We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Enjoyable Holiday at the Pez Espada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Official Site
and 4 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #19 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Tyne & Wear
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another Enjoyable Holiday at the Pez Espada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from another very enjoyable holiday at the Pez Espada hotel. We were very impressed with this hotel on our first visit a few years ago and have returned a few times since. We could not find anything to complain about as everything came up to our expectations.This is a very well organised hotel and everywhere in the hotel was kept exceptionally clean., Our bedroom was good size with plenty storage space,fridge,safety deposit box (both to rent for small charge), sheets were changed quite a few times during our stay. We had a room on the sixth floor with pool view which also looked along the prom and marina which was well worth the small supplement, New furniture on the terrace outside Frankie's Bar was a big improvement to the white plastic tables and chairs which were there on our previous visits. Good choice of food at both Breakfast and Evening Meals with a very reasonably priced wine list.(where most hotels are a rip off) All the staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly,especially the restaurant staff who all worked very hard. .
Entertainment was every night in the main lounge which was varied with different singers,
flamenco dancers, a magician.
The hotel is in a perfect position with access onto the lovely prom by a gate from the garden area of the hotel and is about a ten minute walk to the right along to the Marina and a twenty minute walk to Torremolinos in the other direction.
Visitors to this hotel are mostly couples who return year after year, so that says something about this hotel, I would certainly recommend this hotel, but it is not a hotel for children.
We will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for the garden/pool view room it is well worth it, also request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Pamela14,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada for your recent stay in Torremolinos and for reviewing this property. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is committed to making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada again. We hope that you continue to use our hotel for your lodging needs in the near future. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Torremolinos.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    203
    76
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
262
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time at this lovely hotel,and both times stayed in the lower floor of the annex,and found the room very comfortable and clean also bed linen changed every two days.The restaurant and bar staff were very efficient and friendly.The food was excellent both at breakfast and evening meal.The prices of drinks were reasonable too considering it being a 4star.We understand now why people return time and time again to the pez because of the service and friendly welcome from all the staff through out the hotel.We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent last two weeks of May in this hotel , which we thoroughly enjoyed . If you like your hotels with a bit of character then this is the place for you .
The staff were excellent from the cleaning ladies to the reception desk, bars and restaurant . I had a small accident with my glasses and after enquiring about the nearest optician at the reception desk the gentleman produced a set of small screwdrivers and made a temporary repair to my spectacles which enabled me to carry on until I could obtain a proper repair .
The food in the reception was excellent with a great variety of dishes , which even let me try caviare for the first time .The wine was very reasonably priced and the waiting staff were extremely efficient .
We had an early morning trip to Morocco and after booking an alarm call at reception they advised that a continental breakfast would be prepared and left in the restaurant for our early departure .

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Pez Espada probably at least 4 times and we revisit due to the ideal location of the hotel. Yes, it does need a refurb however it is kept clean during your stay. We chose this hotel specifically for its location, the guest are generally older however this suits us (we are in our 40's however we like to keep ourselves to ourselves when we are away!). You get free wifi in the lobby area near Frankies Bar (reception can give you the code to use) and there are a selection of British television channels available in your room. Plenty of choice in the dining room and find the waiters to all be very polite and friendly - they all keep the area clean - one day the young male waiter dropped the table cloth on the floor and this was then replaced by a clean table cloth, he didn't use the one he dropped on the floor, which I was impressed with. Plenty of food to chose from and on Gala Night, it is Gala Night!!!! Unlike the Sol Peurto up the road!!! The drinks in Frankies Bar are good value and again the staff are very polite.
We did have young baby next door to us the first night who unfortunately was crying constantly and as we had an early start we were finding this stressful, we called reception who advised us that the family were leaving the next day so this was no longer a problem.
The marina is not far to walk to and you can enjoy a drink by the boats!!!
We did not have the best weather this May however we go for a break not the sun so this did not effect us, very windy and a bit cooler than we are used to.
We would definitely return to the Pez Espada in the future and would recommend, you just need to bear in mind it is a very old hotel (i beleive one of e oldest in the area) which could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

this is really a great hotel good food even brought you pot coffee and pot hot milk and hot water for your tea so you did not have to keep to queue up for them great idea clean and friendly staff rooms have plenty of space could not find any bad points at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I used to come to this hotel every year in the late 80's up to the mid 90's with my family when i was a little girl and have such fond memories of it so decided to come back with my husband and son as we are expecting a baby in November.
I certainly wasn't disappointed, it lived up to all the great memories and more!!
I even found that some of the staff who used to be there are still there, like Joe the Bar Manager and Paquito, so nice to see them!
The food was delicious, service in the restaurant and bar impeccable, rooms very comfortable and extremely clean and the the whole property inside and out is very well kept and clean, it always smells lovely!
We had a perfect, relaxing holiday and enjoyed every minute, i would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, you wont get better for quality or location, we'll be back with the new baby!! Thankyou for a great holiday xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear chessy_11,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada as your holiday accommodation during your stay in Torremolinos and for sharing your holiday experience with us.
We are pleased to read of your pleasant experience with us. We thank you for praising our employees, I have already passed your comments onto them.

Thanks for your visit and we very much hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just. Returned from the Pez Espada after 2weeks hols, we stay at the Pez 3 to 4 times
A year, we are treated like members of one big family, and we happen to see very many familiar
Faces, all who keep returning. All the staff cannot do enough for us from the reception, Frankies,
Restaurant and the ladies that clean the rooms. There is always a good choice of food in the
Restaurant no one goes hungry. The location is second to none, straight out of the gate onto the
Paseo with a lovely sandy beach, a great guy Salvador looks after many of the Pez Espada
Guests, he charges 9 euros a day for 2 sunbeds and parasol. We loved a little boy called Ewen,
So well behaved. We now look forward to going back in September.

Bill and Gill from West Sussex

Room Tip: Pay extra for a garden view room, sunny and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Gillian b,

We would like to thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada during your recent visit to Torremolinos and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada
Pez Espada Hotel
Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list