We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pez Espada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pez Espada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the Pez Espada, once again we had an enjoyable stay,the hotel benefits from an ideal location with easy access to promenade and beach,we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor overlooking pool area and had a lovely view of the beach and which benefited from the afternoon sun.Although rooms could do with refurbishment the housekeeping staff (who always greeted you with a friendly smile )kept the rooms very clean and the bed linen and towels are tip top.All public areas are kept immaculate with plenty of comfortable seating ,the indoor pool area is very drab and urgently needs refurbishment.The food was varied with something for everyones taste ,especially the roast beef and pork carveries which were exceptional !! All in all still a good hotel and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear welovethesuninspain,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comment regarding your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy to hear that your overall experience is positive and that you found this hotel an enjoyable place to stay. Our staff makes the best to meet customer expectations and continually strives to improve the quality of services.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Pez Espada.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    319
    100
    40
    16
See reviews for
168
403
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

took a cheeky week at the pez esp. early feb 2013. very lucky with the weather! the staff at this hotel are welcoming and helpfull. the hotel is still looking good, for its age. the romm, "a superior with sea view and balcony" did not live up to its title. the balcony is a balconette standing room only! the carpet was heavily stained, the shower curtain was stained [mouldy] the room furniture was also quite old.the room was though a very good size. we did have some resident insect life, silverfish.
food at this hotel is plentifull, varied and very good quality. the hous wine prices were alsovery reasonable and good quality. I would reccomend this hotel for good food and staff, you dont spend all day in your room afterall.
dont expect much from the indoor p[ool.
the location is good lots of varied places to eat along the promenade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Latelytraveller,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday in Torremolinos and for taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. We very much appreciate your sincere comment and we assure you all the comments are forwarded to the hotel management in order to achieve improvements in our services.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had read very mixed reports about this hotel but decided to risk it as we thought the situation was good, which indeed it is with the "secret gate" directly onto a pedestrian promenade betweem Belanmadena and Torremolinos.We were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay. The public areas are clean and comfortable, apart from the indoor pool area which needs refurbishment, Food was good and we liked the rather pleasant dining room.Bedroom carpet and furniture is rather tired but otherwise the room was acceptable and we liked the position of our balcony where we got the sun on the few occasions it shone! Bed linen and towels were changed regularly and the room was kept impeccably clean. All hotel staff were pleasant and courteous. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Main building pool and garden view, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcstle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned from the Pez Espada and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Yes the beds are firm, but they are not uncomfortable and are wider than the norm for Spain. The heating is on in the rooms (with a thermostat) all the time, so you are always pleasantly warm (or cool if you prefer). Our room and our friend's had just been refurbished and was clean and well decorated. The staff were very friendly and always spoke when you passed them, even the cleaning ladies. The food was decent, we could always find something we liked, and the salads were really nice. Carvery two nights with vegetables and some sort or potatoes, but always a stew, something spicey e.g. curry and rice, and a fish dish. There was a good choice of sweets, and all round I would say that the food was quite tasty.
We would definitely stay there again, although the entertainment in the winter is for older people, we went in for the happy hour and watched people dancing to the singer, very pleasant. All in all a very nice holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side get the sun in the afternoon, so if you like to sit on the balcony as for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear ab1953,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your recent holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy to hear that you overally enjoyed your room, food and that you found the staff helpful and efficient. We daily strive to provide excellent service and meet customer expectations.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am not normally taken to writing reviews but having read some of the below I wish to say that my wife and I stayed at the hotel in early February this year. I found the staff friendly, and they did smile. We thought the food was varied and very good .The room we were in, 503, was clean and the bedding changed 3 times in a week, always plenty of hot water Bath and shower.Balcony gave a side sea view, and there was heating if needed .The cafe on site was comparable in price to local cafes.I liked it and am going back ,taking my mother, on 22/3/2013 and I hope I get a similar room wouldnt hestitate to recommend the hotel

Room Tip: I requested a high floor whichI I got ,floor 5 and side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear 71Chris71,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to review this hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate every comment as it gives us some insight into customer expectations.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon among us.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at the Pez Espada for 2 weeks February 13.The Hotel is very clean and looks very plush, we had room 210 which was very pleasant with wonderful views over the Beach, but experienced a very nasty smell on 3 occasions in the Bathroom, it was attended too but kept returning, we did not want to change Rooms as this was a free upgrade and we could have ended up in a room not so nice. The cleaner was very good and did a good job. Now to the other side of our visit, the Reception and the waiters in the Hotel have forgot to smile, they would do everything you asked for, but a smile does not cost a lot. The food was OK but on the cold side, could do with being a lot hotter.

Room Tip: We asked for a free upgrade and got room 210 which has fantastic views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Smith30Carmarthen,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada as your holiday accommodation and for providing us with a feedback on your recent stay.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and the room views. Our staff strives to provide our customers with efficient and attentive service. We very much appreciate every comment which helps us to improve our services and to know customer expectations.

Thanks again for your comment and we hope we will have the chance to serve you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spend our winters in spain, so when friends came over for a visit and stayed in the Pez Espada, we joined them for 2 nights. Oh dear. The hotel is clean, the foods ok, but could be hotter. The hotel is in a very quiet area out of torremolinos, and a good walk to any bars etc. There is a happy hour, bingo and on the night we were there, entertainment. But after the entertainment finished, at 10 oclock, the bar emptied. We were asked to finish our drinks as the bar was closing, and they began to put the seats up and turn off the lights. At 10.15pm in Spain??? i couldnt believe it. so we went for a long walk to a bar for a couple of drinks. when we arrived back we had to ring the bell 3 times to be admitted, by a sleepy night porter....it was 12.10am. Ive been to livelier nursing homes! Ok for your garnny if shes recovering from a stroke.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and sea view......you can watch the fishing boats on an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.