We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

i booked up a week by myself with thomson's in july 2014 . upon arriving discovered that a single room came without a balcony , so decided to try my luck back at reception ..i asked how much it was to upgrade my room so i could have a balcony, was initially told 10 euros per night , but after a brief discussion behind reception they said i could have one for no extra cost .
this room came with a partial sea view, with all the amenities one would expect. so was a good start .
the food was pretty reasonable , breakfast(8-10.30) the usual english / continental fare which i think would cater for all tastes. lunch(13-15) consisted of a buffet selection of salads , cold fish , cheese , pizza slices , burgers , and differing other hot options (breaded pork , chicken pieces, paella etc).there are 2 dinner sittings starting at 7.15 and 8.45 , which gentlemen must wear trousers (a bit warm if like me you are on the early run, but i understand the reasons for it ), again pretty decent food and i believe a genuine attempt is being made to offer plenty of variety day to day. to be honest as nice as it was i rarely had anything with real "wow factor" , but i was also able to make up a decent meal every night , so no complaints . a second smaller option is available in the evening when to pool bar converts to a restaurant . this can be booked the preceding day in the main dining area , and although still a buffet is certainly worth a couple of visits as provides a much more relaxed atmosphere .
the gardens and pool(not huge but just about big enough) area are well maintained ; indeed to whole hotel both outside and in is spotlessly clean , very impressive .
i cannot really comment on the indoor main hotel bar and the entertainment available as i popped out most evenings , although it did seem a bit holiday camp looking at what was on .
the drinks available i found to be of good quality , the white , rose and red wines are i think are the equal of the house wines in the local bars , the beer and brandy were also fine ; certainly no evidence of "watering down" which i have heard can occassionally happen in other all inclusive resorts.
location wise the hotel is right opposite the beach , with a reasonable selection of bars, reasonably priced restaurants, a few tourist "tat" shops , also a chemist selling shampoos , soap etc , so no need to load up on liquids. the main resort centre is about a 20 minute walk away , there is a bus service (1.50 eur) that runs about every 20mins just outside the hotel (plenty of taxis available about 5/6.00 euro apparently). only a 10 minute transfer from malaga airport(although you are not affected by aircraft noise)
the hotel has 3 computers for guests which cost 1 euro for 12 mins , 2 euro for 1/2 hour , you can also pay for wi fi which is available in reception (a bit cheaper than the computer i cannot exactly remember)
two things stand out , the cleanliness of the hotel , and the excellence of the staff . food was reasonable ,drinks were good , you could do a lot worse

Room Tip: ask ! you dont ask you dont get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    320
    143
    37
    25
See reviews for
206
393
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night AI at this hotel - firstly the hotel is adequate and we were allocated a change of room on the 1st day due to a water leak in the room which we weren't too worried about but we were offered a larger room with a double balcony so no hesitation there - problem dealt with quickly and efficiently

Plenty of food choice however the tables are very close and restricts the conversation somewhat but we don't sit for hours over meals so not a problem

Big issue for us was the Wi Fi or lack of it - would have thought this was a gimme in any 4 star hotel but not so - lobby only and charged for it

Pool small for size of hotel and was very crowded - and as usual kids ruled the pool/dining areas/and the evenings - as always - I read a few reviews before booking and was under the impression there were not many kids there - obviously this has changed and there are lots of them

Good beach location and short transfer -supermarket next door and a few bars within easy walking distance

Overall the hotel is pleasant enough and staff very friendly - service is good and good standards of cleanliness - not sure we would go back - pool too busy, as always towels on beds at first light
but for a short break it was pleasant enough

Room Tip: High rooms are better - upgrade and get a partial sea view and larger balcony Lifts in second hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

just got back after our ten day stay here.
the hotel exceeded all our expectations.
upon arrival we were greeted with a complimentary drink, and check in was smooth and painless.
safety deposit key is available for 20 pounds, and is refunded after checkout.
fresh pool towels are availiable every day.
our room was spacious, as was the bathroom, complete with a bee day even.
wardrobes are huge, ample room for your cases, and loads of hangers for your clothes.
the food was excellent.
huge buffet breakfast and dinner.
I struggle to see how any guest could fault it.
every day, we enjoyed our food.
the drinks are strong, and not watered down, as in some hotels weve seen.
there were no restrictions.
every drink we asked for, at the bar, we got.
the hotel is spotless, the cleaniest weve ever stayed in.
the staff were so friendly.
theyl bend over backwards to make sure your happy.
plenty of sunbeds are availiable around the pool, and we were extremely surprised to find a indoor pool, and fully equipped gymnasium.
free to use, to all guests.
ideal if your worried about coming home chubbier.
there are drink stations all over the hotel, serving beer, pop, tea and coffee, water and fruit juices.
the beach is accessed just a quck exit out of the hotel garden, cross the road, and youre on the beach.
the entertainment was great.
they have daily acts including a singer, acrobats, magicians.
in all we will come here again, and could not fault anything.
if your looking for a clean hotel, good location, good food and drinks, you cant go wrong.
we loved it here

Room Tip: ask for a pool or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an all inclusive, so please understand what you are booking when you take one of these holidays, it will not be all out luxury, it is a mass catered break away! The hotel itself is a little dated so if you want ultra modern don't go, however it was very clean and well maintained. Our room was large with a lovely sea view, safe in room and you get the deposit back which is not usually the case. Staff were friendly.
The food is on par with other all inclusive providers, again understand what this is before booking- usually a mass buffet with salads, meats, cheeses, soups, breads, pastas. The selection was good, always fresh and plentiful. Dinner is seated in 2 timings which can be a little restrictive because you get allocated to one when you arrive and you need to keep to this. The other problem is the tables are very close together, so not very intimate, would have liked a bit more space for my husband and I to dine together. Included is the chance to eat in the Andalusia restaurant for one night, we opted out of this as it is mainly seafood which I couldn't eat being pregnant. The pool bar serves continental breakfast but only serves food for one hour a day otherwise, but we noted as we were leaving (the start of peak season) they also started serving lunch, which is good. Drinks are easily accessed any time from various locations and they also provide litre bottles of water which is excellent. They are supposed to be for the room but we collected ours each evening and used it the next day by the pool.

Location is good, short distance from airport, easy to get to Malaga or torremolinos. we took evening strolls by the beach which was lovely and there are other bars and few corner shops if you need anything. The pool seemed a little small for the size of the hotel (the restaurant too. Which is why they seat in 2 intakes) but we always managed to get beds together and with an umbrella, as long as you are not fussy on one location.

My husband and I don't usually like hotel entertainment so we try to stay away from it. There is not much else to do in an evening otherwise so be prepared to sit and chat, take strolls on the beach or play games on the terrace.

Previous remarks about the age of guests don't hold true. This hotel isn't particularly aimed at young families or young couples (more towards couples mid thirties/40s onwards) but there was a mix of ages staying with no problems. I would say there doesn't seem to be much entertainment for young children.

we were on a strict budget and strict dates due to our circumstances so booked this last minute, all in all we got exactly what we needed, a break away in the sun, to spend time together. It is not the most luxurious hotel but it was fit for purpose. The only complaint I have is regarding late check out. Our flight was 9pm so we enquired at check in and were told to check back the day before. The day before we were told we couldn't have our room but might be able to book a shower room but go check back again the day of our flight. We checked the day of and we booked a slot for a shower, but only half an hour was allowed for the 2 of us. When we got there there were dirty wet towels and hairs all over the bathroom, which is disgusting. I think the process for this needs addressing by the manager.

Overall this hotel served as a good last minute short break. The hotel is a little dated but clean, close to some central but touristy areas, aimed at mid thirties onwards couples. I would say if you want luxury don't go all inclusive, understand what you are booking and you shouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As a last minute booking and newish to all inclusive holidays we found this hotel to be very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable; the food was good with a reasonable variety, all the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is very close to the beach and quiet bars and not too far to walk to the old town (20 mins.) or the train station which will take you very cheaply to Benalmadena and Fuengirola. There is also a taxi rank outside the hotel.
The lounge is large and comfortable as is the lobby area where you can get an economic priced WiFi link.
Our room was on the 7th floor which is served by two 8 man lifts and on just a few occasions had to wait a few minutes but not a big problem at all.
The pool area can get a little crowded as a result of those who feel the need to sun bed hog (putting a towel down before breakfast just in case and then going out for the day!). Having said this, we always found a pair of beds together when we needed. Towels are provided.
Don’t worry about the short transfer from the airport (10mins) we didn’t hear a plane all week.
We hope this helps.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

the hotel has rules which seem to apply only to the brits like only long trousers in the dinning room , the dinning room had dust on the surfaces which must have been there for weeks, the food was ok the entertainment was terrible I would not go back they want our money but they don't like the brits and treat you as second class people

Room Tip: get one in the side of the hotel that is only four flights high
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Good value hotel. Food quality was also good, found the female staff very friendly unlike 85 percent of the male staff who I found to be quite rude. I had the impression that male staff didn't like the Brits much and noticed they served all other nationalities at the bar before they served us. There didn't seem to be a lot of room around the pool so myself and my partner frequented the beach each day, the cost was 6 euros a day for 2 sun loungers and a parasol(which included a thick mattress which was very comfy) All in all a very nice chilled holiday and we would definitely go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.