We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“riu belplaya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #18 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“riu belplaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we were at the belplaya for a one week stay and overall we were very pleased with the property we were given room 135 witch was massive and the housekeeping staff did a wondefull job keeping it clean.. the food was a very high standard and was always well stocked and presented to a first class standard the staff were very attentive
The lounge bar did get very overcrowded at night so we used bars outside of the complex, the self service pumps are a good idea saves queues at the bar ... bar staff were all friendly and polite .
The pool area never got overcrowded always plenty of sunbeds although people reserved with towels (and removed by the lifeguards the majority of the people that did this were germans who were not impressed by finding thier towels removed :) .
The location of the hotel is great 2 mins to the beach and nice local bars oppersite i can recomend the german paddy and bar one .... taxi rank is located directly oppersite the complex if you wish to go into benlalmadena or
one bit of advice the anderlucian night is a must you have to pre book one night in advance the food id outstanding, king prawns,salmon, steak,fish,kebabs, salads spanish stews, seafood rice... and traditional spanish desserts . chocolate truffels are to die for .
overall a good stay i would stay here again ,good vfm

Room Tip: ask for a pool view to get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    281
    126
    34
    23
See reviews for
177
354
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

just returned from a week at the riu belplaya hotel in spain. I was looking forward to the break especially after reading all the reviews. However i was disappointed with the attitude and complete rudeness of the other holiday guests. Us english seemed the only people that had any manners at all. I was proud to be british.... Also be aware that the all inclusive finishes when you give your keys back to reception. We had to checkout at 12 noon but wern't actually being picked up to go to the airport until 1am the next morning. We were told that we would have to make other arrangements to eat and drink for the rest of the day. We were offered to pay for food and drink and the use of a room to freshen up in. The holiday had already cost enough money so we were reluctant to give anymore and ended up staying up in the town for the rest of the day which was not the plan for our last day. It was only by luck we had some spending money left which we had saved for presents for the family which we then had to spend on food and drink. Also you are allocated a table for your entire stay for your evening meal that is until someone they like better comes along and wants your table then you are made to move. Unfortunatly this whole episode has put me off of going to spain again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently spent a week all inclusive at this hotel. The staff are so friendly especially David & Juan in the restaurant, they really went out of their way to help. The room was large, clean, beds made every day, clean towels everyday, bed linen also changed. Air conditioning and fan in room.
Food was plentiful and of a great variety. Every where was spotlessly clean. My only gripe is they allow people to put towels on sun beds even though they have notices clearly stating its not allowed. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the bus or train if going into other towns, much cheaper than taxis who drive as break neck spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently went for a weeks holiday at the Riu Belplaya on an all-inclusive package. I absolutely cannot find a fault with this hotel. We went with another couple with two young babies and the staff could not o enough to accommodate us. The rooms were spacious and clean with a sea view and air conditioning - the only downside was the very out of date and weak hair dryers. The food was outstanding - as much as you like and with so many options available for every meal, no one could go hungry! I recommend the Andalucian restaurant (also included in the all- inclusive package) which is full of fresh seafood and salads. The location was excellent as it is across the road from the beach with a wide range of bars and restaurants. All the bars we visited in the evening were very reasonably priced with a bottle of corona being €3.50 and cocktails around €5-6 each.

I will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone and I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well just returned once again from the Bel Player, things have changed and not for the good, yes staff as friendly as always, spotlessly clean Hotel, but the food and the drinks have gone down hill, plenty of food in main restaurant but very poor quality, on our main Saturday night all there was to offer was burgers and they had been cut in half, Spanish type sausage diced and fried on the themed counter they had Turkey slices needles to say the queues for it was right round the restaurant it took about 15 minuets or more to get served and then you got just one small slice, most of the time the help yourself drink machines stayed empty for some hours, the wine tap outside the reception area has now been removed, and the wine in the main restaurant was very watered down, the pool bar food was very, very basic this year just no solid food at all, but if you like salad you will be over whelmed with it, I had a long conversation with the Manager who I have got to know well, and he said his hands are tied and that he has to do what head office tell him to do, for those of you that have not been before you most probably think it is fine but for a regular to the Riu Bel Player and as a group it is not, sadly we will not be returning there have been many changes, this year I could go on longer but I think you get the idea

Room Tip: send an email, they will help if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spent 9 nights in this Hotel and agree with most of the reviews, however I must comment on the staff - they were excellent!
We requested a high floor with sea view and got exactly that, the view was amazing.
We had friends joining us for the last 3 days of our holiday and they were celebrating their 1st wedding anniversary. We requested that they be close to us - the girl on reception advised that they were in another building, but she would see what she could do. Low and behold, they got a room on the same floor as us and just a few doors down. Also, on their first evening, the Matre'D pointed us to a table which was set with candles etc and a bottle of champagne arrived at the table too. Very impressed!!
The food was very good and varied, no need to get bored at all.
Air conditioning was poor and as the weather was extremely hot, we tended to spend very little time in the room.
I do agree with the comments on the smoking areas - outdoors there is very little space allocated to non smokers, however, I was amazed at how many people did smoke!
Overall, I think this is a very good Hotel and would not hesitate to return for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I’m convinced that this is the absolutely best hotel for couples and families if you are planning a relaxing stay in Torremolinos and you want great food, service and location. We were extremely happy with our stay and will definitely visit again!

Our family of five have just returned after spending nine nights at this fantastic hotel. We ranged in age from 9-59, and we had booked two side sea view rooms. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice young receptionist, who spoke very good English (in all, communicating in English is no problem whatsoever at this hotel). She took good care of us and took the time to answer our questions in a friendly way, making us feel welcome. We got two rooms, which were next to each other – great! And the view was fantastic! Spend a little extra to get the side sea view room – it is worth it.

The rooms were of standard, good quality, but the cleanliness was not standard; it was excellent. Everything was very clean, even the veranda was cleaned daily. By the way, this was true for the whole hotel. Not once during our stay did I encounter unclean toilets or similar, and it is obvious that this hotel takes hygiene seriously.

We were on an All Inclusive board, and at this hotel that really meant all inclusive. As I understood it there was no fine print, and not once during our stay did I need to pay for anything extra. Everything was included! There was a 20 Euro deposit for the room safe, but this was returned in full when I returned the key at the end of our stay. By the way; All Inclusive is a term that can have many different meanings – from Some Inclusive, but of poor quality, to Everything Inclusive, and of good quality. This hotel is definitely of the latter category, and time and again we were astounded at both the sheer quantity and variety of food available, and of the quality. I would not have expected more at a major five star hotel! The food was so fresh, and the presentation so delicious looking that we definitely ate more than we should have! Much of the food was prepared right in front of us at the buffet, so the hot food was FRESH. To us, the hygiene also looked very good, and we did not once think that we would not risk eating something. We tried it all, from the seafood to fresh salads to ice cubes and ice cream, and not once did we have an upset stomach. Thumbs up for the hygiene! We also tried the specialty Andalucían restaurant buffet, and it is highly recommended. The atmosphere is more relaxed; it is not as hectic as the regular buffet. The regular is more child-friendly, though, but maybe you can arrange for an adult-only evening if you are traveling with children? Breakfast was also excellent, very varied selection of everything, and the scrambled eggs were made of real eggs! Right in front of us! I jokingly say that you can tell the quality of a hotel by the quality of the scrambled eggs; in this case it is certainly true. The eggs were as excellent as the rest of the stay.

As you can probably tell, we really enjoyed our stay at the Riu Belplaya. Both the location, food and rooms were very good. What really sets this hotel apart, though, is the service. I have never gotten better service anywhere! From the very service minded and friendly people at the reception, the head waiter who took really great care of us and has a great memory, to the staff everywhere who always had a smile for us, were attentive and gave great service in all things – no concern was too great or too small, and every little thing was handled quickly and professionally. The friendliness didn’t seem awkward or strained – every member of staff seemed to really want what’s best for us, and to us it seemed like the staff really enjoys working at the Riu Belplaya! To top it all off, the assistant hotel manager, Diogo, took a very active role in the daily running of the hotel; he seemingly was everywhere at once, took the time to talk to the guests, and time and again made sure we were satisfied with our stay. He really went above and beyond what one could expect, and I’ve never experienced anything like it!

On the last night of our stay I told him that we had never before been this happy with a stay at any hotel, ever – and it is true. Riu Belplaya – we’ll be back! We have already started planning our next visit!

Room Tip: The sea view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.