We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puente Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puente Real to your Saves list
Hotel Puente Real
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 79 | Playa del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is literally the worst hotel I've stayed in. I can cope with small rooms, average showers, terrible food. But the beds the haven for sleep and feeling relaxed in the morning were terrible. Essentially camp beds - they look exactly like the pictures but they are deceiving I sat on the end of this 'bed' and almost flipped it! I was on the floor with my mates laughing our heads off but still the worst bed I've slept in. It is however, right on the beach, literally a stones throw away but is this conciliation for being next to a wild noisy hotel next door, if you do want to sleep do it during the day! Now the entrance - most encouraging if the entrance was as good as the rest of the hotel I would feel so much better alas it wasn't the lifts are out of the 60s and unlike normal modern lifts when the doors begin to close while some is halfway through and open these will whack you either in or out. Alas this provided us with one of the funniest moments while in the hotel it certainly wouldn't be welcome in any future hotel stay. I would suggest that you get a hotel further down the beachfront.

Food is awful, do not bother getting all inclusive - explore the town! The staff were horrible except for the front desk.

The rooms were cleaned daily. Very good cleanliness.

Room Tip: Request a room on the reception side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear James,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us during your vacation. It's a real shame not meeting your expectations. We regret any inconvenience with the mattress of your room. If you had reported this incident to our receiving we would have done something about it. We think objectively of the location, cleanliness of our facilities and decor too deserve a slightly higher valuation. We asked him to apologize for the inconvenience. We ask you to apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to have you with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    566
    346
    181
    128
See reviews for
584
501
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lee on the solent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we had a week in october lucky with the weather only rained one night. we stayed in apartment overlooking the pool and part sea view.. staff were friendly and the food was good plenty of choice.. the only problem was the entertainment as it was end of season there wasnt any. there was a rock and roll convention on so they had the nightclub every night so private party. the bar area was uncomfortable as it was white plastic tables and chairs but sat at the pool bar and made some nice friends there . they went in the summer and said the outside entertainment was good then. the beach is gorgeous we went over there everyday and could take our drinks over.we did get coffee in the very friendly bar over there and sunbeds when needed. i would recommend this hotel for the summer months very good location.the all inclusive deal was very good even cornetos and magnums help yourself.plenty of drink choices as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jeanette,

Thank you very much for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Torremolinos :) We will take note of your comments about the entertainment. Our location is perfect for spending a few days relaxing by the sea, and there are many entertainment and dining options nearby and in front of the hotel have a bus stop. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page. We hope to see you with us soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have to say that this hotel is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. Upon arrival to our room the first thing we noticed was how unclean everything was. The room was very dusty and we noticed two stains on the floors which could of been removed with a little elbow grease. The furniture was also very dated and well worn. We did inform reception who sent somebody to our room within the hour whilst we took a stroll along the beach. Upon entering a room for a second time we noticed that the stains had now been removed but still plents of dust on table side, beds and draws etc......
We are a famliy of four and hoped the hotel would have offered us some relaxing adult and family time by the pool with a variation of food for both adults and children during meals times. Sadly this was not the case. The pool area was way too small for the amount of people the hotel accommodates, however this was only part of the problem. The hassle you had to endure in order to obtain sun lounges was diabolical. I was regular up at around 7.00/7.30am to take my place adjacent to the tied up sun lounges and try to secure my beds and spot for the day. The lounges were untied at 9.00am and then it was a free for all. Plenty of arguments and shoving was had by young and old people in order to obtain the beds and a spot for the day, not a relaxing start to any day! You then couldn't leave the beds for too long unattended or people from all nationalities would kindly remove your towels and replace with theirs. The pool entertainment was a mixture of some aerobics which seemed to go down well with the adult visitors and water polo which was a mixed bag. Nice entertainment for the particitpants but onlookers beware, a flying ball will head you way with a force that will knock you over and regular did, especially to the older folk who were not quick enough to move out of the way. As a person who enjoys sport and have two lively children I am all up for water entertainment but I believe they should be a time and place for such activites so not to spoil other people's holiday who just want a relaxing day by the pool. Due to the size of the pool area the onlookers are taking part whether they like water polo or not.
As for the food, all the family including the children found the food very bland. Yes there was a variety of warm and cold, meat and veg, together with plenty of salad but it was just of poor quality with lengthy queues especially at breakfast time.
Other than the staff on the food counter by the pool, I thought the staff were very poor with very little interest on making your holiday experience an enjoyable one.
The only plus I would take from this holiday was the self service for the drinks.
Apologies for the lenthy review, however, I have just typed as I found Hotel Puente Real and for a family holiday this was just a nightmare which I wouldn't wish on any other families, or indeed any other guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Puente Real Holidays. We deeply regret not meeting your expectations. Many customers appreciate our accommodations and recommend. We will take note of your feedback to provide the best service to our customers. As for the sunbeds, hammocks reserve we remind you that is not allowed in our facilities. As for the activities in the pool, we take note of your comments and will communicate to the entertainment department. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we went to this hotel on october 2012 its a bit away from the main resort if you like a walk its fine .the hotel was very clean and the staff where very friedly the snack bar food was great made fresh to order nothing was to much for the chef nice big cheery guy.there were a lot more older couples there like our selves in our 50s i think it was becuse of the time of the year.if you dont fancy the walk theres a bus stop outside the hotel and at the back of the hotel theres a train station about half a mile away it take you to the other three resorts and its very cheap.overall it was a great holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your experience with us has been satisfactory. As well you comment right on the doorstep to and a bus stop nearby and find many leisure options. We look forward to having you back with us very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to thePuenta Real from the 23rd of October to 30th. We paid a very reasonable price for all inclusive so can't complain. There were 3of us, myself, husband and 24 year old daughter and we were given a room with 2 double beds which was nice enough but not really big enough. The reception staff were great and offered us an appartment but we decided to upgrade to a superior room.....WOW. Well worth doing but do it at the resort if possible. The room was actually divided into 2bedrooms and had a fantastic view and just made all the difference to us as we were in it more than we planned due to poor weather. As for meals, breakfast offered alot of choice and was of reasonable quality with enough choice for anyone. We only went into the restaurant once for lunch and that was ok. Evening meals offer alot of choice but their cooked dishes were very variable. Salads were varied and tasty. Their Gazpacho was the best I ve tasted. Mealtimes are noisy due to the sheer volume of people eating.
They do not skimp on all inclusive drinks as many places I ve been to do. They offer a wide range of spirits, wines, beer and cocktails and the measures are generous. They have an outdoor snack bar which is abit overworked at times but offers kebabs, chips, pizza, toasties etc. How the guy cooking remembers everyone's order I don't know but he is always right and cheerful....not so sure I would be under such a volume of orders.
The maid service is excellent and not intrusive. Towels are changed everyday.
All in all this is a good and very popular hotel and lets not forget that does not cost the earth.
I would personally like to thank the reception staff for being so pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate your comments about Hotel Puente Real. It is essential for us to satisfy our customers. Our staff is our most important asset, they work very hard for our clients to spend a wonderful holiday, we appreciate that you value this aspect positively :) As you mention in your comment on Tripadvisor our value for money is very high. We hope to see you back with us and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited the Puente Real for the first time in October and had a really good time. We stayed in an apartment, preferring to have two separate rooms during our stay. The superior hotel rooms have two double beds in the same room, not ideal with teenagers! The cleaning staff came around every day and were most helpful when we approached them with a problem. Some staff in the dining room and on reception obviously worked very hard but could be unhelpful at times. The staff on the pool bar and night reception staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to help. During our stay building work started to update some bathrooms which was very loud, one call to reception and they arranged for our whole party to move to another block the next morning.
We loved the way you could help yourself to drinks as this stopped the need for long queues as experiences in other AI hotels. We loved the fact that when you had a drink in the inside bar we used glasses rather than plastic cups, a rarity with AI.
The food in the restaurant was good with plenty of choice every meal time. The bacon and egg butties from the pool bar meant our teenagers were kept happy when they missed breakfast! There was lots of choice of ice creams and food at the pool bar throughout the day including the usual burgers, hot dogs, hot sandwiches and even chicken kebabs!
The entertainment team worked hard to organise activities but the advertised kids club didn't exist even in October half term, not a good start given that was the reason we booked that particular hotel.
One note of interest - this hotel does not have the best disabled facilities, especially if it's raining. One of our party uses a wheelchair which required her to be wheeled around the outside of the building in the road as there was no way she could access the main building using the steep ramp. On the day it rained the ramp was a hazard to walk down let alone try to use a wheelchair! The lifts are also too small and only just accommodate a wheelchair with no room to move.
We really loved the hotel and would travel there again.

Room Tip: Book an apartment if you want two separate rooms but these are away from the main block and face ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
community_hpr, Community Manager at Hotel Puente Real, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate your trust in Hotel Puente Real. For us it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take note of small details to continue implementing our service. In the summer time the animation is more active, as more families and children. We look forward to see you soon with us and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived late evening and receptionist very pleasant. Room was clean with a small fridge which became very handy for water during our stay. Hotel not a 4 star but a very good 3+. Staff where friendly and helpful. We went in Oct so had plenty of sunbeds to use, obviously a lot quieter this time of year. Hotel across the road from the beach and a bus stop just outside to take you into town. Train station not too far away for trips further afield. Food was plentiful and fresh, maybe not to everyones taste but you are in Spain. Found there is something for everyone and they did a great job and catering for each nationality. Staff work very hard and I hope the management praise them for their good work because t. hat is what made this hotel what it is. We will definately be returning sometime in the furture. I liked the idea of drinks on tap at the pool bar so you could help yourself

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#16 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,801 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#35 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#26 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
#11 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#42 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puente Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puente Real

Address: Paseo Maritimo 79 | Playa del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puente Real 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Real 4 **** is ideally located on the beach front in Torremolinos and is awarded with the Q for Quality Tourism. It offers you the posibility to take a rest and enjoy the fabulous climate of the "sunny coast" as well as the Andalousian customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Puente Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Real Hotel Torremolinos
Puente Real Torremolinos
Hotel Puente Real Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puente Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.