill on the way back, hard with pram . Great train network less than 5 mins to the train from the hotel, ideal to see a lot of Torremolinos. Watch out if you have children the dog dirt on the pavements, but the hotel is of good standards and a quiet location and you can even get your fix of corrie if you like it, its run by a lovely british family thanks.( bolton family)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methil, Leven, Fife.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this resort for two weeks arriving there on 12th March 2011. The reception staff consisting of Manuel and Stefania were very helpful during our stay which was in a two bedroom apartment (308). This type of apartment would normally hold six persons but I feel that four persons would have been adequate. The apartment only has a small hot water tank capable of providing only two showers at a time. You then have to wait one hour for the tank to heat up again. The apartment was looking very "tired" and needed to be refurbished. Two bedroomed apartments normally have two bathrooms but there was only one in our apartment.There were cracked floor tiles and damaged work tops in the kitchen. The cooker only had two rings and there was no oven. The cooker rings were very slow in heating up. The kitchen cabinets needed replacing. The ironing board was pretty poor in shape and design and needed replacement. The iron was a non-steam type iron. The mattresses on the beds were not that good, full of springs that poked into your back. We managed to get a better quality mattress for my wife via reception and that made some difference to my wife's holiday. There was limited car parking available at the front of the resort and if you are late getting back in the evening you will have to park on the pavement. The photograph of the resort as provided on this website is not accurate as there are flats, housing and apartments ajacent to this resort and a good number of the occupants are looking for parking spaces for their motor vehicles as well. We managed to get free use of a safe for the two weeks and we had to pay 15 euros per week for electricity. We only used the restaurant on one Sunday evening and the food was satisfactory but the service was slow. This was due to the fact that a number of persons turned up for meals after my wife and I were eating and Ian and Kathy had difficulty coping with the numbers. They could have done with a third person to help with the waitressing duties. The weather was very mixed during our visit and the two electrical heaters in our apartment certainly came in useful in the colder evenings. The area surrounding the resort was very quiet at nights and we had no problems in sleeping soundly. One could walk down to the nearest supermarket in about 15-20 minutes depending on your walking pace. You could get down to the beach front in about the same time. The resort is situated at the top of a steep hill in Calle La Colina and if you had to walk it all the time you would certainly get fit. My wife and I walked it some times and took the car on other days. There were two washing machines and a tumble dryer available on-site in the basement area should one want to make use of them whilst on holiday. The games room in the basement area for adults/children was poor and very limited. This resort is part of the RCI points system but the last time it won an RCI award was 2006 and this was only a "Silver Award". No evening entertainment was available at the resort during the two weeks that we stayed. My wife and I were surprised to find that this resort was within the RCI Points portfolio as the overall standard was not that good. My wife and I will probably stay somewhere else on any future visit to the Costa Del Sol.

Room Tip: Less than 10 minutes drive from Malaga Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Playa Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Playa Flores

Address: Urbanizacion La Colina, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Also Known As:
Club Playa Flores Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Playa Flores
Club Playa Flores Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Playa Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.