We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday despite the rain and queues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday despite the rain and queues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Pez Espada with Thomson, and we enjoyed it very much, despite almost continuous rain for the first 7 days of November.Fortunately for the second week, the sun made a belated appearance and the weather was lovely.

The Pez Espada was the one of the first hotels to be built in the area in the 60‘s and attracted film stars and royalty in its heyday, whose signed photos still adorn the walls as you walk to the dining room, a bit pretentious especially as the hotel is now starting to show its age and certain areas need updating, although everywhere is spotless. In terms of appearance and facilities I would rate the hotel a 3 star, but the food and service, especially the restaurant service, was excellent, easily 4 star quality.

Our room was in the smaller annex, a garden view room which received no sun but that
didn’t bother us. The room was a very good size with comfortable beds, a fridge, large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, dressing table, sofa bed in addition to the usual twin beds. All the furnishings were in very good order and everything was clean. The bathroom had dual sinks, huge mirror, bath and shower. The flat screen TV received BBC 1, ITV 1 and 2, Sky News and Film 4 with a good picture. The room also had a safe, but the smallest one I have ever seen, it would not even take an i-pad, and the hotel charged 28 Euros for 14 days to hire it, a rip off. I had emailed the hotel prior to departure asking if the room safe would take a laptop of a certain size but did not receive a reply. The room was quiet and our sleep was not disturbed at all.

In room internet access is charged at 10 Euros per day, again rip off land when you are staying 14 days, although free wi-fi is available in the lounge/bar area, which I could actually pick up when stood on our balcony, but it was unreliable.

The food in the hotel at breakfast and dinner was very good quality with a huge choice. Imaginative salads, excellent carved meats on some days, fish such as plaice, salmon and trout, pasta every day and plenty for vegetarians. The sweet course had lots on offer mainly aimed at the British taste (eg apple crumble and custard!) plus four different ice creams and piles of fresh fruit,The service in the restaurant could not be faulted, the head waiter was super efficient as were the kitchen staff in keeping the buffet supplied, and the waiters were brilliant at clearing plates and tables whilst under considerable pressure. Drinks were at reasonable prices and the red wine was perfectly drinkable at 7 Euros a bottle.

As usual with buffet food, it was sometimes not hot enough, but a microwave is provided, and at breakfast, unusually, no queues for the toast machine as there were 3, a first.
Coffee is served at your table in a flask and another for hot milk, not the best system as it was occasionally not hot enough if it had been standing around, so another job for the microwave.

3 local hotels are closed for renovation for the 2012/13 winter season, the Riu Nautilus, Riviera and Angela in Fuengirola, resulting in the Pez Espada being full to capacity, and the management are cashing in on this, but the hotel was too full. This caused long queues for the dining room. The hotel should have arranged two sittings for dinner, but it is difficult when most of the Brits want to eat early. The official opening time of the dining room at dinner was 7pm, and guests started queing at 6.30.(the same ones at the front each evening!). To try to ease the pressure, the restaurant opened early and by 7pm all tables were taken, so anyone coming down for dinner at 7pm expecting to get a table had a 30 minutes wait at least, and this is not acceptable, although as I said earlier the restaurant staff did a fantastic job under considerable duress. Clearly this situation is a one off until the closed hotels are back on stream and I suspect next year the Pez Espada will be back to normal, so I would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

The hotel is in an ideal position on the sea front, mid way between Benalmadena and Torremolinos and it is possible to walk for a few miles in either direction. The frequent bus services run along the main road above the Pez Espada to all destinations along the coast and inland, except to Marbella where you have to walk to the stop above Benalmadena Marina as this bus is limited stop.

The nearest train station is Montemar, a good 15 minutes steep uphill walk from the hotel next to Battery Park.

Despite the rain, we still managed to get out every day, and made full use of the green travel card from the Portillo Bus Co, which enables you to travel everywhere up and down the coast to Fuengirola, Mijas, Malaga, Arroyo for 90 cents per journey instead of the usual 1 Euro 40. You can obtain one from the kiosk on the main road above the Marina. Strangely, the kiosk is closed on Friday and Saturday, yet opens 5.30 am on Sunday, very odd, and you cannot use the card on the urban bus which goes past the hotel, but that is Spain for you.

Prior to booking, I always read the reviews on here, then take a balanced view, and it has not failed me yet, largely ignoring some of the one star reviews as being from serial complainers, and some of the five star ones, if the reviewer returns to the same hotel year after year and likes to be welcomed by the staff as an old friend, rose tinted glasses come to mind.
I hope my review falls somewhere in between and you find it useful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Stevet380,

Firstly, thank you for being our guest at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to share your detailed and thoroughful review. We very much appreciate all comments as they help us to get an insight into guest expectations.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the hotel and that you decided to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Thanks again for your sincere feedback and we hope we will have a chance to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    286
    92
    39
    15
See reviews for
155
350
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we have just returned from 1 weeks holiday at the pez espada 18/11/2012,the bedrooms were a disgrace the ceiling had rings of damp and the plaster was coming off,the food was terrible,cold and repetative and we had to queue everynight and morning for breakfast and dinner as they had closed 3 other hotels down for refurbishing and sent their customers to the pez. We ended up eating salads all week .We heard that they had filled the bedrooms to capacity,but the restaurant could not cope. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel but in our opinion it is only worth a 2 star.We will never go back there again This hotel needs a good overhall

Room Tip: it is sunnier on the left hand side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear geraldine d,

Firstly, thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to write a review on this hotel. We are sorry to hear that you found the reasons and causes for disappointment. Regarding the misinformation about the other Medplaya Hotels in the Costa del Sol, the only hotel which is closed due to refurbishment is the hotel Riviera in Benalmádena which will reopen its doors in May 2013. The Hotel Villasol and the hotel Bali, both located in Benalmádena, are not affected by the revamp made on the neighboring hotel.

We appreciate your comment as it helps us to improve our service and offer our customers the best service.

Thank you.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I were offered accomodation at the Pez as the Riviera is being refurbished, ( we had booked in July) and having stayed previously we had no problems.
However, when we arrived we had room 223 which looked at a wall directly opposite the windows and we had paid for a garden view!
I complained but the one receptionist was as helpful as a rattle snake in a bran tub simply saying that he would have to see what would happen on Friday.
I went back on Thursday night and the staff knew nothing. I pointed out that I had paid for a garden view and we were transferred to 417 which had a garden view.
We found that the dining room was unable to cope with the amount of guests that were in the hotel and unless you queued at 6.15 for dinner, dining room opened at 7.00pm, then you may not get a seat until 8.00pm.
The range of food was not equal to that of the Riviera!!
Breakfast was Ok but of you like eggs then you had to search for a "cooked" one, and if you want fresh fruit then you were unlucky.
At dinner the range of veg. was very limited, only one from beans, peas, corn,and once we had cabbage.
If like me you have a tender digestive system then your meat course was tricky as the chef liked to put peppers and curry etc in the most simple dish.
You have probably guessed that my wife and I will go back to the Riviera but definately not to the Pez, and this seemed to be the intention of all the clients that had been redirected to the Pez. The rooms are adequate, a bit dated, but the reception area is quite exceptional.
The situation/ site of the Pez is good but it does not compare to the Riviera in any shape or form. Sorry Pez, but times move on and you haven't.

Room Tip: Floor 4,5, or 6 room numbers 12 to 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just back from this hotel. Went with some doubts after seeing some of the comments about it. It is a great hotel in a good location right on the sea front. Room was spotless and there is a good selection of food every day. The only problem we had was the rain!!!!!!!!! It was virtually non stop for 7 days. The hotel had a few problems with leaking roofs. The staff were lovely. It could do with a refurb as it is a bit tired and dated in places but on the whole it was very comfortable and also very popular.
Would go back again hopefully will get some sun next time!!!

Room Tip: we were in room 1006 overlooking the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,Nth Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hi just returned from the pez.,we had no problem with staff as some reviews complain about,if you are polite with them they are the same with you we had a very nice room overlooking sea and garden which was cleaned every day, food was as good as any hotel in the area(we have been to most of them), lots of spare sunbeds any time of day. drinks at the bar are very sensible, if you want a small bar go out of front door and turn left,if you go to Rummers bar say hi to Ian from Ray & Linda from York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Pez Espada 29th July - 13th August 2012. Upon arrival was greeted by a very smiley, efficient gentleman who processed our booking very quickly and informed us that a cold supper was available in the dining room (nice touch as it was nearly midnight when we arrived).

Our room although kept very clean was a slight disappointment for two reasons:
We had paid for a sea view and we got a side view with a very limited view of the sea (no watching the sunrise or sunset) as i had expected. We had also paid for a garden view balcony as they were supposed to be bigger, our room 421 had a small balcony and only one chair. We did request another from reception but it never arrived. The maid was very pleasant and although neither spoke their language always managed to communicate with a smile and a wave.

The retaurant food was superb, we stayed half board and could not fault the choice for breakfast or dinner; even the most fussy of person would find something to eat. I must also commend the staff who were all Spanish and treated all guests with courtesy, charm and friendliness.

The pools were kept very clean and tidy, but because they were narrow it did not
take much for them to become crowded, especially if there were lots of inflatables or ball games. There was a plentiful supply of sunbeds and parasols and did not find it necessary to get up at the crack of dawn to claim a spot!!

Unforunately I took ill whilst on this holiday which curtailed my ability to leave the hotel but my boyfriend did visit the Marina in Benalmadena which he told me was lovely. I must thank the restaurant staff who prepared trays of food for me to eat in my room when I was unable to get down to the restaurant.

There was nightly entertainment in the hotel, some of the singers were better than others, but we especially enjoyed the flamenco shows.

Overall this is a superb hotel, with an interesting history, in a fabulous spot overlooking the beach and would recommend it to all ages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from 7 days at this hotel - no major complaints but the place is becoming rather dated. Our room was OK - a bit short on drawer storage and carpet had seen better days but overall the holiday was value for money and in fairness that should be the real criteria applied - too many folk expect 5 star for the price of 3 and that's not fair. Public areas kept very clean but maid did little except make the bed in our room and never before 1.30pm each day and there was no excuse for this as we keep the room extremely tidy - my wife is fanatical about tidyness even on holiday ! Food was Ok and restaurant staff particularly pleasant - Thomson rep was finishing 4 days after our return and had obviously totally lost interest - biggestdisappointment was the weather with only 2 days out of the 7 sunny and warm with lots of rain but I suppose that's our fault for going away end of October

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear owdfella,

Thank you for staying in the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased to read your comment and that you found the hotel as a good value for money.
Our staff makes all effort to offer the high standard service and create a friendly and relaxed ambience.
As to all the comments we receive, they are carefully reviewed by the hotel management.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we will be able to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.