We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at the Pez Espada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at the Pez Espada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I went on holiday to the Pez Espada in June this year and stayed for 10 nights.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who was not very happy person, however we weren't bothered by that.
The hotel lobby is lovely and airy which we found perfect as some days it was the coolest place in the hotel.
We were situated in the newer block of the hotel on the second floor, we had a lovely view of the pool area and the sea. I found the room to be very clean, with towels changed every day and clean bedding every other day. The bathroom was also very clean.
Regards food in the hotel it was really hit and miss some days the food was exceptional and other days it was dire and we chose to eat out.
I would advise too look at the menu which is displayed in a morning too see if anything takes your fancy.
The breakfast was ok as long as the sausage and bacon is avoided.
Sunbeds were always available however the best spots were always reserved by 7am, but our attitude was if we can't beat them join them therefore reserving our sunbeds early morning.
Overall I enjoyed our stay at the Pez Espada and we are returning on Sunday for 5 nights as there is plently to do and see which we did not do last time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is on a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    276
    92
    38
    15
See reviews for
153
340
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Pez Espada and this is our second trip. We are a family with 1 child and we were able to have a relaxing time. The hotel is not busy at this time of year and so no rush for sun beds. The weather was beautiful but still plenty of spare beds. Outdoor pool is cold as not in the sun for much of the day, so have to be brave to go in. Indoor pool is small but enough to have a swim. Rooms are not that big but is enough for the 3 of us. Food is good with lots of choice. Not much else going on in hotel but is well situated to walk along the promenade and the marina. Wi-fi only works in reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to share opinion on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel location and the quietness of the hotel. We hope that the hotel met your expectations and you will return to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just had the best week ever at the pez espada. could not fault one thing. The staff were lovely the food in the restaurant was amazing could not get enough of it lovely. The rooms were spotless and beds changed daily, towels fresh daily faultless. Will be returning again for sure. Thank you for a great week,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Second visit to the Pez Espada, hotel is still great,staff very pleasant, rooms nice and clean.
We had a garden view, room 1009, room was okay good view of the sea, draw back was having to go up and down floors to get to our room, not easy when you have trouble walking.
We were very disappointed with the food this time, not as good as last year. will keep looking at Tripadvisor to see if it improves before we book again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our 5th visit to the Pez Espada and as it was our 40th anniversary we were looking forward to 2 weeks R&R! We had asked for a high floor, which we got - on the 7th and the hotel had upgraded us to the huge penthouse suite! Food same high quality and nice to see the same faces of the staff. Everywhere was clean and sparkling, inside and out and bar prices were very low which meant we could relax in the hotel after dinner rather than seek an outside watering hole. Couple of weddings took place which meant that they took over the garden space at night but we just went out those evenings. The entertainment is pretty poor but suited the swathe of grannies and spouses - but we'ew not fans of hotel entertainment anyway,
This is a very quiet and safe haven with views to die for!

Room Tip: Always go for a high floor with a pool/garden view - its worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Liz,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday in Torremolinos and for taking the time to review the hotel and share your impressions. We are glad to hear you had a good time at the hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from the Pez Espada and were impressed by certain aspects of the Hotel. The check in was fine and room 622 was allocated. We have a side sea fine over looking the pool and the Puerto Marina. The room is self was fine except the carpet which was filthy. All in all the rooms appear to be in need of a 'Makeover. We have stayed at numerous Hotels in Spain and can say that, in general the food here was the best. especially the Breakfast. Staff on the whole were very pleasant and helpful. The position of the Hotel is great and not far from the Puerto Marina and Carhuaila .. As disabled and in a wheelchair it was difficult to get to the dining room which is downstairs, still we managed. Would consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a high floor which we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel itself is well presented and you can see why it had such a reputation in its hey day.

Happily, we were upgraded to a sea view room, which was lovely, but if you pay for a sea view room I would recommend you request a high floor. The ground floor sea view rooms are overlooked by the sunbathing area which is right next to your balcony. As lovely as the upgrade was, it meant we had to keep the curtains closed if we were in the room during the daytime as you always had sunbathers directly outside. Can't complain for a free upgrade though!

The pool, whilst it looks good from a distance, is showing signs of wear and tear around the tiles at the sides and on the floor. Having said this the pool area is very pleasant.

The dining room is great and for a buffet, the food is not bad at all for the most part. Typical buffet food but it is one of the better ones. Breakfast is very nice but would be great to have fresh orange juice instead of that machine stuff.

There is also free wifi, albeit only in reception, but it works.

The hotel could, as other reviewers have stated, use a lick of paint and the rooms an update. They could really be uplifted with small things like new shower heads, taps, curtains & re-grouting tiles and painting the balconies.

The rooms are a good size though and pretty comfortable.

Location wise it's perfect, right on the front with a lovely beach, and promenade with lots of restaurants, shops and bars.

Overall a good hotel in a great location. Just needs a bit of TLC

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.