We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gato Lounge

El Gato Lounge
Paseo Maritimo 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 687 87 11 65
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Gato Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 467 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Spanish, Delicatessen, Pub, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Beach front cafe/restaurant. Friendly attentive staff. The food was excellent and well presented. I had the blue cheese, apple and walnut salad. All the ingredients were fresh and the portions generous. Excellent value for money (meal, 2 coffees and a soft drink just over €13). Also great location to people watch on the promenade. I will definitely go back and would highly recommend El Gato Lounge. Has free wifi too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    196
    48
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an excellent lunch here in the winter sunshine. Its a great place to grab a light lunch, We had a lovely sandwich with chips and chicken and bacon salad. Not expensive and friendly service. Nicely placed on the wonderful promenade between Torremolinos and La Carhuela.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not everyone is made to feel welcome”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's clear that the Dutch guys who own and run this place are a little picky about who is given a warm welcome and who is not! I always support gay business because I know how hard they are to run but good service should be part of the deal. One member of staff was pleasant and made an effort but everyone else more or less ignored me.
If you are looking for somewhere welcoming near the gay beach just pick any of the other bars that face the beach they may not be gay run but they are welcoming and friendly.
I overheard the owner say 'oh yes there were more guys this time last year' it may not be that the beach has less people in it they may just have had the same experience as me!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best apple pie!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

just returned from first trip to this area.The bar is really pleasant for coffee ,apple pie {the best!}
The guys who run the place are charming and so courteous,and the location is excellent for
watching the world go by ,and relaxing.Interesting and cosmopolitan clientele.would highly
recomend,we were made to feel very welcome,even by the cat.Hope to revisit soon.
Thankyou Janet Mum. and Adele Daughter Leigh on Sea essex

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best lounge in Torr.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My partner & I were in Torr for a week. we discovered this jem the first day we arrived & we were there almost every day for brunch, drinks and the fantastic beach service. The food is fantastic. Everyday we we ordered something diffrent from the menu & we were pleased each time. For me the Chicken curry was the ultimate. The owners Peter & Jeff are the most hospitable hosts. They were there every day and always making sure that their guests are satisfied. We highly reccomend this little jem & sure you will too. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Lounge also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Gato Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gato Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.