We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bargain Hotel- Perfect First Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Costa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Bargain Hotel- Perfect First Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My partner and I arrived at this hotel in June 2013 for our first holiday away together. I was very sceptical at first because of the number of reviews that I read, and I must be honest when I arrived on the metro, the graffiti on the outside of the hotel walls filled me with dread. The reception area was very busy when we arrived but were soon allocated to a lovely, pool facing room that you could also see the sea from. The room was lovely- comfortable bed and good room facilities. Air con was definitely needed and worked a treat! Rooms cleaned everyday and we even left money and cameras out on show one day that weren't even moved! Very safe!
The food was to die for! We had 2 dinners every night!! The all inclusive package was well worth it, drinks and snacks and meals all whenever you wanted. The entertainment team were hilarious! We thoroughly enjoyed them... perhaps not for the right reasons! I think if you go expecting luxury then you are to be disappointed, but grab a bargain like we did and it's a fabulous hotel. Really upset with the negative reviews as totally uncalled for.

Room Tip: Don't bother with transfers... about 3 euros on the metro and about 20 minutes from the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you very much for recommending Hotel Royal Costa Tripadvisor users. It is a pleasure to know that we have done a good job during your visit to Torremolinos and you enjoyed a relaxing beach holiday with us. We hope to have you in our hotel on your next visit to Torremolinos. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    149
    107
    38
    38
See reviews for
118
153
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel ready for a relaxing time with our daughter and her daughters 15 and 8 we were looking forward to the free ice cream for the kids and the kids club that was advertised on the hotels website so we had gone with great expectations first we were told there was no ice cream till Monday as they had run out so ok we went to look for the beach which the website said was 50 metres away 45 minutes later we found the beach the kids were disappointed but got on with the holiday , then we were told the kids club was seasonal and because we went in early October we were too late again ok there's the pool and they can get slush puppie type drinks not to worry then we were sitting at breakfast two days after we arrived in the restaurant after going up for her buffet breakfast my daughter sat down to eat it hanging her handbag on her chair after breakfast she got up to go but her hand bag was missing she found it on the next table behind a pillar missing her purse and two mobile phones both her bank cards and driving licence gone we reported it at reception but they weren't interested in helping us they told her to go to the local police station and report it we were told there was someone who spoke English there but there wasn't there was no security at all in this hotel anyone could walk in,
so I spent the next few hours cancelling her phones and blocking them so we decided to carry on with the holiday then the hotel staff gave our 8 year old an alcoholic slush drink there was no spa no gym the games tables couldn't be played with out of season they didn't cater for kids it was a complete disaster when does all inclusive not become all inclusive answer at the royal costa hotel after September I would advise people not to choose this hotel or gem holidays I know I won't

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello David,

We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay. As you comment on your review the mini club is closed out of season. As for ice cream, this is a totally exceptional. Finally, we deeply regret the event that we mentioned. we will work hard to avoid a repeat. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed from the 6th October 2013 for one week with my partner. I found the hotel to be very modern and clean, food was varied and didn't struggle to eat the whole duration of the trip. hotel grounds are really nice. The drinks were very nice and plenty of choice. Rooms were modern and clean. Bed very comfortable. The only down side was that were located in Los Alamos and not Torremolinos itself, though wasn't too big of a problem as there is a train station at the back of the hotel and is easy enough to get too. Only cost a few euros for the ticket and took you to the other resorts, like belemadena and so on. The hotel itself is in a residential area and is very quiet at night, which is great for getting some quality sleep. The entertainment was not the best but if your quite happy to sit and drinkt the night away its ok. If you have kids they will be disappointed as there was no entertainment for them. Over all I had a lovely time and would stay again at this hotel if requiring a relaxing break. Great Value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recommendation of Hotel Royal Costa. We will take note of your feedback to continue to provide high quality service to our guests. The location of our hotel is very near the beach and within walking distance of the train station, so you can enjoy the best of the city and relax in Los Alamos. We hope to have you back with us. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

sold this hotel as in torrelmolinos but it was two train stops away so at night you were isolated as no shops bars or beach walks. entertainment was woeful reception disinterested, no timetables for bus or train no books to read food was awful desserts every night angel delight. Hotel very clean grounds very nice having a bath or a shower was very hazardous as you had to climb into the bath to turn on taps if water was too hot you could not reach the taps to turn cold water on without burning your feet. only plus was weather was good

Room Tip: check bathroom before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Rhona,

Hotel Royal Costa is located in Torremolinos, in a residential area known as Los Alamos. We have a train station right next to uncomplicated move to the center of Torremolinos, Malaga and Fuengirola. We will take note of your comments. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

spent a week here in October, and for the money we paid it was fine, very clean hotel, food ok, not a lot of choice, but always something to eat, room was clean and comfortable. Paid 1 euro 70 each for transfer from airport to hotel, only 2 stops, and 5 mins walk from station to hotel, so don't pay for a transfer, the ticket machines at station are easy to use, the hotel is not in the centre of torremolinos we which knew before we arrived, but its ideal for getting around on the train, you can walk to los Alamos beach 10/15 mins stroll, all in all we would go back, for the money we paid great value, if you want 4 star hotel in middle of torremolinos you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor , we where on 1st floor, and it could get a bit noisy when entertainment was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were sold a holiday supposed to be in torremolinos but it was 2 train stops away from torremolinos,did not like this, as we enjoy walking round shops at night, hotel was to far out of town. the food was terrible, every thing was very greasy, staff were very helpful,really let down by the standard of the food at this hotel,on the quality of the food i would only rate this hotel as 2 star

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is adjacent to a train station 2 stops from the center of Torremolinos. As for food from our buffet, we offer a variety of cold dishes, salads and hot dishes of Mediterranean and international cuisine.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orihuela
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped here as part of a group on our way to Morocco. Nice enough situation but would not want to return there. Our room was okay but the bathroom had a mere trickle of hot water in basin and shower. The buffet for supper was not very appealing. Large restaurant and very noisy with what appeared to be lots of people on package deals. Wine expensive at 2.50 euros a glass. We had to be up and away early but breakfast was very poor. The grounds of the hotel looked quite nice with pool and garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Royal Costa is ideally located near the airport, next to a train station and just minutes walking from the beach.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Costa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.