We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fine for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Brasil N0 2 | Torremolinos- Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Vale Da Telha
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Basic but fine for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After other reviews we had no expectations.

Clean beds and bathroom. Floors and edges of room a little dusty.

Beds are on casters so do roll around a bit. T.V. Quite small . Lovely hot water in the shower, so long as you are patient it takes about 10 mins to get hot water.

Nice quiet room, air con worked fine.

We asked for a glass shower not shower curtain and got what we asked for.

Very near to the town centre, a long way down to the beaches down lots of steps.

Staff on reception helpful.

Do not go expecting to cook much. Basic, very basic. You get a microwave and two rings + a fridge but no where to put anything, no spare cupboard or work space. We stayed 4 nights and it was long enough. No kettle, we took our own.

So OK, but not for a family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION ESPAÑ... P, Director General at Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you to have time for commenting about our apartments. We will take your comments into account to improve our service and quality. Part of our hotel will be reformed this year: the kitchen space, so bigger fridges will be installed. We want to inform you that we provide free kettles directly at the reception desk; you just have to ask for them. We hope to see you soon in our apartments.
Enrique Revenga. Director Pierre & Vacances Torremolinos Stella Polaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    143
    71
    25
    13
See reviews for
131
152
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is very nice. We stayed for 11 nights with a ten year old boy and our 13 month old baby girl. Good sized room with a kitchenette (very handy even though we were half board) and a huge balcony with table chairs and sun beds on it.
Minor niggle as when we arrived there was only one cup in the room and reception couldn't give us another one as the resturant was closed. Had to make tea in a glass!! Also there was no kettle so we had to boil water for tea and the baby in a pan.
Overall the hotel is very clean, the food is of a good standard and the location is great. The pool area is beautiful and again very clean.
This is a good hotel for families and I would definately use it again in the future. Beware though as on check in we charged 91 euros for the cot. We were not expecting this and that was a big chunk of our spends gone. In the grand scheme of things though this hotel was still very good value for money.
Also for a ten pound deposit you can get a lift key for the beach. There are a few steps with ramps down to the lift, so easy with the buggy, and then the lift takes you to the promanade. Got the ten euros back on check out, which bought our drinks at the airport!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have pool/sea room. Avoid ground floor as they have a terrace, instead of balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here from 23/10 to 30/10 and the apartment was great with 2 bathrooms, 2 balconys and was spotless. We had one breakfast and was a buffett but very filling. A great location for the gay bars only 5-7 minutes walk as is the train station. We have just booked to go back can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Let's start with the fact that during our travelling time we stayed twice in Pierre & Vacances chain apartments - here and in Benidorm. And both places have had a great experience - the best accommodation at the lowest prices throughout the journey. We arrived in the morning around 10 and had to wait as check in is from 5pm, however, we were lucky and were able to check in at 1pm. Until then went downstairs to the beach and the beach was exactly what we needed after 4 long days of journey in car from Barcelona to here. As we were 7 people, booked 2 rooms and both of them were located on first floor. Although the room was at the lowest possible floor, the view would be a sin to complain - it was marvelous! It seems that the hotel has 3 rooms with extra-large balconies and one of our rooms was precisely this. The other room had two very smallish. The first thing when i opened the room door, was the smell - such as spa premises, a very pleasant and this smell didn't disappeared for both nights. The second room didn't have this pleasant smell, but had a huge balcony, where we 7 people easily sat down in circle and were able to discuss the day's success, and there still was a plenty of space for another 4-5 people. Although there is no accounting for tastes,bed was a bit of solid for me - first night i slept well, probably because of fatigue, but second night i couldn't fall asleep. The room where I stayed had 2 kitchens, one of which was locked, however, at our request it was unlocked. The hotel offers parking at extra fee, however, if you are lucky you can find FOC parking on that small street beside hotel. in general our stay was enjoyable and worth every single cent we spent for this stay.
FYI - by car you can reach Malaga airport in 20 mins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel facilities: Swimming pool, children’s pool, restaurant (children aged 3 and under eat for free) - breakfast costs 5.99 per person and is between 8am-10.30am and consisted of cereals, cheese and meats, yoghurts, bread,strangely enough garlic cloves, cooked breakfast, pastries and fruit, unlimited tea, coffee and fruit juices, dinner costs 11.99 per person and is between 7pm-9,30pm and consisted of soup, poached white fish, roasted white fish, chicken in gravy, salads, pasta dishes, spam fritters (tasty), selections of cold meats and cheeses, bread, olives, fruit, cakes - beverages are not included on a self catering bases for dinner

There is a laundry room with dryer (tokens €3 and 5 from Reception) but i did not find this out until reading another review - would be nice if reception provided you with handy information on arrival, also the easiest way to get to the beach is through the back of the hotel, through a set of gates, down some steps where you can access a lift down to beach area (key deposit €10 - please ask reception). Going down all the stairs isnt something i would recommend as they are very steep, the key is def worth it!!

Room facilities: I stayed in a studio apartment with my partner and 3 year old son, which had 2 single beds (quite hard mattress for me however my partner liked it, and a sofa bed which was ok,a bit springy and lumpy, pillows very flat, also had a twin hob, sink, small fridge (no freezer compartment), cafetiere (coffee maker), two pots, frying pan, salad bowl, milk jug, cutlery, crockery, glassware and small cups/saucers, paring knife, bread knife, can opener, bottle opener/corkscrew, serving utensils, cutting board and tray. You can borrow a toaster and iron/ironing board from reception, but they are in short supply. There isnt any preparation space for cooking but as we ate out most evenings this wasn't an issue. No kettle either but i just boiled water in a pot. All glasses/cups were up high, me being only 5ft2 struggled to reach past the first shelve. I stayed in room 117, it was a good size, very spacious. There was a table and 2 chairs inside,and a table and 2 chairs on the balcony - we mixed and matched as there were 3 of us. We got the sun most of the day in this room. Also another niggle was there was no bins in the apartment only a very small bin in the bathroom, there are bins within the hotel grounds though so it wasnt really an issue, i would advise on taking some plastic carrier bags for your rubbish. Bathroom was quite large with complimentary shower gel and shampoo (also a hairdryer) shower was a power shower but this area was enclosed at all, it was open and like a wet room, water did tend to get everywhere but a quick go over with the mop and it was ok

The rooms are cleaned once or twice during the week, towels changed twice a week and there is a brush/pan and mop attached to the back of the bathroom door, plus a bucket under the bathroom sink for your own use. In the kitchen you will find surface cleaner in a small bottle.

Satellite flat screen TV is Spanish only. CNBC (business news) is in English on non-satellite channels, along with some German, Italian and French channels.

I didn't check out the wifi but it was available, i used the PC's in reception, 50 cents for 5 mins, 1 euro for 10 mins and 2 euro's for 20 mins.

There is air conditioning built into the room, very effective and definately needed - this is free of charge. There is also music played throughout the pool area which is lovely, a mixture of music,also nice for when you are sitting out on the balcony - its played from early morning till around 11ish in the evening - There are built in radio's in the rooms which play the same music.

The Stella Polaris Hotel, is situated in the middle of town, very close to the bars and restaurants, supermarkets and all shops. You cant hear any noise from town, so you can keep the balcony door open at night if you wish.

There was no entertainment in the hotel but this isnt something i was looking for, peaceful and relaxing.

Taxi to and from the airport costs around 20 euros

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was newer and modern. We rented a studio for 10 nights, room had a little kitchen with fridge, stove, range hood, sink, and all the dishes and cutlary you will need. Very comfy for couples. We were on the 5th floor with an ocean view. Flat screen tv, but only one English channel. Large bathroom, air conditioning worked well. Hotel was very quiet, good for sleep. Bed was good, but pillows very flat. Cleaning and towel change only every 3 days. No mention of a lift to the beach nearby. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Laundry room in the basement open 24/7.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely hotel with clean,modern,spacious rooms.Staff really helpfull,we got the sea view that we asked for and stayed in a bigger room than we had booked,aircon was fantastic and boy did we need it. Couldn't have an extension on the room but that wasn't a major problem.Stayed at the end of August and entertainment had wound down.Personally don't like staying in a hotel with to many rules but this hotel had none especially round the pool,some guest not that respectful of others.Would definitely stay here again as love the area.Cafe 'Savoy' across the road is cheap, friendly and handy..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris

Address: C/ Brasil N0 2 | Torremolinos- Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence situated in the center of Torremolinos emblematic, with direct lift access to the famous beach of Bajondillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.