We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Nuenen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We, my wife, sister in law, brother in law and myself arrived in Malaga and heard that our hotel was overbooked. Not nice, but for one night and in a very good hotel, the Tropicana. The next day we moved to Pez Espada and heard that because we were so kind as to accept the overbooking that we would stay in the penthouse suites AND the drinks by our meals were free for the rest of our stay there! One or the other would had been a wonderful way to treat us, but both is really service! The food was great just like everything else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Dear Mr Daniels

Thank you so much for your review of the Hotel Pez Espada. We are very pleased that we were able to make your holiday experience a positive one in spite of the changes which you had experienced prior to arriving at our hotel, and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Pez Espada on future ocassions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    274
    92
    37
    15
See reviews for
152
339
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

The bedrooms need to be seriously updated. It's most unusual to come across fitted carpets in hotel bedrooms in Spain. It's not very practical and this shows as the carpets are badly stained, as are the carpets in the coridoors. The bedroom walls needed painting and there was mould growing on the ceiling, We found the staff to be very unfriendly, especially the staff on the reception desk. They would not speak unless you spoke to them first. No smiles wishing you a good morning !! In fact when I asked for an early morning alarm call the man on the desk would not even look at me when taking details. The food is consistently warm, never hot. This hotel is certainly not a four star, more like a three. The location is the only plus.
I viewed the other comments on the hotel before we went on holiday and the negative feedback was not taken on board by hotel management otherwise they woule be doing something to rectify the poor customer service given by their staff. Their standard reply is always that customers return year after year. They seem to bury their heads in the sand.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Pez Espada. We are very sorry to hear that you had reason for disappointment, and that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

The Hotel Pez Espada has been providing good quality holiday accommodation for many years and in general our customers are very satisfied. We apologise for the fact that you were disatisfied with some aspects of the hotel and the service provided. We take all our customer feedback into consideration when reviewing our performance and and monitoring our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Having read previous reviews about this hotel we weren't sure what to expect. Yes, the hotel is a little dated but so are most of the hotels in Spain. Having said that you can see how opulent this hotel would have been in it's heyday. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We had a garden view room (118) which included a pool view and a sea view. The courtesy room we used on the last day (101) looked onto the other side of the hotel and in comparison to room 118 was dismal. So all in all I think we had one of the better rooms. There were two single beds which were really comfy, a flatscreen tv with BBC1, ITV and Sky News. There was also a fridge which was unlocked so we used it. There was plenty of wardrobe space with coat hangers and the bathroom was a good size with a shower over the bath. We had no problems getting hot water, I even had a soak in the bath. The towels were soft and fluffy and changed daily. The balcony wasn't massive but there was room for a table and two chairs. Some rooms had larger terraces and faced the sea. The only downside was the absence of tea/coffee facilities in the room, however, we always pack a travel kettle.

The food was brilliant - breakfast included cereals with cold milk, toast with jams and marmalades, boiled eggs, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cakes, full english - bacon, eggs (scrambled and fried), beans, fried bread, tomatoes, sausage (not English unfortunately), tea, coffee, juices. Evening meals - soup with rolls, salads, various meat and fish dishes, vegetables, potatoes, chips, desserts - fresh raspberries, blackberries, redcurrants, icecream, toppings including huge chocolate buttons, rice pudding, cakes, cheese and crackers. These were the main dishes we had during our stay although there was also food to suit continental tastes as well. They are very strict on the long trouser rule for men at the evening meal. We went half-board so I'm not sure what was on offer at lunchtime.

There was evening entertainment every night although we preferred to go out for a walk in the evening, however, the lounge was always full when we returned on an evening.

Some previous reviews said the staff were unfriendly, however, we found the staff to be courteous and very professional. They work extremely hard in the dining room and seem to be on duty for long hours. The maids were friendly. The rooms were cleaned daily. The maid noticed we had folded the pillow to double it up and the next minute she had brought another pillow. The maids were always busy keeping the public areas of the hotel spotlessly clean as well.

The pool was in the shade most of the time and I imagine very cold, probably why not many people ventured in. There were plenty of sunbeds both at the front of the hotel and in the rear garden. There was no need to get up early to put towels on sunbeds although one couple seemed to think it necessary. We found empty beds even in the afternoon. There are palm trees on the beach in front of this hotel and in the rear garden which are home to some very noisy Parakeets. This was the only thing that marred the peace and tranquility of sunbathing, though they weren't noisy all the time!

A lot of the clientele at this hotel are older and I believe return to this hotel year on year but for me this just made it feel like an adult only hotel. There were some families and younger couples but they were in the minority. However, I preferred it as there weren't any noisy kids/teenagers or drunken door slamming in the early hours of the morning. It was all very peaceful and quiet which is what we were looking for after 25 years of family holidays with our children in peak season!

The hotel is in a great position on the promenade and right next to the beach. A couple of minutes walk from Benalmadena and the marina and Torremolinos in the other direction. We ventured in some of the other hotels on the front but in my opinion we chose the best hotel.

This was a brill hotel which I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire , England , U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We returned fom our fortnight in the Pez Espade on 20th October 2010. We have been visitng this hotel since 1990 - sometimes twice a year. This year the Med Playa Group have gone that one step too far in economies. The Staff , who are great , are really being pushed too far. Entertainment is poor and there are no daytime activities , except during the three peak summer months.The Pianist, in the lounge , is now reduced to playing just three nights a week. The Lifeguard has been discontinued and pool maintenance is negligible. Food and service is still good but the hotel is tired and so are the Staff. Med Player want to Wake Up and Smell the Roses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This Hotel is excellent as is the location.
The staff cannot do enough for you and the food is really good.
That is why we return year after year, and this year we are bringing a couple of our dear friends with us.
We always have a garden room which means we get a lovely view over the grounds and the sea.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just back from a 7 night stay at the Pez Espada. The hotel is well placed with lots of space both inside and out. My only gripe was the room wasn't in my opinion quite 4 star. The room, while clean, was small as was the balcony. Next time I think I'll book direct or with someone other than Thomsons, who always seem to get you into the most basic of rooms. A room with a pool view had a bigger balcony and a slightly bigger room, ours faced into the Mini Golf. Cleaning staff were excellent. The staff were pleasant though you felt at times you felt that the dining staff were wanting to rush you out and perhaps a bit stretched at times. Three nights queues formed for dinner if weren't down for 1900hrs, most having to wait 10 - 15 mins before a table became free. This is the first 4 star hotel where I've had to queue for dinner. The food was good with a reasonable selection, the soups tasted the same each night, except the Ox-tail. The Public areas and the bars were excellent. Frankies was great for well priced lunches and great Sangria, staff here too were great. Sunbeds seemed to have towels on them most of the day and we to became guilty of that but there was no shortage of sunbeds at this time of the year. Subathing and people watching from gardens was wonderful, direct access to the beach and lots of kiosks nearby. There was a huge dish each day of boiling sweets at the Reception for customers to enjoy will sunbathing in the gardens. Certainly planning going back next year though hopefully to a bigger room.
The Pez Espada is certainly not for "the Kiss Me Quick" brigade and it still retains an air of opulance about it from its past famous guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

As a Family we have stayed at this hotel for the last 14 years.The Directors,Management and Staff have never let us down in any requirements or requests in all these years to date. The Hotel Pez-Espada is a very special place and this is particularly due to the kindness,attentiveness, friendliness etc shown towards us by all the staff. We have already booked again for 2011.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.