We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medina Azahara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Medina Azahara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Medina Azahara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cruz 20, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Granada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Badly in need of renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Situated close to the shops and a reasonable walk from the beach this hotel was adequate but I would question it was ever given a three star status. It is badly in need of renovation.

The rooms were clean but very basic, the decor depressing, You had to pay extra for TV channels! The tap in the bathroom only turned off after 'jiggling' around and hoping for the best. When i turned the shower on, the head shot off the attachment on the wall and sprayed everywhere, it was like a comedy sketch!

Breakfast choice was great if you wanted traditional english but I expect and want a buffet breakfast to include a good choice of cereals and different cold meats, cheeses and fresh fruit and it didn't. The coffee was from a machine and awful. Overall a disappointment.

As we were only there one night and were limited by lack of availability and the price we were prepared to pay, it sufficed. I wouldnt book again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    10
    7
    33
See reviews for
14
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recently went to Torremolinos with 2 of my friends. We paid £110 for a 4 night break incl. flights. The hotel is nothing special but I had no problems with it, the rooms were clean and ample sized, maid came round every day. I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and would definately stay here again.

Reading most of the (incredibly) negative reviews it seems that people have a big issue with the food at the hotel, we didn't eat at the hotel and food around the area is not expensive at all.

True the pool is not great but why sit around a pool when in 10/15 mins you can be on the beautiful beach!

The location was great for being close to the centre of town, helpful for us. We spent all day at the beach, came back to the hotel, washed then went for dinner in the town.

Overal I would recommend this hotel and did not have any complaints about it. Don't go expecting the ritz but a clean and comfortable buget hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

I implore any people who are looking for a cheap place to stay to not stay here. There is cheap, and there is getting what you pay for, but this hotel was awful. Pay a little extra and go somewhere else. The location isn't even great. Toremollinos is a lovely town but going back to this hotel was awful. I echo what every other review on here says. But top of the list has to be the disgusting, repetitive food on the menu. The lack of entertainment. The inability of anyone to be polite, unless you get to know them-but come on I'm holidaying for 5nights how about just a smile. The fact the guy who cleans the pool walked through the dining room at the height of lunch swinging a basket of dirty pool mess. The rooms were ok. Just please don't go!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel was maybe 3 star in a past life. We arrived late on the Thursday evening and no one seemed to know we were due. It took us some 30 minutes to get booked in and were given a room on the 4th floor. When we came out of the lift the corridor was very dark and we couldn't find a light switch. It was only the following morning we discovered timer switches for the lights in the corridor. On entering our room the door actually opened outwards into the corridor. The room was very small and had plaster falling from walls and ceiling and was very dim. The toliet was clean but the shower was hopeless and actually had the taps hanging off. The beds were npo more than camp beds although reasonably comfy they were very small. We went back to reception and asked to be moved to be told it was not possible. The balcony is a death trap and be wary if travelling with kids. The barrier was rotten with rust and broken in places, the side of the concrete was split all the way along the barrier and I would not lean against it. The pool area is very shabby and we didn't bother going near here. As for bar and restuarant do yourself a favour and steer well clear. We were only staying 4 nights and will never book this dump or recommend to anyone in future. My how this place needs the hotel inspector.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark on trent nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

ok we only went for a long weekend...but it really isnt a very nice place at all.Rooms etc..very basic, seriously understaffed.....barmen doubleup as waiters at mealtimes!!......what!...so if you want a drink expect to wait n wait n wait...!! gin n tonic in paper pepsi cups......errrr nice!!...food very basic tho Al did say the one breckie we had it was nice. entertainment???? .ha ha.....err..... saw the girl settting up the tables & munching her way thro her meals....didnt see her do anything else tho......look Torremolinos is a lovely place.....just dont book this hotel........sorry to have to be so negative, but there really are lots of better places to go in this lovely spanish resort...

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel......end off!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

stayed for a week with my son and husband half board...was dreading after reading bad reviews,but on arriving we found the hotel very clean,food not brilliant but not too bad.met some great people and suppose holiday is wat you make it...hotel needed updating decor but cheap and cheerful.ya get wat ya pay for...dont be put off by the bad reviews...aquapark just 10mins walk away..and lift down to beachfront ..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Travelled here with my 1 teenage and 2 adult children! Transfer dropped us round the back of hote, due to limited parking spaces at the main entrance, to get in the door we had to be buzzed in, and found no one in reception area. We eventually managed to find the correct reception (around the front) and the nice Peter Andre receptionsit look-a-like, was extremly welcoming, and spoke adiqaute english. The room was in need of a re-vamp, as extremly dated, requsted family room, which consisted of two broken small single beds, and a sofa bed folded into a double bed. The balcony, was spaceous, but the view was dismal, as it consisted of a broken shopping trolley, the back of opposite hotel block, broken tiles, rubbish, tools, and a large puddle of water, we couldn't figure out where had come from, after closer inspection, realised there was a crack in the wall underneath the toilet, causing toliet water to leak across the balcony. The swimming pool is situated next to the dinning hall, which gives you great pleasure in watching people bending over, while eating your dinner (very off putting) The pool itself, was not much larger than a pond, but apperaed to be quite clean, but next to it was a baby pool, consisting of no-drainage system, causing it to be a health hazard. There was about ten sun loungers in total, so was impossible to get one, and two sets of tables and chairs. Many broken floor tiles around pool, another health hazard. The food was very basic but edible, but very repetive with little selection. The dinner hall was never opened on time, and could expect up to a twenty minute wait. Another problem with the balcony was due to been on the first floor, there was very little privacy, was next to the main path everyone used to get to dinner/pool. Our neighbours were very noise and rude, on one occasion they were partying to late on the balcony, and decided to insinute distrbing sexual acts upon one another through a torch shone on the buliding, this is definalty not suitable for young children, as alot of the cliente staying there were rowdy and loud. There was a large board in reception advertsing what entertainment would be on, and what time. However, we failed to see any entertainment take place, and no animation team were there. One the last day, one woman appaeared, played a couple of songs, then disappeared again. On the first morning, we managed to loose the safe-key, which we knew was in the room, but after searching for an hour, could not find it, after reporting this to reception, they said we would have to wait for four hours, till someone can come out, this was distressing as all our valuable and money was in the safe. The maid cleaned the room to an average standard, but on many occasions failed to empty bin, provide toilet roll and clean towel; on one occassion she left our balcony door wide open once finished cleaning, we was not aware of this as we were out, but were very lucky to have anything stolen, as bottom floor balcony, with very easy access to.
On the positive side, the location of the hotel was in the San-Miguel area, was fantastic, close to bars, shops and reasurants. Nice walk to the beach, with lift avaliable for people with transport difficulites. Also the Peter Andre look-a-like on recpetion was blessed with very good looks.
Torremelinous, itself is a great resort to visit, with a lot going on, would visit again, but to a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Medina Azahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medina Azahara

Also Known As:
Medina Azahara Hotel
Hotel Medina Azahara Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: C/ Cruz 20, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medina Azahara 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Medina Azahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medina Azahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.