We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Costa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Teesside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed from the 6th October 2013 for one week with my partner. I found the hotel to be very modern and clean, food was varied and didn't struggle to eat the whole duration of the trip. hotel grounds are really nice. The drinks were very nice and plenty of choice. Rooms were modern and clean. Bed very comfortable. The only down side was that were located in Los Alamos and not Torremolinos itself, though wasn't too big of a problem as there is a train station at the back of the hotel and is easy enough to get too. Only cost a few euros for the ticket and took you to the other resorts, like belemadena and so on. The hotel itself is in a residential area and is very quiet at night, which is great for getting some quality sleep. The entertainment was not the best but if your quite happy to sit and drinkt the night away its ok. If you have kids they will be disappointed as there was no entertainment for them. Over all I had a lovely time and would stay again at this hotel if requiring a relaxing break. Great Value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recommendation of Hotel Royal Costa. We will take note of your feedback to continue to provide high quality service to our guests. The location of our hotel is very near the beach and within walking distance of the train station, so you can enjoy the best of the city and relax in Los Alamos. We hope to have you back with us. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    149
    106
    38
    38
See reviews for
118
152
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

sold this hotel as in torrelmolinos but it was two train stops away so at night you were isolated as no shops bars or beach walks. entertainment was woeful reception disinterested, no timetables for bus or train no books to read food was awful desserts every night angel delight. Hotel very clean grounds very nice having a bath or a shower was very hazardous as you had to climb into the bath to turn on taps if water was too hot you could not reach the taps to turn cold water on without burning your feet. only plus was weather was good

Room Tip: check bathroom before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Rhona,

Hotel Royal Costa is located in Torremolinos, in a residential area known as Los Alamos. We have a train station right next to uncomplicated move to the center of Torremolinos, Malaga and Fuengirola. We will take note of your comments. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

spent a week here in October, and for the money we paid it was fine, very clean hotel, food ok, not a lot of choice, but always something to eat, room was clean and comfortable. Paid 1 euro 70 each for transfer from airport to hotel, only 2 stops, and 5 mins walk from station to hotel, so don't pay for a transfer, the ticket machines at station are easy to use, the hotel is not in the centre of torremolinos we which knew before we arrived, but its ideal for getting around on the train, you can walk to los Alamos beach 10/15 mins stroll, all in all we would go back, for the money we paid great value, if you want 4 star hotel in middle of torremolinos you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor , we where on 1st floor, and it could get a bit noisy when entertainment was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were sold a holiday supposed to be in torremolinos but it was 2 train stops away from torremolinos,did not like this, as we enjoy walking round shops at night, hotel was to far out of town. the food was terrible, every thing was very greasy, staff were very helpful,really let down by the standard of the food at this hotel,on the quality of the food i would only rate this hotel as 2 star

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is adjacent to a train station 2 stops from the center of Torremolinos. As for food from our buffet, we offer a variety of cold dishes, salads and hot dishes of Mediterranean and international cuisine.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orihuela
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped here as part of a group on our way to Morocco. Nice enough situation but would not want to return there. Our room was okay but the bathroom had a mere trickle of hot water in basin and shower. The buffet for supper was not very appealing. Large restaurant and very noisy with what appeared to be lots of people on package deals. Wine expensive at 2.50 euros a glass. We had to be up and away early but breakfast was very poor. The grounds of the hotel looked quite nice with pool and garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Royal Costa is ideally located near the airport, next to a train station and just minutes walking from the beach.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A fair review takes several things into consideration, a little time researching the location, area and of course the price paid for the entire holiday.
All of this said i have to agree with one or two other reviewers who are annoyed about the negativity shown to this hotel.
The location is in a rather pleasant residential area but dont be put off by that, its got the train station right on the doorstep and one or two bars and shops nearby.
The hotel itself is, by and large, fairly clean all round, rooms cleaned regularly, garden and pool area looked after quite well and most of the staff we found to be helpful if spoken to in a respectful manner.
We did, however, find that one or two of the staff were a little rude and another guest commented "its because its the end of the season", this is no excuse to be awkward. we are paying guests no matter what the time of year!
For us, the food was fairly good, plenty to eat and plenty of choice, again, break it down and look at what it has actually cost you for each meal.
The entertainment was typical of Spanish hotels, no better,no worse.
If i were to be negative then for us the hotel lacked an overall spanish feel, the dining room probably being the worst, it felt like being back at school, also why do all inclusive guests have to drink from plastic glasses? i can understand the pool area is a no go but evenings and the bar area, especially when guests who are paying for drinks get theirs served in a glass. (also when its hot a half pint of spanish lager which is half froth is gone in seconds!)
Would we return here?, certainly along this stretch of coastline, the connecting train service is excellent and the area is generally nice with a lovely clean beach and the hotel, yes i think we would if the price (there it is again) was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Howard,

Thanks for your comments about Hotel Royal Costa. As mention in your review the location of the hotel, despite being in a quiet area of ​​Torremolinos are right next to the train station. Cleanliness is a key factor in our hotel as well as the food. Thank you for valuing the variety we offer in our buffet. We will take note of your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the first time I have ever left feedback but peoples moans and groans about this hotel have got right on my nerves.
This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and you get what you pay for. If you want a four star hotel then pay for it. If you want pie and mash or roast dinners stay in England. . Salad was probably a bit of a shock to the system If you want karaoke and naff entertainers stay in England and go for a night out at your local working mans club or go to Butlins.Why we are on the subject of Butlins the reviewer who said the hotel had a bad atmosphere and was like Butlins was clearly hallucinating where they got there or they were suffering from sun stroke.!!.They have obviously never been to Butlins because it is nothing like Butlins .

The hotel did not have a bad atmosphere everyone we met were friendly. You have to make the effort in life to chat to people but then you do have to have some social skills to be able to interact with people.

As for hotel being in an housing estate I don't now where they live but do they have housing estates where they live with beautiful Spanish villas and orange trees within them.

Off the beaten track well a 5 min walk to the train station which takes you to lots of places and very cheap , and a 15 min walk to a lovely beach with bars, is hardly off the beaten track and a long walk unless you are used to driving everywhere. But then it maybe be an effort for some people to get their backsides off their sunbeds and do some walking, but I do understand by observing some of the hotel visitors this was possibly too much effort .Exercise what is that?

Entertainment get some intelligence and imagination and make your own.

I would agree that the hotel has nothing to offer for children having been abroad many times in the past with young children. But I would have done my research properly before booking the hotel.
Also do your research it clearly states LOS ALMOS

I have stayed in four star hotels and of course they are better. As I said you get what you pay for this hotel is fine for what you pay for. You cannot expect to stay at a top of the range hotel for the amount you pay to stay at Royal Costa.

Before you book a hotel do your research and perhaps you will need to spend a bit more money rather than expecting something for nothing. Champagne tastes lemonade money comes to mind

This is a nice quiet clean hotel. If you want a noisy entertainment filled chavvy holiday with plenty of pie and chips and mushy peas and you don't want to get your backside of your sunbed and actually do some walking DONT STAY HERE
Lastly stop moaning and get a life. Life is what you make it!!! AND YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Costa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.