We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from Riu Belplaya and and we can say that it was one of the best holidays we have ever had.All the staff are so good and helpful and the place is spotless.The entertainment does favour the Germans but everything else was great,the food was very good and a good mixture of meats every meal.One of the entertainment team was called Josh and he did a one man show ,he was brilliant and was very funny.The bar staff also do a great job never having to wait to get served,we can't wait to return to this great hotel.

Room Tip: The room we had was a side sea view on the fifth floor and it was very quiet we never any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    315
    139
    37
    25
See reviews for
205
388
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

just returned on sunday after a lazy week. as this was all inclusive, you sometimes get treated second class but we found the bar staff all really nice smilley and polite. the food was very good and there was always something for everyone.nice to bookin at the poolside restaurent they only a nights notice our room looked over the pool and had aside sea view which was lovely,it was kept very clean. we got the train from the airport to la colina station great value only 3and ahalf euro.you had to walk down the hill to the hotel as there were no taxis around but it only takes 10 mins. walking on the front was great its a lovely coastline. if you walk to the marina it will take you one hour if you are just strolling.yes we would return no problem.we made some great friends

Room Tip: i think all rooms are much the same having the pool is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel with two friends.We go away together every year and always try to find a value for money holiday.I can honestly say. this hotel is great good food ,good drinks friendly staff and very clean.As their was three of us we needed a big room and this we got it had a lovely sea view .We didn't have any problems when we were there but i know if we had have done it would have been sorted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was travelling with another couple and had booked a single room. When we arrived the friendly receptionist told me that she had upgraded me to a double room with balcony next to my friends. The room was clean and spacious. It was also very quiet. The food was varied and all of reasonable quality. Wine was available on tap. It was fairly full but we still had no problem finding sun loungers. Also service in the pool bar was quick. Would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pros-

Great atmosphere, was my first AI hol so was worried it would be chavvy and overrun with screaming kids. It was fab- a great selection of food (I'm veggie)- breakfast a mix of continental and hot- I'd recommend the Tortilla Espanol , churros and the German breads. Favourite lunches include the Gazpacho, casseroles, salad, pastas and potato dishes. Dinner was different every night- loved the couscous, ratatouille and lentil stew, not to mention the ice cream selection for dessert! Swimming pool area was nice and clean, entertainment was hilarious and was a great mix of guests from around the world. Friendly staff and great service! Would definitely return!

Cons-
The mocktails and wine were watered down (however the bar across the road is v reasonable should you want to venture out). Bar area got a bit cramped of a night, especially around 9pm. My single room was a bit dark and one day, I even had the builders sitting outside my window having a fag break but they did offer to swap my room. Bed was lumpy but swapped with my family for one night and their double room bed was a lot better. AC in the double room was awful but in my single room, it was fine. Also, when the entertainment of a night finished, they played the same Motown Chartbusters CD every night till 12.30 and I got sick of hearing The Temptations every single night. A change of music would've been great!

Room Tip: the end of the corridor is nice and quiet, especially if you have a single room. 120 is good for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband visited the Belplaya for 4 nights for our anniversary at the beginning of June, the weather was amazing and the pool area is a sun trap. Our room was lovely, an end room with a sea view and a large balcony. Food was good but we also enjoyed eating out too, a trip to Benalmadena marina is a must, 15 euros each way in a taxi. Staff were very helpful apart from one in the pool bar who denied 2 ladys a piece of cake as they had checked out, also the lifeguard spent his days in the pool bar and not by the pool. The entertainment bar is small and crowded and if your not in early enough you won't get a seat or not one that faces the stage anyway. The location is great just a short transfer and there is a mini market and bars close by. Very clean, and there was a room to leave your luggage after check out although no shower room. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from our 5th visit to the Belplaya on 7th June but our previous visits have been during the winter period.The hotel is very well run in all departments but when it is full there is not enough room to relax.
There are 2 sittings for dinner and when you come out from the 2nd sitting the entertainment lounge which has the only bar is standing room only.The only alternative is a few seats in reception and a smelly smoking area between reception and the pool area.
What is now the smoking area should be extended into a comfortable lounge with its own bar which provides an alternative for guests who enjoy a more relaxing atmosphere.
During our stay we noticed a smartly dressed couple of a certain age who could not find a seat never mind queue at the bar which was 3 deep.They simply retired to their room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.