We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant open terrace on the seafront walkway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gato Lounge

El Gato Lounge
Paseo Maritimo 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 687 87 11 65
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Gato Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 467 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Spanish, Delicatessen, Pub, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pleasant open terrace on the seafront walkway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This cafe-bar has a very pleasant ambiance with friendly staff, opposite the Beirola beach in Torremolinos... and is a great place to drop in for a coffee, a snack or a drink... and to people-watch the promenading. We also enjoyed some warm January sun, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    198
    49
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A lovely place to chill and watch the world go by. Nice staff and good service. A great place for people watching and spend the afternoon relaxing. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Hangout.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Escaping the Xmas madness my partner and myself booked a last minute deal and headed off to Torremuelle just outside Bellamedina. Luckily there was a great train service so most days we headed into Torremolinos and Malaga. We found El Gato by chance on our first day and loved it. The guys who own and run the lounge were very friendly, not overbearing by any means but smiley and helpful when asked.The food was well presented, very tasty and not expensive by any means. I LOVED the coffee and my partner became great friends with the Cava! While the clientèle is largely Gay it is not exclusively so. El Gato is bright and cheerful with lightweight blankets to cover you if it gets a tad chilly and while lots of the other cafes were empty (it was Christmas) El Gato always seemed to have a steady flow of customers eating, drinking and watching the crowds go past...its a great place to people watch. After our first visit we went back every afternoon, sometimes for food, sometimes just for drinks and a chat. I would recommend El Gato to anyone visiting Torremolinos, its not pretentious, it knows exactly what it is, a great wee place to eat, drink, relax, take your time and watch the world go by. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Beach front cafe/restaurant. Friendly attentive staff. The food was excellent and well presented. I had the blue cheese, apple and walnut salad. All the ingredients were fresh and the portions generous. Excellent value for money (meal, 2 coffees and a soft drink just over €13). Also great location to people watch on the promenade. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend El Gato Lounge. Has free wifi too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an excellent lunch here in the winter sunshine. Its a great place to grab a light lunch, We had a lovely sandwich with chips and chicken and bacon salad. Not expensive and friendly service. Nicely placed on the wonderful promenade between Torremolinos and La Carhuela.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Lounge also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Gato Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gato Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.