We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located , relaxing and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well located , relaxing and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you're reading Trip Advisor you're looking for advice on the hotel and resort.

In a nutshell ;

Hotel - ideal for quiet , peaceful couples and families of all ages , not loudmouth cockneys with uncontrollable children. ( not that there was any in the Pez , but Benalmedena harbour , jeez there is plenty) Lots of space to sunbathe , play in the pool , read a book , eat and sleep.

Resort - Location of Pez is great for Torremolinos and Benalmedena. Its not the place for large groups of singletons , its more for having a few drinks and a nice meal , rather than bouncy music and falling into a hedge walking from pub to pub.

Great paved walkway for a safe evening stroll , dressed in your best , or a nice seat in a bar or coffee shop just people watching.

Myself and the Mrs. ( ages 52 and nearly 48) have just returned from a ten day stay at the Pez Espada Hotel. It is our second visit to the hotel and it didn't disappoint as nothing much has changed since our previous visit in 2012. The hotel is clean and tidy , has good facilities and the fellow guests tend to buy into the peace and tranquility of the place.
Ideally situated you can relax around the pools ( two pools plus a small kiddies and a seasonal indoor ) , sunbathe on the grassed areas looking out on the beach , or sit on the patio for snacks and drinks.

You can exit via the rear gate and you're straight onto a wide paved area which takes you along into the main part of Torremolinos if you turn left and Benalmedena harbour if you turn right.

The beach is literally ten yard from the rear gate .

There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to enjoy in the area but we also made a few trips out an about including a 14 euro ferry trip to Fuengirola , a 19 euro Thomson bus trip to Gibraltar and a 1 euro public bus trip ( 122 or 112) to Arrayo Del Miel.

All lovely places to visit and spend your hard earned cash. If you're a smoker cigarettes are very cheap in Gibraltar ( a third of the price of the UK) but you can only bring out 200, and you can pay in English pounds. Try Roys fish and chips too , in the main square , very nice.

The food at the Pez is nice , only the very fussiest of tastes would complain Its all self service although you do need to buy drinks on an evening and gentleman must wear long trousers for the evening meal. It is a lovely idea that gives the hotel an air of respectability. However this is diminished by the fact that some of the females turn up for dinner in skimpy shorts , and it does seem that they have not checked in the mirror that their bottoms are not contained, and in some cases bottoms and tops are wildly escaping at the same time. Puts you right off the pork fillets.

There are a few vegetarian options in the restaurant too , not all of them based on cheese and mushrooms.

If you're looking for a meal during the day the Dark Side of the Moon is the place to go. Its two hundred yards from the Pez and the food is beautiful. I particularly liked the lasagne and the sweet chili chicken on skewers.


If you do visit the Pez ( and I'd recommend it unless you're wanting a booze filled dance party) , please look out for our little friend the stripy cat. She hangs about the grassed area during the day and is partial to a bit of tuna or some left overs.

Top tip - There is a fridge in your room go to the supermarket at the top of the hill , drinks and snacks are good prices , I got Fanta Lemon Zero for about 35p a tin , and a giant 5 litre bottle of water for a Euro.

Room Tip: I was in room 323 , it worked for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear S15eet,

Thanks for booking Hotel Pez Espada for your recent holiday in Torremolinos and for reviewing the hotel. It's a pleasure to read your comment, to hear that we succeeded in meeting your expectation. Once again, thanks for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you again to Pez Espada.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    332
    105
    43
    16
See reviews for
184
425
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Grimsby, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just got back from a week at the Pez Espada 15/07/14. We spent a week there last year and wasn't disappointed the standard of the hotel and staff were as high as expected yes it is a little tired in places but this outweighed by the excellent staff especially Angel the Restaurant Manager who keeps the restaurant running to a high level of efficency . The food was good it catered for all tastes , lovely crisp cotton tablecloths made the Dinning experience enjoyable ,may i say i like the long trouser policy it keeps up the standards that we like but it should also apply to ladies who at times looked as though they had just come from the beach.Lastly a big thankyou to the ladies who keep the rooms prestine and the hardworking Bar Staff who never seem to have a minute look forward to coming back in the near future .

Room Tip: High garden views are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Sue W,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your comment on your July's holiday at the hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience at the Pez Espada, especially appreciating excellent service in the restaurant, friendliness and professionalism of our housekeeping staff and hotel's location.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to express your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just returned on friday from an excellent break at Pez Espada,if you want a chilled out holiday with very little noise ie screaming kids and drunk brits shouting at all hours of the nite this is the hotel for you. Food great big selection each nite ,staff very attentive ,beach on your doorstep very clean and well maintained rooms look a little tired and in need of some modernisation but otherwise great. Benalmadena 20 min stoll,id say no more than 40mins to Torromolinos.I too was caught out on the long trousers front no biggie plenty shops to go buy a pair. Free wifi in hotel reception and we paid 15 euros for the week for elsewhere in and around the hotel. Access to the beach at the rear of the hotel through the gardens using your keycard to get back in, daytime entertainment kept the kids aged 16 and 10 amused for a few hours. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

this title refers to men. the hotel has a long trouser policy of an evening in the dinning room. this is applied with rigour. it is not mentioned any where in the hotel description, Thomson's, it is however buried in terms and conditions referring to all hotels and states you 'may' be required to wear long trousers.
the hotel is past its best and is in need of serious renovation. it is not a 4 star by any measure.
the saving grace of this hotel is its staff. they are well turned out and very attentive.
the hotel is about a 20 min walk from benalmadena and about one hour from torromolinos. it is on the beach with access from the grounds. there are plenty of sun beds around the grounds. the hotel do not enforce their no towels on sunbed policy. if you prefer to use the beach then two sunbeds and a brolly costs 10 euros. can work out expensive over the holiday.
FOOD this has two aspects in order to be fair to the hotel.
my wife,a meat eater, thought the food was great, well cooked and with lots of choice.
I as a vegetarian, thought the choice was very very poor and I felt like a rabbit (salad) by the time the holiday was over. the Spanish do not seem to understand that some people do not eat meat or fish.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having stayed in four other hotels in this area this was the best.
Good location.
Reception staff very good.
Room was very clean.
Food for breakfast & dinner was not as big a selection as other hotels I have stayed but this was compensated by very good quality.
which is better than a large selection and rubbish.
It states in the brochore buffet, not gourmet restaurant, which some people expect.
waiters work hard are polite and very proffessinal.
swimming pools and garden areas all keep very clean.
Happy hour drinks very poor.
Will Return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear DAZ756,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your dinners in the restaurant and our friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We returned on Sunday after a lovely week at this hotel. I cannot understand how anyone can
moan about this hotel, it is a bit tired but that is outweighed by the excellent staff, good food and great location.
We were there when many guests were Spanish, this also added to the holiday experience.
I am a mature lady who travelled with my husband and we will most definitely return to this lovely
hotel.
I do hope carpets are retained at the hotel when it is refurbished as this kept the hotel room noise to a minimum.

Room Tip: We upgraded and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Christine G,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your holiday experience with us. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectation and that you consider to return to our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our first impression of the 1st floor room was dissapointment,compared with the rooms in the annex which we have previously stayed,it was quite dark and the balcony was so small and in disrepair,only got the sun early morning.We enquired about change of room but were told that was all we had paid for a standard room.So that was us told!!Thats our moan over so now for the good points.Excellent restaurant and bar staff.Food very good especially the carvery nights.Frankies cafe bar good for lunchtime snacks.Good location on the prom and very handy to the marina on right of hotel and then in opposite direction a good walk into Torremolinos,plenty of shops and restaurants all along the prom.The hotel is definately ready for a total refurbishment which is happening next Jan/Feb,so we are looking forward to seeing the results on our next visit. Good Luck Pez.!!

Room Tip: Ask for views of pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, RRPP at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Northeasthighflier,

Thanks for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada for your recent stay in Torremolinos and for sharing your comment with us. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday despite few unsatisfactory aspects of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#8 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#26 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#35 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.