We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break shame about the weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Belplaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Belplaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Belplaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #19 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good break shame about the weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went for a break to Belplaya for a break after moving house, thought would get a bit of sunshine and relax. When we arrived about 10pm, we were greeted by people on reception who were very cheerful, took our passports and told us to have a welcome drink and have a seat till our name was called, checked into our room and were told they had ameal waiting for us all in the restraunt, Really pleasantly surprised that they were so cheerful and organised,
The rooms were very good and during our stay there we had no grumbles it was a lovely hotel and the food was lovely, The only problem was the weather, 5 of the days it poured down, didnt know it was possible to rain that much. Howevere, not hotels fault and we would certainly return as we were impressed by staff and hotel. The lady who cleaned our room left lovely patterns with the bedspread, different every day!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    285
    128
    34
    23
See reviews for
178
357
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although we had dreadful weather we experienced a very pleasant stay at this hotel.We took the all inclusive option for our stay and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel didn't compromise on the quality of food service or drinks.The indoor pool & gym were ideal as the weather was appalling

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with this hotel. Having a complementary drink at the start of the holiday was a real treat. I was very impressed with the food and staff. The food was catered for every taste and the staff were amazing. Accommodation was at a very high standard. The only fault for this hotel is the entertainment when the weather is really bad. Not much to do inside the hotel, the bar area gets very noisy and hot with the amount of people there. Apart from that there are no more faults.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here In October(we are in our 60's). The hotel was very clean, good food,friendly staff. Stayed in room 316, you could hear the people next door going to the toilet!!!! Nothing much to do there, no nice places to walk. Poor entertainment, though they did try for Halloween. Plenty of drinks, cava, lager & wine on tap and generous measures. Went on a trip to Gibraltar which was very good and had a fantastic guide who was very informative. The blanket trip is well worth going on (free) no hassle. The weather was terrible which did not help as when it rained all there was to do was drink !!!!!
All in all could not fault the hotel only Torremolinos - it was not for us. We won't be back.
On the way out someone stole my TRIP ADVISOR luggage tag - which I was proud of :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed with colleagues on business in mid October as its minutes from Malaga airport.

On arrival we received a glass of orange, reception staff were pleasant and we were checked in quickly.

Rooms were clean and tidy, although basic. The sea view which we had paid slightly more for probably wasn't worth it.

Drinks were cheap, but the food was of a better standard.

Location was good, quite a distance from Torremolinos town, but the beach was literally across the road. Less than ten minutes to Malaga airport.

Overall it made sense for our group to stay here as it was more of a base us, I probably wouldn't recommend this as a holiday hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Made to feel welcome with a complementary drink on arrival. Food is out of this world!!!! Staff very friendly and catered for every need. Room was very big and clean, cleaners very good! The only thing that spoiled the holiday was the weather but plenty to do in hotel with indoor pool, gym, and in house entertainment. I would definitly come back here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

nice hotel but more for older people, food was good . we didn't have good weather so this did not help , not much goin on for children. indoor pool small . nothing to do when wet weather . would not go back hear. but for older couples it would be fine

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Belplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Belplaya

Address: Paseo Maritimo 165 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Belplaya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 2 km from Torremolinos * Three 3, 5 & 9-storey buildings * Opposite Torremolinos beach, 50 m away * 2 km from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 10 km from Malaga * 50 m from a bus stop * 1.5 km from the train station * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Belplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Belplaya Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Belplaya Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Belplaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.