We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just back from this hotel. Went with some doubts after seeing some of the comments about it. It is a great hotel in a good location right on the sea front. Room was spotless and there is a good selection of food every day. The only problem we had was the rain!!!!!!!!! It was virtually non stop for 7 days. The hotel had a few problems with leaking roofs. The staff were lovely. It could do with a refurb as it is a bit tired and dated in places but on the whole it was very comfortable and also very popular.
Would go back again hopefully will get some sun next time!!!

Room Tip: we were in room 1006 overlooking the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    275
    92
    38
    15
See reviews for
152
340
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York,Nth Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hi just returned from the pez.,we had no problem with staff as some reviews complain about,if you are polite with them they are the same with you we had a very nice room overlooking sea and garden which was cleaned every day, food was as good as any hotel in the area(we have been to most of them), lots of spare sunbeds any time of day. drinks at the bar are very sensible, if you want a small bar go out of front door and turn left,if you go to Rummers bar say hi to Ian from Ray & Linda from York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Pez Espada 29th July - 13th August 2012. Upon arrival was greeted by a very smiley, efficient gentleman who processed our booking very quickly and informed us that a cold supper was available in the dining room (nice touch as it was nearly midnight when we arrived).

Our room although kept very clean was a slight disappointment for two reasons:
We had paid for a sea view and we got a side view with a very limited view of the sea (no watching the sunrise or sunset) as i had expected. We had also paid for a garden view balcony as they were supposed to be bigger, our room 421 had a small balcony and only one chair. We did request another from reception but it never arrived. The maid was very pleasant and although neither spoke their language always managed to communicate with a smile and a wave.

The retaurant food was superb, we stayed half board and could not fault the choice for breakfast or dinner; even the most fussy of person would find something to eat. I must also commend the staff who were all Spanish and treated all guests with courtesy, charm and friendliness.

The pools were kept very clean and tidy, but because they were narrow it did not
take much for them to become crowded, especially if there were lots of inflatables or ball games. There was a plentiful supply of sunbeds and parasols and did not find it necessary to get up at the crack of dawn to claim a spot!!

Unforunately I took ill whilst on this holiday which curtailed my ability to leave the hotel but my boyfriend did visit the Marina in Benalmadena which he told me was lovely. I must thank the restaurant staff who prepared trays of food for me to eat in my room when I was unable to get down to the restaurant.

There was nightly entertainment in the hotel, some of the singers were better than others, but we especially enjoyed the flamenco shows.

Overall this is a superb hotel, with an interesting history, in a fabulous spot overlooking the beach and would recommend it to all ages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from 7 days at this hotel - no major complaints but the place is becoming rather dated. Our room was OK - a bit short on drawer storage and carpet had seen better days but overall the holiday was value for money and in fairness that should be the real criteria applied - too many folk expect 5 star for the price of 3 and that's not fair. Public areas kept very clean but maid did little except make the bed in our room and never before 1.30pm each day and there was no excuse for this as we keep the room extremely tidy - my wife is fanatical about tidyness even on holiday ! Food was Ok and restaurant staff particularly pleasant - Thomson rep was finishing 4 days after our return and had obviously totally lost interest - biggestdisappointment was the weather with only 2 days out of the 7 sunny and warm with lots of rain but I suppose that's our fault for going away end of October

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear owdfella,

Thank you for staying in the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased to read your comment and that you found the hotel as a good value for money.
Our staff makes all effort to offer the high standard service and create a friendly and relaxed ambience.
As to all the comments we receive, they are carefully reviewed by the hotel management.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we will be able to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for 7 days half term in a family room with my wife and two children.
On entering our bedroom the single bed was wet due to the roof leaking in
We got a different room which we found numerous problems - bedside lights shorting out, shower head taped, toilet roll holder broke, towel rail broke etc etc
Please only stop here if you are over 65 ! As the hotel does not provide anything for children fullstop.
Built in 1958 and did not make it past 1980 as this is the present decor and furnishings of the majority of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear fullbore 32,

Firstly, thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback, for staying in the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada and for helping us in improving our service and facilities by writing your sincere comment. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all the comments and suggestions and all the them are brought to attention of the Manager.

Thank you again for you feedback and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Torremolinos.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

my first and last stay here! we all went on a family holliday for my nannas and grandads birthday there were 12 of us that went. we arrived and checked in staff at reception was nice and got to our rooms my mums room stank of sweage and mine and my sisters room the bathroom door locked us out and the balcony was 2ft only fit 2 chairs on it
the beds were terrible i had back ace all week
on the first coupple if days it rained so we went to the 'indoor pool' there was ages of 20 , 18 , 16 , 14 we were kicked out of the pool because we were playing marko polo its like a prison camp no running no swimming underwater no splashing and no inflatables it was the massage woman and the salon woman they were so rude to us and just said no! no ! shutting 5 mins and that was it
i did not like the food they did not cater for vedgis i eat salad and veg all week
if your under 40 dont bother going they dont like young people and just give you mucky looks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have been coming to this Hotel since 1996 and counting up I believe that I have stayed here just over fifteen times in 16 years. This shows how much I have enjoyed staying here. The service is first class and the food is always of a very high standard.The staff aways recognise me and always give a warm welcome.Many of the staff have been there for many years which is a good sign that this is a good hotel to work in.
The accommodation side is always clean and well serviced. Clean towels in the bathroom each day with the bed linen changed every two to three days.The room maids always exchange greetings upon passing in the corridor.
The garden area is well laid out and extremly well maintained.Plenty of sunbeds which are comfortable.
Looking forward to another stay next Summer.

Room Tip: Rooms either as with garden view or rooms looking over the Crazy Golf area. I always ask if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.