We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - For a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Costa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Costa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Costa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok - For a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here 17 - 20th May. The hotel and rooms were 100% faultless, always clean, tidy and all the essentials you need were provided.

The location is 2 train stops or a 10 min drive into Torremolinos or 4 stops away from Benalmadena, this didn't really bother us as the train cost 1.70 to everywhere! Also made it a little more fun to have to venture out rather than it all being on your door step.

The food is OK, there is variety, mainly rice, pasta, pork and fish everyday, if you eat lots of salads it perfect the choic is different everyday and plenty of it. For our 3 nights there it was more than adequate, any longer and I think we would of had to eat out. Only downside.. the pork has an awful smell to it, my fella and I were heaving at the smell, like a mixture of bad breath and poo!! (Only way to describe it!) But that was only on one night!

All inc drinks were fab, no complaints there, san miguel on tap and 3/4 glass of vodka and mixer! Only advise, steer clar of cocktails, they are pre made up and not that good!

All in all, would return only for a short trip though.

:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    146
    115
    43
    43
See reviews for
123
167
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Me and my wife have just came home from a two week holiday here and would never go again!I have stayed in 3 Star hotels before but in my experience this was not.It was clean but the food was the same thing every single night and day so we eat out most of the time.No entertainment to speak of they played Bingo with toothpicks when you win you can only win a drink of the all inclusive which we all was any way so we was not getting anything really.Transfers to the hotel where terrible we where left at the bottom of the hill to walk up with are suitcases apparently this only happens to the British because everyone else i.e French and German etc don,t find a problem they get brought straight up and back. When we where going we had to walk back down the hill with are suitcases because the coach driver said the coach was to big the only thing is the other coaches was the same as ours but they managed it! You would ask for a drink and some staff members would only fill it three quarters they way up why I don,t know ?This Hotel seems to be a stop of point for one or two night stays I would like to tell anybody thinking of staying here to get the train and not the transfers you would get of closer to the hotel with the train and its only 1 euro 70 cents.We will not be returning ever to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Royal Costa for your vacation. We regret that you did not enjoy the entertainment and food from our hotel, despite our buffet offers a variety of hot and cold dishes to suit all tastes. We take note of what we said cleaning. Hope you'll enjoy Torremolinos
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from 7 days in the worst hotel I have been in. Hotel is isolated with only 2 small bars and a small shop locally. The beach is at least a 15 minute walk although railway halt close by has good links to Malaga, Torremolinos, Fenguerola etc . Food was poor - cheapest possible. was completely bored after 2 days so spent every day on local rail. Entertainment is even worse (including bingo or a quiz for example) and only 1 hour 10 to 11 pm there is not even a pool table no daytime snacks or ice cream for kids or adults. Bar prices are extortionate. Grounds have weeds/grass growing through but rooms are kept clean. I would not advised anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Royal Costa for your vacation. We regret that you did not enjoy the food, entertainment and location. We work every day to provide the best to our customers. Torremolinos offers many fun options for all tastes. We hope you can give a second chance to our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having just spent a 3 night weekend at the Royal Costa with a friend, I cannot understand the negative reviews I have been reading. This hotel offers superb value and facilities for the price and in my opinion, surpasses what is expected of a 3 star hotel. The cleanliness, politeness and professionalism of the staff was at all times of the highest standard and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. A word of advice to those not happy with the food - remember, this is a hotel situated in Spain, therefore do not expect to go and eat English food. Whilst I believe every effort is made by the hotel to cater for different nationalities, one should not assume that English food will be widely available. Similarly, it should not be expected to be permitted to drink out of glasses as opposed to plastic ones. There is a good reason for this, and that is that many people holidaying on an all inclusive basis abuse the system and spend a great deal of time being drunk and disorderly. This often results in bad behaviour and therefore the hotel is behaving responsibly in it's actions for the sake of health and safety and a sincere sense of duty to it's clients. If you want to have English food, English Beer, English Entertainment, I would recommend staying at home and let those that enjoy Spain, enjoy it, without rude, drunken behaviour. I am quite certain that the enormous number of Spanish visiting our country do not expect to have Spanish food on the menu and for all English to speak to them in Spanish!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is, or should be, a quiet family hotel. Unfortunately they let in a large stag party, however peace was restored the next day by the police escorting them away, they were drunk on arrival, why book them in?
That aside it is a comfortable hotel next to the train station and close to the airport so there is some noise. Food is quite good, we always managed to eat well, but why only paper cups for coffee after dinner? There is a good pool but it was freezing, the beach is a 10 minute walk past the train station. Train are good at less than 2euro every 20 mins.
Rooms are good though the beds could be better, good bathroom with excellent shower with gel, shampoo supplied.
The all inclusive is not great with very limited snacks, nuts and crisps mainly. It is far from anything but the train puts them within reach so long as you are back by midnight otherwise an expensive taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Royal Costa in TripAdvisor. We take note of the suggestions on the paper cups for coffee and the comfort of the beds. It helps us improve. Hope to see you around here again soon. Neustras can follow our latest news through Facebook.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in Royal Costa Hotel for 7 nights (start 28.04.13). Hotel clean and with big bedrooms. It was 3 of us, meself, my hubby and our 2 years old girl.
Not even mention about any play ground for little, or some snacks, ice cream for children. We had a lovely time, but only because we had plan all trips for each day. I can't imagine what to do in that hotel(?) boring!
And then in the end, for 2 last nights, we had really "noisy neighbours". It looks like no one plan, how to put guests in the hotel. Just how it gose, where the bedrooms are clean there we accommodate them. As a family we should be accommodate around the other family, but we got young mans it tree bedrooms around us (I don't really mine them, everyone do them own holidays). They stay very loud untill 6am. Our girl, couldn't sleep well during that nights (not even mention us). After (them first night in hotel) my husband complain in reception about nois they made during all night. Some one talk to them, but it didn't really change anything, second (our last) it was exactly the same(!). So I'm glad that I'm back home...
Food very average (!) Breakfast every day the same, after 3 days I didn't know what to eat. Toddler didn't eat anything for breakfast in the hotel at all. We stayed half board (no lunch in the hotel - thanks God), so for dinner it wasn't that bad. Every day u can see the same things, just made different. Not that bad, likely we manage to finde something for our girl.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing the Royal Costa for your family vacation. We regret that there is noise during your stay and do not enjoy the breakfast, although we try to offer a variety of products to suit all tastes. You can follow our latest news through our Facebook.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcalalí, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the last hotel on our tour of Andalucia. Our coach load was booked in half board but this was a hotel offering all-inclusive facilities. We arrived late afternoon and some guests were already drunk. At the bar I did note that not having a wrist band, and holding money in my hand resulted in a better quality of red wine.
Meal-times were a bun-fight, even though they were spread over 3-4 hours each. The food was un-interesting and warm, rather than hot. They advertised an international theme for the food, varying daily but I was hard pressed to identify which dishes were meant to be 'international'.
The railway line runs directly at the back of the hotel and is in the forefront of any sea view, which is some distance away. A busy road towards Malaga runs near the hotel and Malaga Airport is not far down the road.
For facilities, wifi only operated in the lounge and reception areas and a fridge in your room was an extra €80 a week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalCosta, Community Manager at Royal Costa Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Royal Costa for your vacation. We regret that did not enjoy the food, as we try to offer a variety of hot and cold dishes to suit all tastes. We hope to see you again here.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Costa Hotel

Address: Calle Sistema Iberico 60 | Urbanizacion Los Alamos, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Costa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Royal Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Costa
Royal Costa Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Costa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.