We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Torremollinos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #17 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Sheffield United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Visit to Torremollinos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel is set on the seafront in Playamar, Torremollinos. Standard of food was excellent throughout my weeks stay. Room was a twin on 8th floor with side seaview. Rooms are comfortable with UK channels now included on TV's in each room. Local bars and restaurants are close by if you fancy a change from the all inclusive offered at the hotel and an abundance of reasonable restaurants are available along the sea front. Train service nearby runs to each of resorts on Costa Del Sol at reasonable prices and local bus service also available near hotel. Nice sea front with palms breaking the areas of sand.

You can also arrange to visit Gibralter where you can happily spend those English pounds you have . This appears to give better value than the euro does. Well worth a visit and steeped in British history.

Room Tip: High rooms provide good seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    285
    128
    34
    23
See reviews for
179
357
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a weeks good holiday in a good class hotel, rooms a very good standard and a good size worth paying a little extra for sea view.The food is of good standard and all the staff from start to finish are hard working and very helpful.Yes some say hotel is a little tired but unless your a hotel inspector why would you notice, I was there on holiday and not to pick fault with every little thing.So if you want a relaxing break in a decent hotel in a good location please go and enjoy.We will not hesitate to return

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights here, 24th - 29th April 2013.
Our first impressions of the hotel were good. The staff on reception were very friendly but not so efficient as they made mistakes with our booking. The room was clean but very tired looking. The food was average compared to other hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Belplaya hotel from 27 April - 04 May 2013. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday. The food was good with a wide choice and always fresh and plentyful even when a large number of diners were present. The staff were friendly and helpful, always ensuring that everything was ok. The hotel from our prespective is best suited for elderley people/couples and families as it was quiet. If you are a young couple or group wanting nightlife and entertainments then we would say this hotel is not suited for you. We were after a hassle free, quiet relaxing break and that is just what we got.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the sea view as its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just spent a week here, 21st - 28th April, wish we were still there.
Hotel good, staff good, food good, rooms good and entertainment good. No complaints what so ever and will recommend it to everyone. Added to this the weather was really nice, the bus into the centre stops just outside the hotel, the taxi rank is over the road and the train is about 15 minutes stroll away. This all added up to an excellent short break and I am certain we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed with a friend for a week a Riu from 15th -21st April. I went all inclusive. In summary a very well presented and organised hotel, a solid 4 stars for Riu

Positives
-Good Selection of foods and flexible times
-Good Facilities, Swimming pool, Gym
-Well Trained staff, Hotel Manager, chap with a mustache was excellent, so was the assistant manager
-Clean rooms
-Plenty of Sun beds
-Good entertainment in evenings
- Good entertainment during the day. They have a guy dedicated and he goes round getting folks involved in various activities
-Unlimited Drinks day and evenings! - Excellent Bar near swimming pool serving wide selection of drinks alcoholic and non
-(note the bar in the evenings can get very busy)

Negatives - (quite minor in the grand scheme)
-Wifi restricted to use only in downstairs lounge
-No kettle in bedroom
- Outdated system of Safe/security - You have to ask reception for a key to access the safe and put a deposit of 20 Euro which is refundable at the end.
- A slight criticism of the rooms, the walls are paper thin and prone to noise if you have noisy neighbours
- I would have expected a Sauna for a 4 star


Special notes
- This hotel is suited to retired holiday seekers. This is not a hotel for young people, sadly.
- The room with a sea view must be ordered - we ordered thinking it was a standard sea view room but wasnt
- The hotel is close to airport. There are shuttles to the hotel but we only found out later on whhich are in the region of 2-3 Euro. taxi to hotel is 18 Euro
- They do trips to various sight seeing places - We missed the Marbella trip so we went by ourselves for the day - its very cheap. The bus to Marbella from Torremolinos Bus station is 4.50 Euro, it takes 1 hour. about 40km. A must is also Puerto Benus - Marbella with the Yacht Marina its 7km away but in Marbella

Good luck and im sure you'll enjoy your stay at Riu

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

just back from 14 days all inc from 12-16 April 2013-arrived there on 2 sticks and at low ebb-this hotel provided perfect relaxation for us two 70 and 67 year olds-we have stayed in some of the worlds best hotels- Mandarin in Hong Kong and Shangri-La in Bangkock-we spent 14 days in this hote-l Riu Belplaya - relaxing and eating very well in this best value for holiday ever- First Choice ought to be very proud to have found such a hotel at a really competitive price-this hotel has excellent management with special praise going to the very young assistant manager-working with 1 hand in a sling because of a damaged arm-he is an obvious hgh flyer in the hotel services industry-my brother in law and his wife -by coincidence-were in the much larger Sol Principe Hotel-their 2nd stay there but will switch to this hotel next year because of what they experienced in one evening of dining with us in the Belplaya.
We both could have stayed for a 3rd all inclusive week which speaks to the excellence of their dining room- this hotel put me back on my feet and kicked off my recovery - which has continued since I returned home;since we started holidaying in 1972 we always had a rule-Never Go Back to the same place-we both would break that Rule if First Choice and the Belplaya repeat the deal

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have no "views"-we never spent time in them so it didnt matter to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.