We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Save Saved
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

stayed at the espada twice and enjoyed the hotel and surroundings, we always rent a car and the parking is free, most hotels charge 10 to 15euro per day.
the food is excellent as is the staff, the house wine is a bargain @ 8euro
also the local bars/resturants are very close and you must try FRANCOS BAR PIZZA just 50mts
on the right out of the front entrance, his pasta/pizzas are the best, every night the italian community visit .
we will book the espada for our next visit cannot fault it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear auto-dor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review regarding the recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada.
We are pleased to hear you had a great time with us and that you will be back soon!

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    225
    83
    34
    14
See reviews for
122
290
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Grimsby, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Back from staying at the Pez Espada. On arrival met by friendly and effecient staff both in the the Reception and Dinning Room. We had a room overlooking the Gardens 619 this is an extra but worth paying a bit more for the view was lovely overlooking the gardens and also a good view of the sea.The food was good plenty of variety, dinning room staff friendly and effecient lovely and clean tables always well set out.The hotel has a very relaxed feel close to the beach and other amenities, have all ready booked to go back next year hopefully we'll get the same room this as been requested a big thankyou to all that made our holiday so enjoyable .

Room Tip: High floors overlooking either gardens or a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from 2wks chilled holiday Hotel was clean the pool man worked checking the pool all day meals were very good with lots of choice and free glass of Carva and given a lovley flower in resturant on Gala night on speaking to other guest's we found that they go back every year (21ys 14yrs etc) so that speaks for itself . Its located on the beach and very central to all will we go back yes!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our second stay at the hotel and we still consider it a great place to stay. The food was even better than our stay two years ago. The House wine is an excellent €7.50 The inhouse entertainment is basic but is geared towards the average age of the clients. The position of the hotel is a great asset, loved gazing out to sea as I relaxed on my sun lounger. Staff were helpfull and pleasant at all times. Only €25 from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our 3rd holiday at Pez ESPADA. We love the ambience of this hotel, and cannot fault the service, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff, they cannot do enough for you to guarantee you enjoy your holiday. However, the bedroom we had definitely needed updating! It was still back in the sixties, rather out of date and old fashioned, and desperately in need of refurbishment, especially the carpet which was very soiled. The bathroom, however, was really a nice size with a 4-piece suite, and nice toiletries. Other people we spoke to during our holiday also commented on the sad state of the bedrooms, so it obviously wasn't just us! The position of the hotel is great, which is why we return - right on the promenade, with nice walks either way. With a little updating and a few extras thrown in (like tea/coffee making facilities, pool towels provided, free safe etc), this hotel could be a 4* plus rating.

Room Tip: High level, main building - lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Yvonne 4110,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for reviewing this property. We are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your remarks constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests. I also appreciate your mention about the hotel staff and I will share your comments with them. It is our pleasure to have served you.
We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Warmest regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just back from a long weekend at this hotel - it was excellent. Apart from the front desk staff (who seemed tired and bored!) the staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is on the sea front, so views from the balconies were lovely. Although the hotel was busy it is spacious so we never felt hemmed in, a quiet area can always be found. The rooms were comfortable and perfectly adequate - ok a lick of paint here and there wouldn't go amiss but we were not there for the decor. The bar area was great, both inside and outside. Breakfast choices first class. Entertainment was good and varied but it did not intrude if one wanted a little quiet time. Two of our party had a massage, which was good and excellent value - and there are two massage chairs which were amazingly good. Pool area looked very inviting and was kept very clean and tidy. Great location - a short stroll to the port in one direction, plenty of bars, restaurants and shops, and in the other direction and a slightly longer stroll, is the town. Shops, restaurants and bars galore. I would return there is a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I saw two rooms both of which were good - I think we were in the newer part of the hotel, away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took my mother in law to this hotel and it proved a good choice. The location had a flat walk in either direction from the hotel garden along a promenade walkway. Good bars in either direction. Food in the Pez was very good in our opinion;especially the varied salads etc.

The room had a decent sized balcony, enough for 3 of us to have nightcaps.

The garden had fixed umberellas, so the sunbeds moved to get the shade or sun. They are set on grass which we prefer.

Overall this ticked all our boxes and we would return here.

Room Tip: paid a supliment for a garden view, Good view over pool garden and sea to the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.