We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Devon, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A nice hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period although went home before New Year so missed the celebrations.

The hotel is much nicer inside than it looks on photographs. The reception area is large and welcoming and the room we stayed in (115) was large. The only disappointment with the room was the size of the bathroom ! Compared to the bedroom is was tiny !! We did find it hard to get the right temperature in the shower - one minute boiling hot and then freezing cold. Other than that the room was fine! Bed comfortable - extra blankets in wardrobe and pillows on request. Plenty of storage and quite a large fridge compared to some hotels. Shame there was no kettle but we knew this and took our own so that was fine.

The hotel, grounds and everywhere are kept very clean. It was all lovely. It was great to have the drink stations so you could help yourself to tea, coffee, juices, water, lager. It was such a shame that the drinks station by the pool was not is use as we found it a pain carrying hot cups of coffee down two sets of stairs ! Presumably this station was closed as the hotel was not full (?)

The entertainment was ok - the entertainment chap worked very hard. Shame it didnt start until very late - 9.30 pm I think or it could have been later? Not enough seats in the entertainment lounge but you could sit in the main reception area which was still pleasant. Again a drinks station in the entertainment room where you could also help yourself to wine which saved you waiting at the bar.

The food was good - plenty of choices. Our only dislike was having to choose to eat at either 6 pm or 8 pm. We found 6 pm too early and 8 pm too late. The Gala Christmas Dinner was very nice.

It is for this reason alone we would probably not return to the hotel.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even down to the maids.

The hotel seems to cater slightly more for the Dutch and German in our opinion and on the last couple of days before our return home, there was probably a 85/15 split (English being 15%).

You could purchase wifi at a pretty reasonable rate but beware you can only use it in the reception area. If you want to make a personal call using Skype for example this would be very difficult.

Overall, as long as you dont mind what time you eat on the evening, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    320
    143
    37
    25
See reviews for
206
393
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The bel playa caters for a lot of older people but the atmosphere was great food excellent and my wife,daughter and I had a lovely 5 days. Unfortunately a lot of attractions were closed but we did go to Gibraltar which was as cold as England and again cable car was closed but tour by van was excellent and Paul was a great guide.
Reception staff at the bel playa were lovely as we're the others

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just back from a week at this Hotel; Can only say how wonderful it was the staff are 1st class;. Food excellent and the rooms spotless . they could not do enough for you. four of us went and we were all more than happy with our stay;we will be going back again .

Room Tip: stayed in rooms 101 and 102 on the 1st floor loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks in the summer, great family hotel. Food was great plenty of choice snacks in the pool bar were served all day plenty of choice. Busy pool area need to be up to get a sunbed. Entertainment was fab the kids loved it and plenty of games throughout the day. Rooms were cleaned daily and were lovely, i liked that tjey were carpeted so had a home feeling rather than sometimes them grubby cold slippy tiles. Great all inclusive hotel would definitely return to this hotel with my family couldn't find any fault

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A good hotel, in the far end of Torremelinos about 1km from the main centre. Expect a low 4 star hotel and that's about the quality. It's perfectly adequate but don't expect the Ritz.

T the end of October 2012, daytime weather was about 18 - 21 degrees, but remember this is RAINY SEASON. So it rained most days and was also quite gusty.

We were lucky enough to get a sea-view which is always a bonus and generally makes the holiday have a good start.

If you like walking, the journey to the town along the beach walk is very flat. Come out of the hotel face towards the beach, turn right and continue for about 500 metres. Look out for the amusement arcade centre on your right (thats

If you struggle to walk, remember you will be paying about 8 euros for a taxi each way.

Nice pool, and bonus of small indoor pool too, good all inclusive package. Food is okay, not truly amazing but a good choice, reasonable quality. Remember when you order a brandy and coke, their shots are 3 or 4 times our British measures! It will creep up on you!

TEA DRINKERS Important info: If like me you love your tea, take yourself a travel kettle and some Tetley as there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

Torremelinos is a reasonably nice place out of season. Just don't do stupid things like walk back on your own at 2am in the morning carrying your handbag and jewellery, like anywhere else, be sensible and pay reasonable attention to safety.

Get yourself a code at reception for the gate at the beach bar end of the hotel, it will save you lots of walking. A room safe and pool towels are available for few Euro's deposit.

Finally we found the barman at the pub by the taxi rank (where they show the football) rude and needlessly aggressive, So my advice would be go somewhere else! He accused us of not paying for drinks because we sat at the table waiting for a bill rather than going up to the bar to pay. I would not recommend going there.

So It's a reasonably good hotel, only disappointment was no Wifi available in rooms.

Use the railway station about 1km up the hill in the direction of the rear of the hotel. This will get you from Torremelinos to Balemadena, Fuengirola and Malaga for about 1 euro 80 at time of writing. Compare that to UK Trains!

Also don't watch "Costa Del Crime!". If we had watched that we would have never gone. Our experience was nothing like that at all ( in October!). It was very quiet.

Don't be too picky and you will have a great holiday there.

Room Tip: See my review above - lots of tips there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel on an all inclusive basis..
LOCATION: about 2km from the town centre but is on the beach and 100 metres to a regular bus service. The train station is 600metres away with 20 minute service to Malaga and/or Fuengirola and only about £1.50 single.
ROOMS: we were on the 7th floor of the main block - Size excellent overlooking the beach (side view like all rooms), cleaned daily.
FOOD: Excellent choice for all meals. Heard some people complaining but then they would never be pleased. Ok not the best I have had but certainly for us it was ok and was 4 star buffet.
STAFF: ALL staff were very friendly and both bar and restaurant service was excellent.
ENTERTAINMENT: Not our choice on several nights but only 1 person organising the entertainment and he worked VERY HARD, where in other hotels they have a team. Flamenco was boring went on too long and seemed same dance.
WIFI - yet again another hotel where wifi is only available in the reception area and is expensive €10 for 1 hour.
GLA NIGHT: A Little disappointing start for New Years Eve: After dinner we were not allowed into the bar and although we were in the marquee there was no music etc. so for 2 hours we had to hang around, BUT the rest of the night from 9.30pm was very good.
SALES: no sales team on site we wanted to get a quote for a group booking but was referred to the internet which couldnt handle our propsal!
OVERALL A GREAT EXPERIENCE - and I am an ex hotel inspector with 25 years experience.

Room Tip: Main hotel block and rooms on floor 4 upwards with a sea view (all sea view rooms are offset so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Traveled with a family of 6, grandparents, parents and 2 children aged 6 and 10. This was my first all inclusive holiday and it had some good points and some bad points so I'll start with the good points - massive room and balcony with sea view from the balcony, beer tap located at the customers side of the bar so it was case of serve yourself with very nice cold cruzcampo, exactly the same stuff you pay 3/4/5 euros for in bars all over Spain and you could drink it all day and night if you wanted, nice food in the main restaurant at breakfast and evening meal, a huge selection with something to suit everyone at both sittings and all of good quality and very fresh, the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly, nice location on the outskirts of the resort and just 5 minutes from Malaga airport in a taxi, my daughter aged 10 loved it as there were loads of other kids her age to play with. The overriding good factor about the hotel was it was very very good value for money, food and drinks were good quality and the rooms and hotel were very clean. Our room was cleaned every day.

Now for the not so good bits - the hotel was really full and mealtimes were a bit of a chore at times, there were big queues especially at the hot plates and you could be waiting for 5 minutes while a variety of different European nationalities faffed about for 4 chips, 1 lamp cutlet, 2 pieces of pasta and a spoonful of paella and then had a quick re-think just to make sure they hadn't forgotten something. We ate in the bar at lunchtimes and it was a self service affair with lots of people dripping wet from the pool especially children mauling the food, it was case of get in as early as possible. We had to go down and put towels on the sunbeds by 9am at the very latest or you can forget getting 4/5 beds together bearing in mind there were absolutely loads of beds around the pool complex, the pool was very busy all day. There is some in house entertainment for the kids, mini golf on the walkway around the pool (great idea....not) and target shooting with an air rifle at a dart board (another great idea....not).

Overall good value for money but a bit too crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 Km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.