We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Costa Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Costa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

On arrival we were allocated our room straight away, view wasn't very good from balcony so popped straight back down to reception and asked for a pool view which they gave us no problems. Rooms clean and comfortable and maids came in everyday to change bedding and towels.
We stayed half board and the food was ok nothing special we were surprised that for the evening meal it didn't include a drink u had to buy one, if u wanted water like I did it was 2 euros but at the shop round the corner they were 50 cents so after first night I used to grab one from there first. Pool area ok and never struggled to get a sunbed any time of the day.
Location is a bit quiet and not a lot to do beach is about 10 minute walk away. The trains are great though and we used them regularly very easy and cheap. We cancelled our transfer back to the airport and got the train so we didn't have to leave as early and it takes u straight there in about 5minutes, definitely wouldn't bother getting transfers by bus if we go again. Overall we had a great time and I would visit again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    156
    125
    51
    50
See reviews for
133
174
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was very pleased with the hotel on arrival, very clean and well presented and the staff friendly and accommodating and the check in painless.
The rooms were just what you would expect, Clean, tidy and the air con was welcomed. The bathroom had a large bath and a shower, so the choice is yours.
The rooms were cleaned every day and the bedding changed.
The poolside bar was good and at times understaffed, however whilst on holiday who can not wait a extra few minutes. The pool is large and clean.
The food was of a good standard with a good mixture for all, and no complaints from my two grand children, 3 and 8.and we were all inc.
There is not a lot in the immediate are, however The beach is a 10 minute walk and Torremolinous centre a good 40 minute walk, however the train station is a couple of minute walk and its 3 trains a hour and very cheap to use as is the local buses.
My only gripe ? the entertainment it lacklustre and limited in the day time for adults and children, no real motivation to get up and join in !
In general we all had a great time at this hotel and we would book again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Simon,

The best prize for Hotel Royal Costa is to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor and for choosing us for your vacation. Hope to see you around here again soon. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On our arrival there must have been a football tournemant as it was full of school children of various ages. which is ok if you like children I was on floor 5 & we had teenagers opposite our room who were typical teenagers very boistrous & loud but meaning no harm just enjoying there holiday.

The rooms have card keys which for room 526 proved a nightnare as after 20 goes trying to access our room drove us nuts as we had to come up & down the lift to reception to get access to our room.

The entertainment could do with a re think as reptiles & bird displays is not my idea of letting your hair down.

on the plus side the walk to the beach was not to bad but I think if you have a family with all your equipment it would not be fun.

there is a train station behind the hotel so that is a plus for that as you have access to the airport for 4euros instead of paying high taxi fares or transfers & it is a lovely experience & doesnt take long at all, but it does stop running just after midnight so if your connection or departure is out of that time then you will need transfers.

All in all it is a nice hotel but wifi in the rooms wouldbe better than having to sit in reception.

Room Tip: I recently stayed here on the 10th july 2014 for 1week with my sister. requested a sea view.. got th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks for your review. We regret any incident that you had in our hotel. We'd love to see you on your next trip to Torremolinos. Remember follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here while a soccer tournament took place in Torremolinos. Before booking ensure that there is no soccer tournament during the time of your stay, since you will spent a lot of sleepless nights otherwise. This is by the way not the reason for my bad rating, see below.

Good:
- Friendly personnel
- Ability to park in front of hotel
- Enough loungers at swimming pool

Bad:
- The food! I honestly don't understand when so many people mention this on tripadvisor that nothing gets done to improve. Food is bad quality, nothing is home made at all, you can find back the same food almost every day, and the deserts are the most horrible ever! Incredible that this hotel even manages to serve bad breakfast, how difficult is it to provide a breakfast that is eatable. I have stayed in 2 stars hotels that served better breakfasts! As a result we ate out several times during the week (including breakfast). Instead of staying at this hotel, I would recommend to stay at an apartment and either cook your own food or eat out, you will probably arrive at the same end price.
- Rooms: very smelly bathroom. Had to clean the closet before putting in the clothes, the paper towel was black after I cleaned it. Take your own pillow, the hotel pillows can not be called pillows, besides on of ours had blood on it from a previous guest. Walls are paper thin, you can hear your neighbors talking. Each room has a balcony, lucky if you have a few chairs on it.
- Take away lunch: don't bother. You get a few slices of meat from the day before (San Jacobos), mermelade (!) and hard bread. Better to get something in a near by supermarket.

I know that the hotel will answer that they offer a wide variety of food for everyone, truth is this reads fries, the same pork hamburger every day, pasta, rice, fish (same every day as well), salads and a few other plates. If quality was good it would not be so much of a problem to eat almost same every day.

If you come by car there is a huge shopping center nearby (Plaza Mayor), does not take more then 5 minutes to get there, lots of shops and important (lol) restaurants.

Beach does not take too long walking, you have to pass under the train station to get there, but not too bad.

Room Tip: Would say first floor rooms, since they have a huge balcony. However this has the risk of having thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sophie,

Thanks for your feedback. We take note about your comments to improve our services. We regret you did not enjoy the food, even though our buffet offers a wide variety of hot and cold dishes to suit the taste of the majority of our customers. Many people congratulate us for the good service offered. We hope you change your mind and return back to our hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was quite pleased with this hotel. My only fault was lack of variety in food. They catered more for Spanish guests not international ones. Also the pool was too deep although clean and well kept. There was a baby pool but the main one was ranging from 5 feet to ten feet. There was a lifeguard on duty until 6 o clock. There was entertainment on every night. It was around half mile to beach and the train station was just around the corner. There was just one supermarket nearby and you had to travel by train one stop to get to more shops. All in all we enjoyed it and the break it was warm in the thirties.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor st booking as we were put on floor 5 although I requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I love everything we want return the staff were friendly and helpful food was brill apart from being cold sometimes entertainment could of been a wee bit. Better but overall it was brilliant train station just round the corner and we went on one of the excursions to the monkey island it was amazing totally loved it want to come back there is so much to see

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We like to know that you enjoyed our hotel and that you plan to return. Hope to see you soon. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed here at the end of April for 12 days. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and well maintained,lwith a nice garden and pool.
During my stay one of the lifts broke down but was repaired quickly. I liked the location as it is really near the train which will take you up and down the coast and is really cheap to use. Bar has good selection of alcoholic and soft drinks. I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. I love to sit on the balcony in the evenings but would suggest a small table as there are only chairs provided. Regarding the food as mentioned by other reviews. This is a three star and the food reflects this, however I thought the breakfasts were pretty good lots to choose from. Lunch and dinner - the salads and the desserts were good. The hot food could do with improving as some times what was on offer was good but sometimes not. It would help if hot lamps were used instead of just strip lights which do not keep the food hot. Some guests were having a bit of a moan sayng they were used to four or five star but if that is what you want then pay for a four or five star hotel. I did not go hungry and considering the price I paid I think the hotel is very good value. I would li to come back again and hope to return later this year.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors quieter especially those thqt overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We like to know that you enjoyed our hotel and that you plan to return. . Hope to see you around here again soon. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. Follow our news and promotions through our Facebook.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Costa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.