We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Costa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 4-night stay at the Royal Costa Hotel. Firstly, we were very happy with the transfer time....just ten minutes by bus! We found out later that we could've got the train which would've been even quicker at 6 minutes, with the Los Alamos train stop just 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

We arrived at the hotel at 10pm, which is when the restaurant was due to close. Straight away, the very friendly lady on reception put our all-inclusive wristbands on us, told us to leave our cases at the reception and go straight into the restaurant if we wanted food/drinks and the staff in there were more than happy to let us sit and eat, even though it was meant to be closing! We were really happy with this.

The restaurant was spotless and there was plenty of choice food-wise. A great selection of hot and cold dishes were available with a small bar at the rear of the restaurant where staff were serving draft San Miguel and wines to accompany our meal.

Once we'd finished in there, we collected our cases and headed up to our room. We were very pleasantly surprised with the room, it was spacious and very clean. We were also impressed with the view from the balcony, particularly the next morning when we realised we had a pool AND sea view!

Breakfast was good, with plenty of fruit, meats, cheese, bread and also hot options available. The train station was nice and close and it enabled us to do some exploring between our all-inc meals. The train is cheap and just 2 stops (approx 10 mins) to Torremolinos and that's where we went on our first morning. The trains seem to run every 20 minutes so that was fine.

The pool area at the hotel was great and the bar staff were helpful and happy. We were impressed to see a fridge stocked with snacks that we could help ourselves to throughout the day.

There was plenty of variety food-wise at lunch and dinner, more than what we expected...again no complaints there!

One lovely surprise was finding out there is a beach in Los Alamos, under 10 minutes walk from the hotel, which I thought was even nicer, and quieter than Torremolinos beach. There were some lovely bars/restaurants there too. Closer to the hotel, there are 3 or 4 bars/restaurants and a shop - which are all 4 or 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Costa, so ignore the reviews which say the area is completely dead.
My partner and I would recommend the Royal Costa to anyone looking for a quiet break, but close enough to transport links which enable you to get out and about at a very low price. It was perfect for us.

I really can't work out what some people expect from a 3-star Spanish hotel. There's a lot of moaning on here which really has nothing to do with the hotel (noisy guests, quiet area etc etc). Our experience there was brilliant and can't think of anything we weren't happy with. My partner was an air hostess for 10 years and she said it was one of the nicest Spanish hotels she'd ever stayed in.

The easiest thing is, DO YOUR HOMEWORK before you book it! Look at photos, read about the hotel and the area as much as you can...(not just on Trip Advisor). That is what we did.

If you want in-your-face partying then it won't be for you but I would say this should be rated higher than a 3-star. EXCELLENT value for money. We loved it and will be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 which was brilliant, with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    136
    107
    37
    38
See reviews for
118
155
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean and friendly. I had seen some negative reviews before we travelled so was a bit worried. The train is easily accessible from the airport with two stops. There was a group of ten of us (five couples) and it was ideal for us. For the price we paid it was extremely good value for money. The hotel is a bit of a way out so but as we were only there a short time it didn't really matter. Rooms are comfortable and bathrooms quite spacious. The area around the pool was very clean - if I was being a bit picky I would say it was a bit frustrating that the bar at the pool didn't open until 11.00 - we couldn't even get a coffee. Would I go back? Yes I would for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You get what you pay for. Our first impressions were very clean hotel and a friendly welcome. The room was a good size for us and a larger balcony than most. However there was no tea/coffee tray or information folder and the safe you had to hire eachday therefore we kept our passports with us at all times.

The food is laid out like a school dinner with a "help yourself" service. The food did not look appetizing to us but what we ate we really enjoyed. Their is choice for all tastes, try to be adventurous and eat the native food, we only saw burgers and chips once!Also fish allergies beware...a couple of times we tried "something" that had a fishy taste but we cant be sure what it was!

We did all inclusive and the bar is open from 11am to 11pm, being an all inclusive customer you do get given plastic cups where as paying customers get glasses, which didn't bother us too much but we thought it to be strange.

The entertainment ran all day, ranging from water polo and darts to ping pong. The nighttime entertainment was different everyday which included a circus,comedians and reptiles. They try to appeal to all ages.

People who were at the hotel included couples, young families to the elderly. There was one downside to our first 2 days and that was the hotel had a school trip present. When you are trying to relax by the pool with a book and 11 year old kids are running around you being noisy it is rather unrelaxing!!

The beach is a 15 minute walk down a straight road, you cant miss it. The train station is right behind the hotel so getting about is very accessible.

Sleeping at night was difficult. The walls are quite thin and we could hear the occupants above us and anyone in the corridors who were talking. We also found the mattresses to be quite firm and we are used to a softer mattress.

My intention is not to put anybody off staying at this hotel as we did have an enjoyable time however I don't think we would highly recommend to our friends and family. It is a 3 star and you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you opt for a sea view you also get the pool view therefore you get the loud banging music that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

stayed for a week at the royal costa,we read some negative reports and some good ones,if you read the negative reports on every hotel you woudnt go abroad or a hotel back home,we chose the royal costa because it was in a quite area and easy to reach by public transport.the hotel is spotless and the food is very good and lots of it {you wont go hungry}the staff are welcoming and gregorio on reception is very helpful and very professional as all the staff are.rooms are cleaned every day.we recommend you visit the tiny village of mijas you can get on the train from hotel into fuengirola then a bus {£1.50} to the centre of mijas.we would return to the royal costa again.remember if your fish & chips person or steak pie and chips book a hotel in blackpool not the royal costa {but there is a mcdonalds in torremolinos}make you feel at home.spanish quisine is excellent REMEMBER YOU ARE IN SPAIN.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Royal Costa in TripAdvisor. We like to know who enjoyed the treatment of our staff and the food. We hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Clean and friendly hotel. We enjoyed a lovely week there. Although not a lot happening around the hotel so if you're after a lively holiday book else where. No entertainment to speak of, Although there is a train station on the door step which runs regularly and cheap.
The staff were the most welcoming and friendly staff I have ever met in a hotel.
Perfect for a quite week away in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about Royal Costa in TripAdvisor. We like to know who enjoyed the treatment of our staff. We hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in Royal Costa from 1st June - 8th June 2013.

Hotel is really nice and very clean. Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay. Staff are very friendly and couldnt have asked for more.

Location: Los Alamos which is 2 train stops away from centre of Torremolinos. The Train station is literally a 5minute walk or if back gate is opened its literally 2 seconds away and train tickets are cheap.

Beach is about 10/15 minute walk from hotel.

Food - We really enjoyed the food, lots of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I feel this hotel is great value for money and feel it should be a 4*.Don't let other reviews put you off. This hotel is great.

Mostly couples and families when we stayed.

For Hotel:
If the back gate was left opened at all times this would give easier access to train station.

I would definitely reccomend this hotel.
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Royal Costa in TripAdvisor. We like to know who enjoyed the treatment of our staff and the food. We hope to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Costa Hotel. Having stayed in numerous hotels across Spain this represents amazing value for money in its category. The reception staff are very helpful and the bar and restaurant staff very friendly and approachable. The location is good for the beach and also the local bars and restaurants. I have stayed there four times now and will be back in a couple of weeks for the San Juan Fiesta.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Royal Costa in TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoyed the treatment of our staff. We like very much to see you around here again soon. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Costa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.