We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better view this time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Save Saved
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #14 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“better view this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here end of Jan early Feb 2013. We stayed here before in January 2012 and enjoyed the stay. This time we had an end of corridor room which overlooked the beach and had a much better balcony, Beautiful view of the sea and sunset/sunrise. Shows that its worth extra for sea view rooms!. Good location and nice hotel. Room nice size but bathroom and decor badly needs an update.Old hotel but very nice, maids were wonderful and rooms were very clean just dated. Would only give food an average review this time, but overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear fly243,

Thank you for staying again at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for posting your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed the room location and the views. Our staff makes all effort to provide efficient service and satisfy customers needs.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon to the Hotel Pez Espada.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    238
    86
    34
    14
See reviews for
133
303
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from 2 weeks at the Pez Espada, and in general were well pleased with the facilities.
Our 3rd floor room in the older part was a decent size, and the maid service was very good.
These rooms are in need of refurbishment, particularly carpets and showers (over the bath).
Sealants in the bathroom would benefit from some attention.
TV channels are very limited, and the sets are not of the standard expected.
On at least 2 occasions there was much noise apparently from the nightclub opposite the front of the hotel, and this continued until around 4 oclock in the morning.
Beds are firm,and pillows might have been better than bolsters, and although this did not suit us, I imagine most clients would be satisfied.

No compaints re the restaurant, Angel runs a tight ship, and his the staff are very pleasant and efficient.
The food would be more than acceptable to most people, and there were many visitors from European countries. Slight niggles on the jams and scrambled egg, but nothing else.

Our rep, Becky, was always very pleasant and helpful.

Mr, and Mrs K.J.Lever, Sandbach, Cheshire.(20th Jan. to 3rd Feb 2013)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear klever11,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday and for taking the time to express your opinion in connection with your stay at the hotel. We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of your stay which did not meet all your expectation.
We appreciate each comment and we daily strive to improve the quality and efficiency of our services. Customer satisfaction within the boundaries of our resources, is our primary goal.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned after spending a very good week at the hotel - only problem was I think the average age was around 70 and there was a good chance of being knocked over by one persion in particular using a mobility scooter in the dining room. All in all good weather, good food and a good time was had.

Becky the Thomson rep was a credit to them, she was polite, friendly and very helpful indeed and did seem to mind how long she spent with you to assist. Thomson could do with more like her.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just come back from a two week trip to the Hotel Pez Espada staying there end of January to 3rd February and my husband and I had a good holiday staying there. From arriving the reception staff are excellent and Becky the Rep was fabulous always smiling and has time for everyone. The staff in the restaurant are very professional and keep the restaurant clean and you can always get a table fast as they are constantly on the move clearning tables and making sure everything is perfect.
The Hotel is perfect in its location and I dont think you would get anything better. Its ideal for walking into Torremolinos and the marina in Benalmadena is a short distance away. In Bendalmadena is a nice park which is just up a street from the Bil Bil Castle (a red brick building where people get married. The promenade is fantastic for walking its very long from Terromolinos to Benalmadena . If you cant walk its very flat so a mobility scooter or bike would be perfect if you wanted to get out and about. Plenty of cafes and restaurants for stopping off for a coffee and brandy about 2.00 euros.
If you want to go into Torremolinos by bus --a short walk up a road gets you to the bus stop which can take you to Torremolinos centre, Fuingerolo, and other places so you are not isolated.
About the hotel. The recepition area is quite impressive quite big and spacious very clean. Next to it are a couple of shops, hairdressers, etc, also Frankies bar where you can get a drink during the day and a snack. A large entertainments room. The restaurant is downstairs but for those people who cant walk there is a lift which takes you down into the restaurant.
Food- the food can do with a bit of a lift there is plenty of it losts of salads, different meats, and fish. Sometimes I think the presentation could do with a bit of tweeking up a bit on the presentation of meats. Too much sauces a slotted spoon would help to drain certain foods.. Often the food is cold but I think the spanish like it this way, but saying that there is a microwave oven for anybody who wants the food hot. We found that there was plenty of food to eat and you would not starve. Plenty of fruit, salads, meat, pasta, etc so there is a good choice. It must be ok as plenty of people took out from the restaurant especially the english buns, cheese to make a sandwich for dinner time which is not allowed but some people will not spend anything else once their holidays are paid for. We had a laugh if nothing else watching people doing different things to disguise the food they were taking out of the restaurant. One couple had a cornflake box in her handbag which came out on the breakfast table where she tried to hide the various food she was putting into it. I think the hotel should do something about this and charge the people for the food they take out as this would help the hotel keep some of the cost down. Also their is no check on anybody going into the restaurant so anyone who was in an apartment could pop in and have a meal. I think these issues should be looked at by the hotel as it would be shame for the hotel to run at a loss especially in the summer months when there is more people about.
Bedrooms. We had a fabulous room -clean towels everyday, and a bonus for us was that the room overlooked the pool and we had a sea view. I think at this time of the year the rooms on the other side are left in the dark. These rooms might be ok in the summer time. Outside of the main building are other rooms which I think are bigger and the bathrooms have two wash basins but again these rooms were dark because of the sun not shining on the balcony. Again these might be different in the summer time. In the bedrooms are a TV which can get a few english channels, a fridge, and a safe. A hairdryer is also available in the bathroom. A bonus for the bedrooms is that the floor is carpeted so no tappy feet above your heads. The rooms are very quite so they must have quite a good insulation between each rooms. We could not hear anyone in the next door bedrooms or above us. Even though we knew the hotel was full.
Entertainment. Their is entertainment every night but its not the best but not the worst. They had about 3 good entertainers but the rest was not much of the same thing. A man trying to sing (not well) over his equipment but the music was great for dancing. If you like to dance there was only room on the stage but not a lot if you like to ballroom dance. Maybe sometime they might move the chairs and tables at the front of the stage to allow people to dance but this did not happen when we were there during the two weeks. We did not mind as we had a great time just sitting and relaxing to the music. I am only putting these comments on for people who like to go dancing and might be a bit disappointed that they cannot ballroom dance.
The swimming pools are great and there is a small indoor swimming pool but mostly for short swims.
The weather was sunny and we could walk around with a t.shirt, the spanish were allways wrapped in coats they must think we are crazy but I suppose they are used to their hot weather in the summer. We the english appreciate any sunny weather we can get.
Meals out. The Canto del agua reestaurant which is only about a 3-4 minute walk along the promenade (walking towards Torremolinos) is fabulous for a meal. Their speciality is Steak on the stone which we can highly recommend if you want a meal out for a change at night. For a 200gram of sirloin steak (argentina) on the stone is 15.00 euro or a 300gram is 18.50euors with a baked potatoe 2.50euro was the meal I enjoyed the most on holiday. We plumped for the 300grames and we were so full we could not try their chocolate cake. Maybe next time.
We can highly recommend the blanket trips its a way of seeing some other places and they do not have any high pressure sales. In fact we needed a new matress for home and we decided to get one from them without any one trying to pressure us so it just goes to show we bought even though we did not have to. We went on the trip to El Choro which is a great trip out over the mountains and lakes, and can recommend the Nirja trip where you can have a ride for 3.50 on a train return which takes you around the streets. You have about 2 hrs in Nirja which is excellent. There are another two trips but I think we did good to go on two. We talked to other people in the hotel and they went on the four trips and they all said they were excellent. Even Jackie one of the blanket trip organisers keeps you laughing with her jokes along the way.
ALL IN ALL WE CAN RECOMMEND THE HOTEL PEZ ESPADA and we will certainly be going back to this hotel. We had a look at the other areas but I think you cant beat the location- and the promanade is fantastic very quite. No traffic running aside of the promenade like Fuengirola.

If you like to walk during your holidays and rest at various cafes or restaurants or visit some shops then I dont think you can go wrong with staying at the Hotel Pez Espada in Torremolinos(near to Benalmadena).

Room Tip: room overlooking the swimming pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sindy88,

Firstly, thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for sharing your experience with us.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time, enjoying the food, services and location.
We continuously strives to improve the standards in everything we do.

Thank you again for choosing our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at Pez Espada for 2 weeks from 11th until 25th January and had a most enjoyable holiday. Having read some of the reports on tripadvisor was a bit unsure if this Hotel would be our cup of tea. Need not have been concerned. Arrived atround 11am as our Thomson Flight from Manchester had left early and subsequently we got to Hotel earlier than planned. Rooms were all ready for around 40 guests from the flight. We were given rooms 418 and 517 and both overlooked the pool and beach. Spacious and comfortable the bedrooms were spotless and this was the way it remained for 2 weeks. Wonderful maid service. The lady who attended 517 was a real gem.Yes perhaps the rooms are a little dated but nonetheless were extremely pleasing.Loads of fresh towels each day and pillowslips changed every day and bed sheets every second day. so really what more could you wish for. Great choice of British channels on television. The staff throughout the Hotel were all very very helpful and our Thomson rep Becky was brilliant. Frankies cafe at the Hotel did a good range of snacks and drinks at very reasonable prices. No point in going outside for snack lunch. You would not get the quality anywhere outside for the price. Food at the Hotel was extremely good and the carvery roast pork and particularly roast beef was to die for! The buffet at both breakfast and dinner was excellent. Hotel is well placed for public transport with the main bus routes an easy 5 minute walk from Hotel to take you to Mijas,Fuengirola and Malaga. The local Torremolinos circular bus stops 2 minutes way and this takes yoy to the bus terminal at Torremolinos...ideal for catching buses to Marbella and Estepona. We took the Thomson trip to Gibraltar and this was excellent value for money. All in all this was a lovely way to spend a January away from the awful British weather and would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to Hotel Pez Espada.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool and garden view catch the winter sun however I looked in various rooms including sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear George W,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada for your winter stay in Torremolinos and for providing us with your review. We are pleased to read your sincere comment and to hear you enjoyed your holiday.
Our staff attempts to provide quality service as we are committed to make all guests happy and their holiday unforgettable.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in a close future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Best thing about Pez Espada is the location. The main reception/lobby and downstairs restaurant are cleanest part of this hotel. The rooms upstairs may have nice sea views but are very tired, dirty and smelly. The cleaners try to mast the sewage and drainage smell by spraying air refresher. The cleaning of rooms is below par too. The food is ok but becomes boring after a few days. They did start putting rather strange dishes on dinner menu like chicken tikka and a really horrible dish massaman curry that tasted nothing like the proper dish. There is a very helpful lady waitress in dining room that is a real asset to the hotel. This hotel is best suited to the older generation. The pool area was very dirty. They may currently be benefiting from more bookings as some close-by hotels are closed for winter revamp. I will not return here and hope this place gets a much needed room revamp soon.

Room Tip: Maybe all rooms are not so smelly. Some have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Visitor330,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for providing us with your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that this hotel did not meet your expectations. We very much appreciate your comment as it helps us to improve our services and understand customer needs.

Again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I travelled by myself, and at 45 was considerably younger than most of the hotel. However, I can't remember when I last laughed so much! The Gala dinner for New Year was superb. Other evenings' food choices varied, some better than others, but plenty to eat. I certainly had vegetables every evening - and not sprouts. Yes, the food could have been hotter, but the variety, the open dining, the location of the hotel, and the cleanliness of the room more than made up for this. Free entertainment every night, geared to older clientele, but I enjoyed the singers even if I didn't recognise many of the songs! Yes, the carpet in the room was threadbare, but I still can't get over the low cost of the week, as I'm usually stung with single supplements. What's more the live group on New Year's Eve kept going for both Spanish and British New Years, and there was red wine, white wine, water, champagne, brandy ( and whatever the red Spanish after dinner drink was) included, and a free bar after midnight. This was on top of a 6 course meal. Excellent value for money. Free wifi in lobby. Easy local bus trip to Malaga - stops near cathedral and Picasso museum. Benalmedena marina within easy walking distance. "Blanket trip" factory visit and lecture for nearly 2 hours, but worth it for a free trip to the lakes. Bars and supermarket outside. no traffic noise. Promenade for miles in each direction. Beach really sandy and mainly deserted. And the sun and temperature of 18-22 degrees an added bonus for the New Year. I will certainly consider returning.

Room Tip: Ladies travelling alone were just above reception, which was considerate, but on the non-sunny side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.