We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bloody fantastic friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Playa Flores

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torremolinos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Playa Flores
Save Saved
You added Club Playa Flores to your Saves list
Urbanizacion La Colina, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“bloody fantastic friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

where to start! The food is fantastic the restaurant is run by a lovely english couple who were more than helpful they have even made a lending libary and a little shop for essentials. There is a lot of choice on the menu and prices are extremly reasonable. the couple are very friendly and are more than happy to have a conversation all in all very welcoming. there is a lovely terrace area where you can sit bby the pool and eat one of ian and cathy's barbecques which are great valuee for money. i recommend trying the paella and a jug of ian's sangria! The resort itself it in a great location 5 mins from the trains and a five min downhill walk to the beach. The apartments are in good condition and clean and excellent ammenities . very recomened !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just stayed here for one week, I would go back BUT it is not, as other have also said , up to the same standards of other RCI places. Saying that, if you get a good deal then its worth it.
LOCATION - 3 stops on the train from the airport door to (almost) door. Excellent train service linking areas of malaga and torremolinos,quick cheap. la colina to the east of torremolinos itself, in a residential area, no clubs and pubs playing music. nighttime noise is just from some passing traffic, wildlife, and rubbish trucks. being so close to the airport you can watch the planes pass by landing from the balcony, you can hear them a little but they are by no means a noise problem. i have stayed near heathrow and its NOTHING like the flight path there! people talk in here about the location on a hill. Its actually on a gentle slope that is not an issue , and I HATE hills! be sensible about the times of day you are out obviosuly at 12midday the hill is going to seem like a mountain! otherwise its a gentle slop levelling out near the beach.10 mins to walk to the beach on a straght road lined with trees. train is 5 mins walk and once you have been once you can find a shortcut down some steps.trains come every half hour both directions. ticket bought at machine on platform, easy to understand, zone system. torremolinos downtown one stop so 5mins on train. large towerblock nearby on ground floor shops for food /toothpaste etc and 2 restaurents both tried and tested . esp the vietnamese is excellent.
BUILDING, reception, corridors and stairs clean fresh and well painted/decorated. flat spacious, entrance hall, bedroom with 2 singles ( because of heat boyfriend and I didnt mind) built in wardrobe , chest of d and a safe hair dryer. large balcony. ensuite bathroom ( only bathroom in the flat - maybe imortant if sleeping 2plus/ not family. kitchen, well designd 4 space - cupboards tired need replaced, pots too. fridge and icebox fine. micro fine too. bread, milk and bad of tea bags, coffee sachets and marg supplied free. large cool pantry store off kitchen. mop/ironing board ( on holiday!!) and clothes drying hanger. living room well decorated - 4chairs and table, sofa (bed) single sofa chair, coffee table, balcony 4 plastic chairs /table. small tv...really tiny like maybe 12inches.! cleaner came in on the wed of the week stay, changed beds and towels ( which are provided) , wasked floors and cleaned bathroom.because of the small hill there is a lovely breeze which come throught he apartment, we had all the windows open 24hrs aday. View to the south east - accross towards malaga. Sea view from both balconies.neighbouring buildings close but didnt feel overlooked.
games room - ping pong and table football.no darts for the dart board. Sauna was shut, didnt need it anyway! bar - run by a quiet british couple. speak spanish and english. worth going for happy hour 4-5 but a bit pricey otherwise. serve food all day, again not bad food but a bit expensive and slow.pool table in bar. large sports tv. bar terrace next to pool and sunloungers. lovely gardens, well maintained and full of flowers. pool is not huge but it is big enough. smaller square kids pool and a outside jacuzzi too. pool could have been cleaner and were some tiles missing too but didnt put me off smwimming so it wasnt that dirty. just things from the garden foating..nothing more sinister! sun loungers very good - in a large grassy area enough loungers for anyone who wanted, put them where you want, under mature trees, or half a dozen large umbrellas screwed into the ground. bar tables too for your drinks. toliet and a shower inside nearby.
staff - reception, not manned for many hours but any problems ( the safe broke) we sorted asap and very friendly. spoke english very well.wifi in reception and bar only but could get it to work. small supplies shop in bar also but didnt look at it. you have to pay for electricity upfont and they give back the money you dont use. we used 20.00 in a week ...?
enjoyed our stay, not like other resorts BUT location was good, quiet and small. no entertainment - but didnt want it anyway. near enough to torremolinos but peaceful location.need a but more TLC esp the kitchen and a bigger tv. great holiday though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

all down hill to the beach but remember its all up hill on the way back, hard with pram . Great train network less than 5 mins to the train from the hotel, ideal to see a lot of Torremolinos. Watch out if you have children the dog dirt on the pavements, but the hotel is of good standards and a quiet location and you can even get your fix of corrie if you like it, its run by a lovely british family thanks.( bolton family)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methil, Leven, Fife.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this resort for two weeks arriving there on 12th March 2011. The reception staff consisting of Manuel and Stefania were very helpful during our stay which was in a two bedroom apartment (308). This type of apartment would normally hold six persons but I feel that four persons would have been adequate. The apartment only has a small hot water tank capable of providing only two showers at a time. You then have to wait one hour for the tank to heat up again. The apartment was looking very "tired" and needed to be refurbished. Two bedroomed apartments normally have two bathrooms but there was only one in our apartment.There were cracked floor tiles and damaged work tops in the kitchen. The cooker only had two rings and there was no oven. The cooker rings were very slow in heating up. The kitchen cabinets needed replacing. The ironing board was pretty poor in shape and design and needed replacement. The iron was a non-steam type iron. The mattresses on the beds were not that good, full of springs that poked into your back. We managed to get a better quality mattress for my wife via reception and that made some difference to my wife's holiday. There was limited car parking available at the front of the resort and if you are late getting back in the evening you will have to park on the pavement. The photograph of the resort as provided on this website is not accurate as there are flats, housing and apartments ajacent to this resort and a good number of the occupants are looking for parking spaces for their motor vehicles as well. We managed to get free use of a safe for the two weeks and we had to pay 15 euros per week for electricity. We only used the restaurant on one Sunday evening and the food was satisfactory but the service was slow. This was due to the fact that a number of persons turned up for meals after my wife and I were eating and Ian and Kathy had difficulty coping with the numbers. They could have done with a third person to help with the waitressing duties. The weather was very mixed during our visit and the two electrical heaters in our apartment certainly came in useful in the colder evenings. The area surrounding the resort was very quiet at nights and we had no problems in sleeping soundly. One could walk down to the nearest supermarket in about 15-20 minutes depending on your walking pace. You could get down to the beach front in about the same time. The resort is situated at the top of a steep hill in Calle La Colina and if you had to walk it all the time you would certainly get fit. My wife and I walked it some times and took the car on other days. There were two washing machines and a tumble dryer available on-site in the basement area should one want to make use of them whilst on holiday. The games room in the basement area for adults/children was poor and very limited. This resort is part of the RCI points system but the last time it won an RCI award was 2006 and this was only a "Silver Award". No evening entertainment was available at the resort during the two weeks that we stayed. My wife and I were surprised to find that this resort was within the RCI Points portfolio as the overall standard was not that good. My wife and I will probably stay somewhere else on any future visit to the Costa Del Sol.

Room Tip: Less than 10 minutes drive from Malaga Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Just returned from Playa Flores after having a really good holiday. It was lovely to be met on our arrival by Manuel at reception, he took us to our room and showed us around. We even had bread, milk, tea, coffee and water waiting for us! The apartment was larger than we had expected and very clean, the bed linen and towels were changed regularly and the cutlery ,crockery etc.looked like new.
It was very quiet at night , the only problem - the beds were too firm but we sorted that by putting an extra blanket under the bottom sheet.
We don't watch a lot of TV at home but it was nice to be able to watch quite a few English channels.
We had the sun on our balcony almost all day and it was very nice to just sit there reading our books or just relaxing. We quite enjoy walking, it was only 5 minutes to the beach and about 20 minutes to the town centre - a little longer getting back it was uphill!!
We spent every night at the Bar/Resturant ran by Ian and Cathy who made us very welcome, the food was excellent with plenty of choice at very reasonable prices, our only surprise was that it wasn't busier. Ian - Hope you both had a successful day at the races.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Playa Flores is a timeshare - not a hotel. It is there for the benefit of the people that own at the resort.
If travellers want to stay in the Costa del Sol amongst all the hustle and bustle - go to Torremolinos or one of the other resorts of that ilk, Playa Flores is not for them.
If you want to get about, or even to travel to and from the airport, Playa Flores is for you! The train station and bus stops are only five minutes away which is terrific. The railway runs a service whereby there is a train in either direction every 30mins.
What criticisms I have are the hardness of the beds, the TV and the lack of channels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londcon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

what can i say we arrived at 11pm on saturday night .the man on reception was so friendly and polite, he gave us room key and front door key. then he said put suitcases in room and go down to bar for drink we did. ian and cathy were so friendly and accomodating, we had a few drinks then went to bed, breakfast is from 10am until 9pm so you can have breakfast breakfast lunch dinner whatever you want menu so varied. food terrific apartments clean twice a week gardens spotless. they cater from babies to any age.five minutes walk from la colina station 10 minutes walk from torremolinos 5 minutes walk from beach. only dowside is teep hills and a lot of steps, apart from that wonderful time weather lovely, couple days of rain but very warm . would go again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Playa Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Playa Flores

Address: Urbanizacion La Colina, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Also Known As:
Club Playa Flores Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Playa Flores
Club Playa Flores Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Playa Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.