We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 26/12/12-30/12/12. This was my second stay at this hotel. Check in was very quick and easy and reception staff were friendly.

Our room was located on the 2nd floor of the older building, I had requested a high floor overlooking the sea but this request was not granted! Rooms were clean enough and had clean sheets and fresh towels every day!

Location of the hotel was great, 2 min walk from Benalmadena and hotel looks over the beach! Plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Also train station is a 15 min walk from hotel and this line can either take you to Malaga or Fungerola, fares are very reasonable!

We were a half board basis, breakfast was okay, same every morning however dinner would be great with a wide variety of food on offer every night, waiter staff were great and they were always happy to help!

This hotel looks very classy but is now a bit out of date, age group was for the over 50s, although being a young couple we fitted in well with the oldies!!

Nothing to fault this hotel with, all the staff were great and happy to help with any problems!

Would recommend this hotel for location and great service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Welovetoparty,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pez Espada for your holiday and for proving us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the hotel services. We aim at all times to provide our customers with a professional, efficient and friendly service.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    325
    102
    42
    16
See reviews for
176
412
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Pez espada in December 2012 for xmas,it was a lovely hotel and the staff are very friendly and happy to help,its in a fantastic location,with a gate in the gardens at the back of the hotel that takes you right onto the beach.We stayed in room 405 which was good with a side view of the sea but it doesnt get any sun,if you want sunshine on your balcony then ask for a view of the pool and gardens.The food was fantastic with a wide choice and the dining room is a sit where you want.Breakfast is 7.30 - 10.30.and dinner is 7pm -9.30pm.We would go back but not for xmas as they dont celerbrate it,they had a xmas tree but that was it,just no xmas feel at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at hotel via Thomson between 9th Dec and 23rd Dec 2012 and it was my visit visit. Hotel is very clean and even spotted things being moved in the rooms to get a good hoover. Food is also very good and was geared towards the British tourist with lamb chops, roast dinners etc. They also catered for other nationalities, offered plenty of cold options and a gala night every Friday which included paella (every other week). No daytime entertainment during the winter months but they do have a small indoor plunge pool which is adequate for swimming if not many people use it at once.
Recommend you upgrade to at least a garden room otherwise you may have a cold dark room with little sun on the balcony. Sadly if you are a single person Thomson do not allow any upgrades on the room unless you pay for two adults which is very poor (not hotels fault).

I upgraded to a sea view which is on the end of the hotel and is more spacious with a small lounge area. It also had a small round table with four chairs which you can use to eat a bit of lunch etc. I would recommend this type of room, but suggest you get a high floor to get the best views on the morning when the sun comes up. The only negative issue about the room is the very small balcony which is just wide enough for a chair.

Hotel is very well positioned right next to the beach and it is only a short walk to the marina and local bars restaurants etc. Something has to be right about this hotel as most people I have met come back year after year!

Hotel reception staff can be a little bit to 'business like' and need to present a more friendly approach, but if you have a problem they do their best to sort things.

I thought the cost of drinks was quite reasonably and they have a happy hour three times a week (Sun,Tues,Thurs at 8-9pm). The snacks in Frankies bar on a lunchtime are also ok if you don't fancy going out for something to eat.

I suggest you join the Med Playa Amigos card and start collecting reward points for visits to their chain of hotels. You are initially given 20 points as a welcome offer which you can use immediately for a bottle of house wine in the restaurant. Just see the guest relations desk Mon-Fri.

Room Tip: Pay upgraded for garden room or sea view at end of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed first week of december,did not have any queueing for the 7 days to either breakfast or dinner.A section of the far room of the dinning area was ropped off,for the whole week.All staff were first class.Thomsons rep becky was superb,always pleasant and happy.Hotel was disabled friendly with lifts and ramps available.Scale to weigh your luggage available in reception if required.Dont go if you are under 50's.Really enjoyed the 7 day break,no complaints

Room Tip: had room 321,garden view.It was a view of the garden and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Evans333_11,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for posting a comment on this hotel. We are happy to hear you had a great time at the hotel and that you found the staff and the services excellent. We daily strive to give our best to all our guests and we are always happy to see them return year after year.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the close future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pez Espada was one of the first hotels on the Costa Del Sol and there are various pictures adorning the wals of people who have stayed there, Sophia Loren, Sean Connery albeit late 60s. One bar is called Frankie's Cafe and has a wall dedicated to Frank Sinatra albums.

Hotel is midway between Torremolinos centre and the Benalmadana Marina. A stroll on promenade 20 minutes or so in each direction.

5 minutes up a slight incline takes you to main road where buses run often to other resorts.

Could not fault restaurant effiecently run and good choice of food. All buffet type fair but that is to be expected. For a 4 star surpised no fresh cooking albit of a limited nature but not really a issue just observation.

I note one review was critical of queueing, yes at times, particulary Dinner there was sometimes a queue but rarely did one have to wait more than 5 minutes, if that.

I would say Hotel is really geared towards older clientle but that suited us. TV's also had a number of English Channels, in fact in this respect best I have encountered abroad.. Few bars near the Hotel but plenty of bars along promenade. Hotel bar for some reason only did Happy hour three days a week. Thomson rep here, Becky, was very friendly can't fault her at all.

There was entertainment every night, mostly a singer or Flamenco, but on one evening a Magician.

Indoor swimming pool but didn't use it, would recommend upgrade to Garden View room. Free Wi Fi in rooms for those who can't live for a week without internet.

Resort seemed quite and a number of hotels closed,visited 30/11 to 07/12/12.

I have no hesitation in recomending this Hotel but probably not suited to those under 30.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms seem the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a 4 night break with a friend who is a wheelchair user. Hotel is only 15 mins from Malaga airport where the assistance given there was brilliant. Welcomed at hotel reception where check in was quick and easy and luggage taken to our rooms, we were on the 3rd floor but the lifts near reception took us up. Rooms were adequate and clean although a bit dated, carpets need replacing and balcony very small however this did not bother us as cleanliness is more important. The hotel is 2 mins from the beachfront where we walked along to Benalmadena most days, stopping at one of the many cafes along the way, we were lucky to have 3 days of glorious sunshine and pushing a wheelchair was effortless. We had breakfast and evening meal, both buffet style, and there was plenty of choice and we were always seated quickly by the friendly restaurant staff, we tried the house wines which were enjoyable. All the staff we encountered in the hotel were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay and would recomnend it to others although I would rate this hotel a 3 star because of the dated rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff and the food are superb, it's just a good hotel with some history, would book again, no problems at all, if you take your laptop they have Wi FI jn the public rooms, but not in your own room, too far away from the router/receiver I think, the hotel entertainment is more for the over 40s really, but we visited in the winter, it may be different in the summer.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor over looking the pool, but being November it was not in use, but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Pauline R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
1.2 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#26 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#2 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Amaragua
SENTIDO Amaragua
#30 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#5 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.