We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head Waiter” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Head Waiter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Most of the staff are friendly but Luis the head waiter hasn't a clue when it comes to guest relations. He was rude and aggresive to many of the older guests and the management need to get a grip of him.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear tomhall2,

Firstly thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday and for taking the time to write a comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comment and you can rest assured that your comment has been noted and will be forwarded to the management.

Appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del SOl
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    305
    98
    40
    15
See reviews for
162
381
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our April visit to this hotel was our third in 7 years. It's really a classic hotel built in the early years of Torremolinos's development, but none the worse for it. Some would say it's a hotel with a bit of history and character about it. As always, the staff were efficient and friendly, the meals good, from a well run buffet restaurant. It's obvious that although the hotel is starting to look a little weary, it is given a lot of TLC by a caring staff. It is well located adjacent to the promenade, with liitle in the way of traffic noise. Most residents were mature couples, including some Spanish visitors. Go for a garden view room, which have good sized balconies and a pleasant view of the sea and promenade. We were told that the balconies on the other side were quite small. The room was well appointed and clean. There's a medium sized supermarket 200 yards away, close by bus stops which take you to Malaga, Fuengirola etc.

Room Tip: Go for a garden view room. The higher up, the better the view. They get afternoon, evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is our second visit in a year. First time we took the superior room which was disappointing with a very small balcony and although sea facing we got no sun. This time we opted for a 6th floor garden/pool facing room which had a good sea view and marina view. It had a good sized balcony and we got sun until early evening. The rooms are a bit tired and probably about time for a carpet refit, our carpet having some bad stains.(Room 619). Rooms were kept very clean and sheets were changed several times in the week. The food cannot be faulted and service in dining room first class. The entertainment was typical. We only stayed for two shows one on the Friday night called Gordon played a good selection and the Flamenco dancers were superb. Other than that it was time for a sharp exit. There is a happy hour 3 times a week worth taking advantage of and this is Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday 8 to 9 pm. We will probably try another hotel in the vicininty for our next visit.

Room Tip: A high room overlooking garden/pool You will pay extra for this but in my opinion well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear LFrankie,

Thank you for taking the time to send a feedback on your recent holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us and we very much appreciate your comment. Our staff daily strives to provide high standard service as the customer satisfaction is our primery goal.

Thank you again for reviewing hotel Pez Espada and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

we returned to pez espada in april after a cut short holiday last year due to ill health. I am so glad we went back but I wouldn't go again in april as the weather is too unsettled.
I love the position of the hotel, close to the carihuela but close enough to walk into benalmadena as well.
we chose a premium room which was overlooking the sea and had a lot of extra's such as bottle of cava, a bowl of fruit, a small box of chocs and a selection of complimentary drinks. we also had matching bath robes and slippers which was quite a laugh as trev is 6ft 4 and i'm only 5ft 2 and they were the same size!
staff at the hotel are polite and appear happy. the hotel is clean and well presented. ok, a facelift in certain parts wouldn't go amiss but I still think it's a super place to stay!
I've left the best until last, the food! spot on! something for everyone. good wholesome soup, crispy salads, great choice of meals, some international and the usual favourites. deserts I couldn't resist and extremely good service in clearing dishes by the waiters.
breakfast was brilliant too, we were spoilt!
the next time we visit torremolinos or benalmadena it will have to be the pez espada we stay at!

Room Tip: it's worth considering a beach front room and feeling pampered
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Susiebfd,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pez Espada as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to write your sincere feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation, location and services. It will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing high level of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Now home after week (14th April for 7 days, our 5th i think visit) Nothing but positive feelings about this hotel. comfortable,good staff, excellent food. Gardens and pool lovely. Got a room we asked for, thanks for that. Yes time is approaching for a refurb, but not surprising, it was the first hotel in that area circa 1962 when built. Dave C,.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear dave c,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. We are pleased to hear that it has been your fifth visit at this hotel and that you enjoyed it.

Thanks again for your lovely comment and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Pez Espada and was very impressed. Very beautiful hotel one of the original hotels in Torremolinos. We stayed in the main building which was very good, the annex next door looking like it may need a bit of updating. The bedrooms were quite basic but everything you needed, we had a balcony with a lovely view of the garden and beach. The room was keep very clean. Both breakfast and evening meals were both very good with lots of choice. The location was central near the beach, good for buses but quite a long way from the train station. Would certainly use it again if in Torremolinos

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would like to endorse the reviews of the last three people. This was our fourth stay at the Pez Espada, although the previous one was five years ago. Yes, the bedrooms do need updating, but are clean and well serviced. The breakfast is excellent, however I feel that the dinner in the evening is not up to the standard it was. Fresh fruit and vegetables very good but the meat and fish dishes rather variable. We used to get bowls of prawns and really fresh seafood. So, come on Pez, how about a little less choice but better quality?

Room Tip: High floor, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you for returning to the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comment and suggestions as they help us to improve and deliver quality services.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Pez Espada again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.