We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #18 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are here now and having a lovely time. The room is nice, large and with a great sea view from the balcony. The food is excellent with a great choice and always hot. The service is good and most of the staff are friendly, unfortunately there's always one. The other holidaymakers both the British and Europeans are also friendly. As you'd expect at this time most are elderly. If I have one gripe it's that you have to pay for the wifi. Other than that it's great for a relaxing break. On the outskirts of the resort but there's a bus takes you to the centre for 1.22 euros. You can also walk 10 minutes to the train station and go to Feungirola or Malaga.

Room Tip: We have room 804.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    280
    126
    34
    23
See reviews for
177
353
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in December complementary drink upon arrival and check in very quick given a room on the 2nd floor with a side sea view and the maid service was excellent. We were very fortunate to have lovely weather for all of our stay. Most of the reception staff were very helpful also at reception they have a book giving info on all the local attractions including days of local markets etc. Bus stop on the corner which takes you to the local bus station (purchase a bono ticket opp bus station for 5.70 euro for 10 local trips to and from the hotel to the bus stn) where you can travel to many places in the Costa Del sol eg Mijas Pueblo, Benalmadena Pueblo, Arroya De La Miel, Fuengirola, Benalmadena Costa inc the Marina in the other direction you can go to Malaga for this bus stop you will have to go into the centre of Torremolinos also La Colina train station approx 10mins walk from the Belplaya where you can travel to fuengirola via Arroya De La Miel or Malaga Centro with many stops along the way one being Maria Zambrano train station which from here you can purchase tickets and go to Ronda via the lakes the scenery is amazing the transport system on the Costa Del Sol is excellent and very reasonably priced. The staff in the restaurant are very attentive without being over the top and you can always find something to eat if you are going out for the day I would suggest rather than asking for a packed lunch if on all inclusive to make your own at breakfast time as theirs consists of mainly fruit. I agree with the other reviews that there is not enough seating in the entertainment area and this can cause chaos at the bar with people standing around making it almost impossible to get a drink. Steve the rep is an excellent wealth of info and very helpful wish there were more reps like him. Indoor pool is not very warm and the changing facilities need some attention. We would stay at this hotel again during the winter months as a break from our cold weather but must be very busy during the summer months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking farmacia (chemist) as these rooms have balconies and get the sun all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl.North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were at the belplaya from 21st dec till the 30th. We found it to be a good hotel with friendly staff. The food was very good with a wide variety of choice. We thought the entertainment in the evening was ok but nothing to get excited about. Train station is only a 15 min walk away and there is a bus stop on the corner.
We would consider going to the Belplaya again. The only downside to our stay was the internet access, it is not available in your room only in the reception area, and here you have to pay 2 euros per hour. As if that is bad enough it was down and not available for 6 days of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinuela, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at the Belplaya from 23 to 26 December.

We were welcomed with a drink whilst checking in and our room was ready for us although we were earlier than the stipulated check in time. Without exception, the staff were first class.

The room - 161 - didn' t have much of an outlook but was well furnished and spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds. The TV had a good range of channels including BBC and ITV for British guests.

Food was excellent - all buffet style with 2 sittings - and the Gala Dinner (preceded by a Cocktail party) on Christmas Day evening was the best Buffet we have ever seen with the waiting staff constantly filling your wine and Cava glasses.

The A.I. drinks package was the best we have experienced - I quickly became addicted to the Irish Coffees!

The hotel has a large outdoor pool and well sized heated indoor pool.

The hotel is looking just a little tired in places, and the lounge isn' t large enough to seat all guests when the entertainment is on, but this didn' t bother us at all as all the many positives far made up for this. If you want to guarantee a seat to watch the entertainment request the first dinner sitting rather than the second.

All in all this was a wonderful place to spend Christmas and we will definitely be back the same time next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights from 18th December until 22nd December. Travelled from airport by train. 10 minute walk from La Colina station to hotel. Check in with welcome drink was a nice touch. Our room was on floor 8 and had a great sea view. Room size was much better than I expected. Beds very comfortable. Everything was spotless. Staff very friendly. Food good. I am a really fussy eater and was wary of AI but always found something to eat. Didn't like the lack of choice for Dinner time. The AI drinks were very disappointing. Spirits and juices of poor quality. Entertainment at night was mixed. Really enjoyed the Sounds of Motown. These boys were great entertainers. One point that although Check in wrote all details from passport failed to wish me happy birthday, that was a 1st. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Have a sew view room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our first but definitely not our last visit to the Riu Belplaya, from arriving to leaving nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. We had paid slightly more for a sea view room and got room 910 on the 9th floor with wonderful views down the beach. The food was excellent and there was as much choice at lunch time as there was in the evening, so much choice that we found it difficult to decide what to have sometimes and the restaurant manager was always very welcoming and full of smiles. For 5 out of 7 days the weather was good, we had shorts and t-shirts on and were able to use the sunbeds around the pool from later in the morning as it was chilly first thing in the morning and at night (as you would expect at this time of year). We walked to the harbour at Banalmadena, this took us an hour, it was further than we thought but the centre of Torremolinos and San Miguel Street is only about 20 minutes walk away and buzzing with atmosphere. Thank You Riu Belplaya for a wonderful holiday, hope to be back there sooooooooon!!!!!!!!!!!
One small niggle, our room was close to the lift and you could here the loud chime of the lift going off constantly, even on floors below.

Room Tip: Best views and more privacy on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Yes 2 excellent holidays and we can recommend the Belplaya.
Got a very good welcome at Reception with a drink and fast check-in. We found our room was overlooking the hospital and lot of building work going on and cement mixer was running, so a quick return to Reception and they us the key for the other side of the block and that room was good. Seems to be Riu policy to give you alternative rooms when possible we think they are a good group of hotels.
All meals are good lots of choices so everyone should be able to eat ok. Staff in restaurant are good along with all the staff through out the hotel all greet you as you move about.
Room was clean and the maid kept it that way, she liked to make animals out of the clean towels and leave my wife's night dress in fancy shapes. Beds were firm which is to our taste and there were blankets for the winter. Room had a refrigerator and an ancient 4x3 TV set, was surprised at that, how ever it got BBC1, ITV1, CH4 and Film 4. Room had a safe which was large enough for my laptop and was free. Room had air conditioning which I guess will be good in summer also a ceiling fan. Heating not really necessary but would have been nice to raise temperature by 1 or 2 degrees in the evening.
Reception make the Wi-fi charges sound expensive by saying 30 euro a week or 5 euro a day, I took a ticket for a day but found it was in practice 24 hours usage. Down side was after a couple of days the system broke and was still not fixed when our weeks holiday was over. How ever we went next door to the Riu Costa Lago and found our credit could be used there, so we were able to keep contacts etc. over the internet.
If you are a tea drinker use the machine on the Terrace and make your own, the bar staff just haven't a clue on tea making.
As others have said the hotel a gets good entertainment act in on an evening, but if you are on first sitting for dinner you have a good couple of hours to sit in the bar/lounge before it. The one and only member of the entertainments team does not do the usual music for dancing and quiz or bingo one usually find in a hotel prior to the guest performer. You might think it better then to be second sitting for dinner unfortunately the bar/lounge is small and they can't get a seat. The one resident entertainment team member is a very good guy but you can't expect one person to do the day time and all evening, Riu should appoint another member or two to their staff.
Overall a great place to stay, I hope my few points are not off putting, we would stay at either of these 2 Riu hotels again.

Room Tip: The Torrelomos side gets the sun and a higher floor longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.