We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when you are booking this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medina Azahara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Medina Azahara to your Saves list
Hotel Medina Azahara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cruz 20, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
norfolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful when you are booking this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I paid £840 for my family of 3 to go for a all inclusive week back in september 2011. my advice to anyone thinking of going is DO NOT GO ALL INCLUSIVE TO THIS HOTEL. we had raw chicken for dinner and if you have young children i have a son who at the time was 16 months old DO NOT LET THEM ON THE BALCONY the bars are so far apart it could be fatel at the moment i am in contact with the holiday company trying to get my money back as the food was terrible and there was no entertainment the all inclusive drinks stop at 10pm when the so called no entertainment wasnt meant to start until 9pm dinner was far too late with a little one in tow and the service from all the staff was terrible you had to go and shout for the bar staff from the kitchen to get any kind of service.

Room Tip: do not upgrade your room as they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    6
    32
See reviews for
14
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Situated close to the shops and a reasonable walk from the beach this hotel was adequate but I would question it was ever given a three star status. It is badly in need of renovation.

The rooms were clean but very basic, the decor depressing, You had to pay extra for TV channels! The tap in the bathroom only turned off after 'jiggling' around and hoping for the best. When i turned the shower on, the head shot off the attachment on the wall and sprayed everywhere, it was like a comedy sketch!

Breakfast choice was great if you wanted traditional english but I expect and want a buffet breakfast to include a good choice of cereals and different cold meats, cheeses and fresh fruit and it didn't. The coffee was from a machine and awful. Overall a disappointment.

As we were only there one night and were limited by lack of availability and the price we were prepared to pay, it sufficed. I wouldnt book again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recently went to Torremolinos with 2 of my friends. We paid £110 for a 4 night break incl. flights. The hotel is nothing special but I had no problems with it, the rooms were clean and ample sized, maid came round every day. I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and would definately stay here again.

Reading most of the (incredibly) negative reviews it seems that people have a big issue with the food at the hotel, we didn't eat at the hotel and food around the area is not expensive at all.

True the pool is not great but why sit around a pool when in 10/15 mins you can be on the beautiful beach!

The location was great for being close to the centre of town, helpful for us. We spent all day at the beach, came back to the hotel, washed then went for dinner in the town.

Overal I would recommend this hotel and did not have any complaints about it. Don't go expecting the ritz but a clean and comfortable buget hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

I implore any people who are looking for a cheap place to stay to not stay here. There is cheap, and there is getting what you pay for, but this hotel was awful. Pay a little extra and go somewhere else. The location isn't even great. Toremollinos is a lovely town but going back to this hotel was awful. I echo what every other review on here says. But top of the list has to be the disgusting, repetitive food on the menu. The lack of entertainment. The inability of anyone to be polite, unless you get to know them-but come on I'm holidaying for 5nights how about just a smile. The fact the guy who cleans the pool walked through the dining room at the height of lunch swinging a basket of dirty pool mess. The rooms were ok. Just please don't go!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel was maybe 3 star in a past life. We arrived late on the Thursday evening and no one seemed to know we were due. It took us some 30 minutes to get booked in and were given a room on the 4th floor. When we came out of the lift the corridor was very dark and we couldn't find a light switch. It was only the following morning we discovered timer switches for the lights in the corridor. On entering our room the door actually opened outwards into the corridor. The room was very small and had plaster falling from walls and ceiling and was very dim. The toliet was clean but the shower was hopeless and actually had the taps hanging off. The beds were npo more than camp beds although reasonably comfy they were very small. We went back to reception and asked to be moved to be told it was not possible. The balcony is a death trap and be wary if travelling with kids. The barrier was rotten with rust and broken in places, the side of the concrete was split all the way along the barrier and I would not lean against it. The pool area is very shabby and we didn't bother going near here. As for bar and restuarant do yourself a favour and steer well clear. We were only staying 4 nights and will never book this dump or recommend to anyone in future. My how this place needs the hotel inspector.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark on trent nottinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

ok we only went for a long weekend...but it really isnt a very nice place at all.Rooms etc..very basic, seriously understaffed.....barmen doubleup as waiters at mealtimes!!......what!...so if you want a drink expect to wait n wait n wait...!! gin n tonic in paper pepsi cups......errrr nice!!...food very basic tho Al did say the one breckie we had it was nice. entertainment???? .ha ha.....err..... saw the girl settting up the tables & munching her way thro her meals....didnt see her do anything else tho......look Torremolinos is a lovely place.....just dont book this hotel........sorry to have to be so negative, but there really are lots of better places to go in this lovely spanish resort...

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel......end off!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

stayed for a week with my son and husband half board...was dreading after reading bad reviews,but on arriving we found the hotel very clean,food not brilliant but not too bad.met some great people and suppose holiday is wat you make it...hotel needed updating decor but cheap and cheerful.ya get wat ya pay for...dont be put off by the bad reviews...aquapark just 10mins walk away..and lift down to beachfront ..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Medina Azahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medina Azahara

Address: C/ Cruz 20, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medina Azahara 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Medina Azahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Azahara Hotel
Hotel Medina Azahara Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medina Azahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.