We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel let down by food & unwelcoming staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel let down by food & unwelcoming staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel last week.havin been to torremolinos twice before staying in the riu costa lago we decided to stay in the belplaya situated in front of costa lago .first impressions are good hotel is situated in lovely grounds right across the road from beach.had excellent room on 4th floor overlooking pool n sea.lots of sun beds round pool each day and a good seating area outside.our only real complaint was the food which we were very disappointed in.breakfast was good usual bacon eggs etc cereals the usual but the evening meal choices very poor.we only ate in evening there 3 times but all 3 times we were disappointed in wot was on offer.the other complaint we have is the bar staff both during the day & evenings ,not very welcoming sometimes seemed as if they cudnt b bothered to serve u and certainly without a smile.the alcohol drinks were very poor ,we know they are local spirits but not very good at all.one evening we asked if they cud make a mojito they said yes but we wud have 2 pay 7.95 ,which is quite disgusting as we were all inclusive and they had the ingredients there to make the drink but just wanted u to pay again.for the amount of money we paid to stay here instead of costa lago we were overall disappointed.if we went back to same area we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    321
    143
    37
    25
See reviews for
206
395
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

just returned from thr rui bel playa which we found more of a 2 star hotel than the advertisred 4.our room was located in a brilliant position with wrap round balcony but the rest of the room was run down and the enamel in the bath was split hence rust had set in. on speaking to the manager about it he said he knew but the hotel was full so he could not deal with it.
the food was of a poor standard and was aiways the same. the drinks were of a poor qaulity. the dress code in the dining room was non hygenic with people dining in shorts and vests even when it asked you in the hotel to please wear trousers. the management did not seem capable of stoping this. this was the first time we had been on a all inclusive holiday but if this the standard of hotel it will be the last. we have been in 6 riu hotels before and this was the worst by a long long way

Room Tip: ask for wrap round balcony over lookig the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

been going to this hotel for many years going again on 12th october. The staff are brilliant there always happy and will do everything they can to make your holiday good. The hotel is spotless,the food is good the swimming pool is very large they have a gym. The beach is across the road and you can walk for miles along the prom. busses stop outside the hotel so its easy to go up the town.The train station is around the corner so theres everything you want within easy reach of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel, and firstly I would like to point out that it is NOT in torremolinos, it is on the outskirts in a quiet area called playa mar. The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean too, entertainment was poor, food poor....... same same same , same breakfast ,lunch and dinner you didn't have to look , rooms are very big , but bathrooms are tiny ,loads of storage space , safe was 20 euros for the key, but it was returned to you when you check out. The entertainment during the day was aqua aerobics,mini golf ????? French boules, and .......the bingo, you were given 1 ticket and the numbers were called in 5 languages........zzzzzz , it was help yourself to beer,soft drinks, tea, coffee and wine , only problem I had was you only get a very small plastic cup for the beer, so 2 mouthfuls and you were empty !!!! surely they could give you a pint size disposable plastic cup.....(.just a thought), it does get a bit monotonous back and fore to the bar or self serve pump ! the staff were friendly enough. The clientele are mainly german,french, dutch the brits are the minority , I didn't have a problem with that except they aint very good at queueing, hence you were often stood, when they would walk straight past you to the front and get served, no problem with the sunbeds, I reckon the brits are worse for reserving them !!!, The beach across the road has dark sand but fabulous sunbeds with thick mattresses, 2 for 6 euros with a parasol thrown in, good bar with live music just down the road called kennedys with live music,. beer was good too, would I return no , not enough going on in and around the hotel, it just lacked something I cant put my finger on.We never saw our first choice holiday rep once, we didn't even have an invite to a welcome meeting, if they had 1, didn't need them ,so just as well .

Room Tip: low floors and you dont have to wait for the lift !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on 4 occasions and sadly we have seen a deterioration in the service and condition of the hotel. We reported a sharp spring protruding out of the matress on one of the beds and that the air conditioning was not cooling the room down. I reported this at 09:00 and again at 19:00 as nothing had been done. I spoke to reception on the second occasion only to be told that it would be fixed either that evening or the following morning! I declared where am I supposed to sleep as there was a real danger of the spring sticking in my hip and leg ( A sharp point was sticking up). They then managed to fix it. The air conditioning never worked. The sunbeds are looking a little saggy, I think some of them are in need of replacement. The pool towels are also looking a little thread bare, the towels In the room are ok though.

Some of the cups in the restaurant have cracks, and the food has now become very repetitive, which is great if you like grilled or fried fish.

On a positive note, the all inclusive is very good, the bars serve all sorts of drinks and cocktails which are freshly made.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with a sea view, if they charge extra for this, I wouldn't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic week in the Belplaya. We were told by friends that Torremolinos wasn't very nice to spend a holiday but it was great. This hotel is exceptional. The food which was plentiful, varied and everything we tried, delicious! All areas of this hotel were spotlessly clean and the rooms comfortable, apart from the AC which didn't work too well but the temperature was in the 30's. So, no complaints about this hotel, great location, delicious dining, clean and comfortable and happy, friendly staff. We would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

my wife and I visited the riu belplaya for a week september 8th travelling with jet2 on an allinclusive basis.We found the jet2 check in both in the uk and spain to be very efficient so the holiday began well.
the belplaya hotel its self is a bit dated but everything after that is pretty good this being largely due to the quality of the staff.
The bed room was pretty standard,with no particular view as the balcony over looked what appeared to be a derlic block of apartments and a rubbish skip but the room was spotless clean and pretty quiet and after sampling a rock hard pillow we made our own using a blanket we found in the ward robe the following day and without having to ask both pillows were replaced by the maid for softer ones which we thought was pretty good.
The restaurant food was veryvery good and the restaurant staff very curteous and the hotel manager was there every sitting to make sure everyone was happy a rare occurence in some hotels we have stopped in.
the pool was a salt water pool and felt cold to enter but after a few minutes became refreshing.some people never gave it a chance and dipped their fingers in but once in it was nice.
The entertainment staff were excellent without being in your face and bearing in mind they were entertaining several nationalities with different sense of humours they worked extremely hard and there were also some very good proffessional acts on .Unfortunately there are large areas of the concert room were the visibility is poor or none existent so you have to get in early to get a good seat.
The hotel has some very good touches such as the self service drinks machines supplying wines coffee beer and soft drinks which reduced the wait at the bar which is excellent and should be introduced in all allinclusive hotels..
The age of the clientel are mainly of the older generation we found with a lot of repeat guests returning year after year so the hotel must be doing something right as this group are usually hard task masters.
All in all if you are looking for a spotless hotel with very friendly staff, smoking friendly with good food and drink and entertainment this hotel is for you

Room Tip: if you want a room with a good view the rooms on theright wing appear to be better than the left
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.