We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

my wife and I visited the riu belplaya for a week september 8th travelling with jet2 on an allinclusive basis.We found the jet2 check in both in the uk and spain to be very efficient so the holiday began well.
the belplaya hotel its self is a bit dated but everything after that is pretty good this being largely due to the quality of the staff.
The bed room was pretty standard,with no particular view as the balcony over looked what appeared to be a derlic block of apartments and a rubbish skip but the room was spotless clean and pretty quiet and after sampling a rock hard pillow we made our own using a blanket we found in the ward robe the following day and without having to ask both pillows were replaced by the maid for softer ones which we thought was pretty good.
The restaurant food was veryvery good and the restaurant staff very curteous and the hotel manager was there every sitting to make sure everyone was happy a rare occurence in some hotels we have stopped in.
the pool was a salt water pool and felt cold to enter but after a few minutes became refreshing.some people never gave it a chance and dipped their fingers in but once in it was nice.
The entertainment staff were excellent without being in your face and bearing in mind they were entertaining several nationalities with different sense of humours they worked extremely hard and there were also some very good proffessional acts on .Unfortunately there are large areas of the concert room were the visibility is poor or none existent so you have to get in early to get a good seat.
The hotel has some very good touches such as the self service drinks machines supplying wines coffee beer and soft drinks which reduced the wait at the bar which is excellent and should be introduced in all allinclusive hotels..
The age of the clientel are mainly of the older generation we found with a lot of repeat guests returning year after year so the hotel must be doing something right as this group are usually hard task masters.
All in all if you are looking for a spotless hotel with very friendly staff, smoking friendly with good food and drink and entertainment this hotel is for you

Room Tip: if you want a room with a good view the rooms on theright wing appear to be better than the left
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    364
    169
    41
    29
See reviews for
222
458
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in the Riu Monica (Nerja) last year - the Belplaya, 1st - 12th September, while busier is certainly on a par.Excellent corner bedroom with wrap around balcony on the 5th floor - sun all day, wonderful sea view and spotlessly clean.Staff friendly and helpful.Food very good with a wide choice - disappointing that dress code rule (men) for dinner is not applied! Lovely walk into Torremolinos along the sea front or get the local bus from outside the hotel into the town centre, walk down through the shopping arcades to the sea front and stroll back. Very impressed with Torremolinos.

Room Tip: We chose a higher floor (5) large with wrap around balcony and sun all day - wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Beware Vueling flights: the bags were NOT included on our flights, € 35 per bag per flight to pay! Total € 140 for two suitcases ... And of course everything is to be paid when boarding.

From the airport, the taxi costs less than € 20, the hotel is only 9 km away.

The hotel is very clean, the service is very nice.
The rooms are spacious, all with balcony (great for smokers).
Do not adjust the air conditioning, only set it to ON: orders other than temperature are not active.
Take attention to the "sea view": the sea is on the side as the hotel is perpendicular to the beach ...

Ouch! The outdoor pool is closed for repairs ... during July and August!

The beach is 100 m after a boulevard to cross. But it is independent of the hotel: the chairs, umbrellas, drinks, etc.. are paying.

The food is varied and good, with fresh vegetables and fruits.

At dinner proper attire is more appropriate. The service and variety of food is excellent.

Dinner is possible at the Andalucian restaurant (reservations the day before): very good, with dishes that are not offered to the general restaurant.

The visit in Malaga center is very nice, you can see much more things by feet than by bus.
For a simple lunch prefer a bodega, cheaper and clean, in the small streets.

For smokers, beware : cigarettes are cheaper in town than at the duty free ! € 4.7 in Tabacos, € 5.3 at the airport ...

It was a pleasant trip for my wife and me, rather calm ; take a walk to Torremolinos center, you will find many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from Riu Belplaya Hotel and our experince was brillant. We stayed from 1st September until 12th September 2013. Although we have stayed in many hotels in Spain, we have found Riu Belplaya Hotel to be the best by far. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent and the staff were friendly and very professional, especially Felix, who always had a smile on his face and provided a high standard of service at all times.
Josh, Dori and the entertainment crew worked relentlessly, day and night, to keep the guests entertained. The reception and management team were always on hand to deal with any requests we had and we would like to give a special mention to Pepe, Ricardo and Diogo.
Stunning gardens surround the hotel and the gardener Marlos keeps them beautiful and in pristine condition and well maintained.
A wide variety of food is offered that would cater for eveyones taste and we would go as far to say that it is the best we have had in any inclusive.
We are hoping to return next year with our family to share another excellent experience at the Riu Belplayer. A big thank you to all of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After staying in the Riu Cancun in Mexico, we were determined to find a hotel of similar calibre. However we were very disappointed. If the Riu Cancun was a four star, then in comparison this is a very poor three star. Luckily we were given a very large end room with a huge balcony alongside the hotel so we could see right along the beach in both directions. The staff were friendly and the hotel spotless. The beach was just over the road.
However the room and beach towels were very thin. The two lifts were not adequate and twice we had to climb 7 floors because they were not working. The food was very disappointing - very little choice at any of the meals. I was especially disappointed to find there were no bowls of fruit for breakfast - I have never come across this before in any hotel.
There were 2 sittings for dinner. We were assigned a table on the first sitting at 6.45pm but when we arrived in the restaurant we were told there were no seats available for us. We were booked into the poolside restaurant but settled for second sitting. We found that as 6pm is the hottest time of the day we were reluctant to leave our sunbeds at this time. 8.45pm was much more suitable especially if you have been out all day. After dinner we found it difficult to get an outside seat as the two areas available were very small.
We never watched the entertainment so cannot comment. We often had to wait in a queue to order drinks as there may only be one bar staff working. We were expecting our mini bar to be stocked so we could sit on our balcony. Another disappointment was that there are no outside lights on the hotel so if you want to play cards or do puzzles after 8pm on the balcony it is far too dark.
The location was at the quiet end. We walked into the town up the long hill, up the steps and we tried the lift. The lift was a waste of time as there were so many steps at both ends. The train station and bus station are about a 20mins walk away. We caught the train to Benalmadena but as both stations are far out, it was quicker to walk back.
I think that the classification of hotels in comparison to other countries is misleading.

Room Tip: You must ask for a side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Watch our for David the catering superisor. My partner went to the outside bar to get 2 drinks as he was coming back with the drinks he was met by David who asked are you English or German he then said in limited English you are not allowed in here and pulled the drinks from my partners hands. The bar which is used for prebooking wasn't clear on getting drinks and now has got a restriction on entry There was no apology and he will now be let loose on someone else.Watch out for David

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to Spain to have a nice beach-and-sightseeing holiday with our kid and since we usually have good experiences with Riu we decided to go for the Riu Belplaya. The big drawback for us with this hotel was the fact that it is not really a great hotel if you have younger children. The usual clientele of this hotel seems to be 50 and above and it really shows. They had a couple of activities for small children, but our 12 year old was almost the only kid of his age there so there were no activities for him planned. Fortunately the staff was quite lenient and let him participate in the "grown-up" activities, so our kid is now an expert on shuffleboard, bould and bingo. Still he enjoyed it and that is the main thing.
The hotel itself is quite clean, rooms are also o.k., unfortunately the surroundings can become quite noisy. There is a discoteque just around the corner and when it closes the guests of that discoteque seem to have a tendency to bring forth the music into the streets by singing quite loud (and usually well out of tune).
Food could be better, we were there for a week and the variation of the buffets is almost minimal.
The staff is extremely helpful, so if you need anything special just ask them and they will support you as much as they can - and everyone at the reception seems to be multilingual, which impressed me to no end.

Room Tip: Get a higher room so that the noise from the streets has a chance to dissipate. Be aware that if in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.