We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-week stay at a quality hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One-week stay at a quality hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for one week in August 2013. I was very impressed from the start as the reception staff were very helpful when we arrived at the hotel. The reception staff remained helpful and were always on hand to help with any inquiries.

The food was the stand-out attribute at the hotel. Although it was my first time at a self-service restaurant I really enjoyed the experience as it allowed me to sample each of the different dishes on order. Both hot and cold breakfasts were on offer, I would recommend the freshly cooked omelettes to anyone! The chef was also on hand to point out what was in each of the different omelettes which was very handy. Other foods on offer included pastries and fresh fruits as well as a cooked breakfast. The only negative in terms of breakfast came in terms of the coffee (flasks) which was often extremely strong, to negate this problem I would suggest making your own using the containers of coffee available.
Lunch and dinner were superb also. For a self-service restaurant there were many waiting staff on hand to clear your empty plates away, this kept the restaurant looking clean and tidy at all times. They were also available should the drinks machines stop working, replacing empty barrels with fresh ones. Again the range of foods on offer was mind-blowing, quality was not flouted for quantity here. Each of the three tables served something different, the cold table generally stocked salads and cold rice dishes, the hot table served the dishes of that particular day and the chef's table served something slightly different, fish steak in sauce, paella or something else traditional in Spain.
There is also an 'Andaluz' restaurant serving Andaluz style food typical of the region that the hotel is in. This restaurant overlooks the pool and is smaller and quieter than the main dining area, perfect for a special meal such as a birthday or anniversary.

The facilities were fantastic. There was plenty to do in the daytime with a small gym offering a change to work out those excess calories consumed in the restaurant! There was also a pool table (2 euros per game) and a table-tennis table for those of a sporting nature. The pool was slightly disappointing, although it was of a fair size, the number of people spreading the length of the pool made swimming near-impossible. This was not helped by the fact that the 'deep' end is split across the width, not the length of the pool.

The daytime entertainment was excellent. A small group of entertainers provided a number of opportunities to get involved, a great chance to meet other guests that were staying at the hotel. Water-volleyball, darts, killer pool and mini-golf are all the activities that were provided during my stay.
In contrast, we found the evening entertainment to be disappointing. The entertainment room was warm and clammy which did not help, however the entertainment itself was a little uninspiring. There was no karaoke and the dancing, if there was any, always ended quite early or petered out to an automated system, rather than somebody playing or singing live.

The location is ideal if you'd rather be in the calmer half of Torremolinos. The hotel is on the sea front, perfect for visits to the beach! It is, however, a fifteen minute walk from the more lively part of the resort. The harbour is one and a half hours walk away from the hotel but is a must-see visitors attraction.

Overall, this was a lovely week break with plenty to see and do. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any families considering a break in the south of Spain

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    344
    154
    38
    28
See reviews for
215
426
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We cant say much more than the previous good reviews, especially mollycat21
3. Management went out of their way to make our stay special and could not do enough for you. Reception staff excellent and cleaning staff worked their socks off, moving everything daily to clean and leaving all our personal belongings tiday and neat. Food brilliant, and my favourite, although not normally an ice-cream over, was the mint choc chip, which was to die for. All in all I would recommend for a well looked after relaxing holiday. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just back from a two week stay,with my wife & daughter.Had a great time.the place is spotless.Staff are very helpfull.The food was very nice,though can get a bit repetetive at times.
The bar staff wizz through the evening queues,so never waiting very long.Also a nice little touch of free bar snacks in the bar of an evening (nuts & olives).The pool towels supplied by the hotel are a great help,fresh every day,do not even have to leave a deposit like most hotels.Only deposit is a 20euro deposit for the safe key.Which is refunded on checkout.Also,large bottles of water are free to.The beach opposite is sandy & very nice.Plenty of restaurants in walking distance if you want a change.The entertainment team,Josh & Dori were great.Always getting people involved in the games,rifle shooting,darts,pool etc.Weather was excellant.Cannot fault it.Highly recommended.
Mick. Essex

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the sea & the pool.That was the better spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here 2nd august to 16th august with my mum and 2 children aged 12 and 7 and my nephew aged 11. Absolutely loved it. Hotel spotless and just across the road from beach. Kids met loads of friends and we met some lovely people. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was served as follows breakfast in restaurant 8 am til 10.30 am. Continental breakfast in pool bar 10.30 til 12 noon. Lunch in main restaurant 1 pm to 3 pm. Lunch in pool bar 2 pm to 3.30 pm. Snacks I.e. Cakes and bread and cold meats served in pool bar 4.30 to 5 pm. Dinner in two settings in main restaurant 7.15 pm first setting and then 8.45 pm second setting. Lidia kids club animation worked really hard from 11 am and was still playing with the kids at 11.30 at night. Joshua and dori, adult animation work really hard too. Overall had a brilliant time and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

we have recently stayed at the hotel riu belplayer we were very impressed on arrival and continued to be impressed throughout our fortnights holiday, the very helpful staff couldn't do enough for us ,the room was large and cleaned to perfection daily with a lovely balcony view, the food was very good and unlike a lot of hotels wasn't repeated weekly,the animation team were very good and kept the guests entertained throughout the day without going over the top, we would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having spent holidays in many Riu hotels over the years, we felt confident when booking Riu Belplaya for this year's holiday. We stayed for two weeks at the Riu Belplaya in July and were not disappointed in the hotel, We loved the location of the hotel - just across from the lovely promenade and beach.We had paid extra for a side sea view and had a room on the fifth floor on the same side as the hotel entrance. The room was very spacious, which was ideal for the three of us. It was cleaned to a very high standard as part of the daily maid service and bedding was changed very two or three days. The only slightly disappointing point was that the sun was still on our balcony early evening, making it very warm , when we would normally have sat out with a pre dinner drink. Public areas were also kept spotlessly clean and gardens well maintained. The pool area was lovely and we always managed to get sunbeds and umbrella, no matter the time of day. Food was plentiful, varied and of a very good standard - as was the wine on tap. We did not go to the evening entertainment so can't really comment on that but it was evident that the hotel's entertainment team worked very hard - they were all so friendly too. The staff at reception and in the bars and dining areas were all very helpful and pleasant. Managers were often visible in the dining rooms and bars and took time to chat to guests.
This was my first visit to Costa del Sol and Torremolinos but I would dearly love to go back sometime soon and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we were at the belplaya for a one week stay and overall we were very pleased with the property we were given room 135 witch was massive and the housekeeping staff did a wondefull job keeping it clean.. the food was a very high standard and was always well stocked and presented to a first class standard the staff were very attentive
The lounge bar did get very overcrowded at night so we used bars outside of the complex, the self service pumps are a good idea saves queues at the bar ... bar staff were all friendly and polite .
The pool area never got overcrowded always plenty of sunbeds although people reserved with towels (and removed by the lifeguards the majority of the people that did this were germans who were not impressed by finding thier towels removed :) .
The location of the hotel is great 2 mins to the beach and nice local bars oppersite i can recomend the german paddy and bar one .... taxi rank is located directly oppersite the complex if you wish to go into benlalmadena or
one bit of advice the anderlucian night is a must you have to pre book one night in advance the food id outstanding, king prawns,salmon, steak,fish,kebabs, salads spanish stews, seafood rice... and traditional spanish desserts . chocolate truffels are to die for .
overall a good stay i would stay here again ,good vfm

Room Tip: ask for a pool view to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.