We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
bradford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our first visit to the pez although we have stayed in the riviera [same hotel chain]
its spotless, the service was excellent and our room on the first floor had a view of the garden, the prom and the sea, bliss!
The rooms are a decent size with air con and the surprising addition of a fridge. Toileteries were provided and the safe was 2 euro's a day, not unreasonable!
The food was fantastic, so much choice!
Unfortunately i was suffering from a hernia and chronic indigestion and as i was finding it impossible to sleep at night we cut our holiday short and sadly returned home.
As we had booked direct with the hotel they only charged me for the night's we had stayed which was a consolation.
As soon as I return to full health we will return, that's a promise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    276
    92
    38
    15
See reviews for
153
340
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Arrived Fri 27th July and left Fri 3rd August.
This hotel made our holiday.
the room was superb (room 1007), air conditioning enabled us to sleep soundly at night.
never had a problem getting a sunbed and the hotel was busy.
the pool never got crowded, we always got sat down straight away in the restaurant.
the food choice was excellent and all of the staff very freindly and helpful, especially the waiters.
two minutes to the beach and right on the promenade which was a vibrant place to walk at night, only a ten minute walk from Benalmadina harbour where we enjoyed a few nights.
varied choice of evening locations all within 5/10 minutes from the hotel.
we will certainly return and recommend to others.
only 15 minutes transfer time from Malaga airport.
rooms were serviced daily by friendly staff no matter what time we left the room.
safe, English tv and fridge in room with balcony overlooking the pool.
one of the cleanest holiday hotels i have ever stayed in.
Once in the room we never heard a sound at night.
they made a room available after checkout so we could shower and freshen up before our evening departure.
Bottle of wine for approx €8 in restaurant and they save it for next meal if unfinished.
Frankies bar next to the pool, excellent place for good food at lunchtime.
try it, you will love it, nothing was a problem for any of the staff!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just stayed a week at the Hotel Pez Espada, Torremolinos. Our stay was beyond perfect. The food in particular was brilliant, especially dinner where it changed every night, so there was a wide variety. however, the best part of this hotel is the staff. Every single member of staff was polite, well mannered and smiling everyday. They deserve a pay rise! I find the hotel was also managed very well, and met up to four star standards. Absolutely loved it, I will definitely be coming back again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Nicole A,

Thank you for posting feedback on your recent holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada.
We are very pleased to receive positive comments from our customers as they are very motivating and rewarding. We appreciate every feedback which helps us to understand customer needs and so improve our services.

Thanks again for expressing your opinion and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I must have stayed at this hotel over 50 times over the past 40 years. I always go back at least once a year. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and work hard. The hotel is kept immacuately clean. The restaurant is excellent with good food, with the waiters being very efficient and friendly, If I can find one fault it is that the Hotel is still living on its past history which is long outdated. It is obvious that by looking at the pictures of past VIP's in the gallery nobody of importance has stayed there for over 30 years. All this outdated history needs clearing away and needs a refurbishment to bring it into the 21'st century, Nevertheless I am still looking forward to my next stay there. My best wishes to Pez Espada.
Regards.....................Dennis Jarrett

Room Tip: All rooms are ok except for 101, 201, 301, 401, 501, 601 etc. These are too dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. I was with my mum who is in her early sixties and I am in my early thirties. The rooms and the public areas were kept immaculately clean by the hard working cleaning staff. I found all staff, including the much maligned reception staff, to be very friendly and helpful and appreciated when I tried out my very basic Spanish on them! I found the rooms to be of an adequate size, unfortunately the beds were very uncomfortable. The bathroom was a good size with a decent shower over the bath. The balcony was a good size with a lovely view over the pool and the sea. We both enjoyed the food in the hotel and found bar prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to the Pez Espada and will most likely return next year. We had a great room (110) looking out over the beach.

The restaurant was great, the food was fantastic, something for everyone and the staff were really efficient and pleasant.

The location of this hotel is super, a nice area, not too quiet. Near enough to Torremolinos and Benalmadena Marina to be able to walk to either.

Overall, a superb holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mini-golf have smaller balconies and get the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear YvonneLavery,

Thank you for sharing your comment about your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Pez Espada with a Tripadvisor community. We appreciate all comments and are keen to read them as they help us to understand customer expectations and to improve our services.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just back from 7 days in Pez Espada, super hotel very friendly staff very nice people staying there. Food excelent.I am booking again for 2 weeks in september when weather is a bit cooler. Keith and Sue Leeds

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 11, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pez Espada Torremolinos
Pez Espada Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.