We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Belplaya hotel from 27 April - 04 May 2013. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard everyday. The food was good with a wide choice and always fresh and plentyful even when a large number of diners were present. The staff were friendly and helpful, always ensuring that everything was ok. The hotel from our prespective is best suited for elderley people/couples and families as it was quiet. If you are a young couple or group wanting nightlife and entertainments then we would say this hotel is not suited for you. We were after a hassle free, quiet relaxing break and that is just what we got.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the sea view as its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    315
    139
    37
    25
See reviews for
205
388
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have just spent a week here, 21st - 28th April, wish we were still there.
Hotel good, staff good, food good, rooms good and entertainment good. No complaints what so ever and will recommend it to everyone. Added to this the weather was really nice, the bus into the centre stops just outside the hotel, the taxi rank is over the road and the train is about 15 minutes stroll away. This all added up to an excellent short break and I am certain we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed with a friend for a week a Riu from 15th -21st April. I went all inclusive. In summary a very well presented and organised hotel, a solid 4 stars for Riu

Positives
-Good Selection of foods and flexible times
-Good Facilities, Swimming pool, Gym
-Well Trained staff, Hotel Manager, chap with a mustache was excellent, so was the assistant manager
-Clean rooms
-Plenty of Sun beds
-Good entertainment in evenings
- Good entertainment during the day. They have a guy dedicated and he goes round getting folks involved in various activities
-Unlimited Drinks day and evenings! - Excellent Bar near swimming pool serving wide selection of drinks alcoholic and non
-(note the bar in the evenings can get very busy)

Negatives - (quite minor in the grand scheme)
-Wifi restricted to use only in downstairs lounge
-No kettle in bedroom
- Outdated system of Safe/security - You have to ask reception for a key to access the safe and put a deposit of 20 Euro which is refundable at the end.
- A slight criticism of the rooms, the walls are paper thin and prone to noise if you have noisy neighbours
- I would have expected a Sauna for a 4 star


Special notes
- This hotel is suited to retired holiday seekers. This is not a hotel for young people, sadly.
- The room with a sea view must be ordered - we ordered thinking it was a standard sea view room but wasnt
- The hotel is close to airport. There are shuttles to the hotel but we only found out later on whhich are in the region of 2-3 Euro. taxi to hotel is 18 Euro
- They do trips to various sight seeing places - We missed the Marbella trip so we went by ourselves for the day - its very cheap. The bus to Marbella from Torremolinos Bus station is 4.50 Euro, it takes 1 hour. about 40km. A must is also Puerto Benus - Marbella with the Yacht Marina its 7km away but in Marbella

Good luck and im sure you'll enjoy your stay at Riu

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

just back from 14 days all inc from 12-16 April 2013-arrived there on 2 sticks and at low ebb-this hotel provided perfect relaxation for us two 70 and 67 year olds-we have stayed in some of the worlds best hotels- Mandarin in Hong Kong and Shangri-La in Bangkock-we spent 14 days in this hote-l Riu Belplaya - relaxing and eating very well in this best value for holiday ever- First Choice ought to be very proud to have found such a hotel at a really competitive price-this hotel has excellent management with special praise going to the very young assistant manager-working with 1 hand in a sling because of a damaged arm-he is an obvious hgh flyer in the hotel services industry-my brother in law and his wife -by coincidence-were in the much larger Sol Principe Hotel-their 2nd stay there but will switch to this hotel next year because of what they experienced in one evening of dining with us in the Belplaya.
We both could have stayed for a 3rd all inclusive week which speaks to the excellence of their dining room- this hotel put me back on my feet and kicked off my recovery - which has continued since I returned home;since we started holidaying in 1972 we always had a rule-Never Go Back to the same place-we both would break that Rule if First Choice and the Belplaya repeat the deal

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have no "views"-we never spent time in them so it didnt matter to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent a week here April 21-28 arrived at lunch time everything was ready for us a welcome drink - room was ready and straight into lunch. Hotel is really well run and staff cannot do enough for you. Food is buffet style but saying that you had a very good choice, the bedrooms were cleaned and changed daily - the maid service was excellent. The hotel caters for young and old alike and being just on the outside of town you are just 10 minutes walk to the center and more bustling of the town.This hotel is well worth a look.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just returned from one of the most relaxing weeks holiday we have had in along time. The hotel though a little tired, was spotlessly clean. The food was varied and always hot. The staff were some of the nicest we have come across in Spain. The manager and his assistant, were always available , and made themselves known to you as soon after arrival as was possible, nothing was ever a bother. We travel a lot, and have stayed in some really top hotels, but for what we paid, this was superb value for money. We have already decided to go back early next year to recharge our batteries.
If you are looking for high standards of service with a smile, this will be for you, though more suited to older couples.
A special thanks to Deogo, the assistant manager, I think this young man will go far.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a side sea view room, we did and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spacious room - I paid for the sea view and got a slightly larger room on the 3rd floor. Reasonable shower, comfortable bed and an OK TV.

Food is buffet style, but a huge variety and the quality seemed fine.

Outside, there's a covered terrace area and then a pool area. Both have self-serve bars with Cruz Campo beer on tap as well as a variety of other drinks.

Only went to one free evening event, but it was fine - and was well attended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.