We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time 5th coming up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“4th time 5th coming up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

have been here 4 times, no children. lovely pool although people have a habit of putting towels on chairs for hours before they use then .if I saw chairs not used in 2 hours I just took towels off and used them. Beach beautiful and fabulous comfortable loungers and cheap. rooms good but it depends how up market you need to be so make sure you ask for what you want. food plentiful and lots of choice. staff very very helpful and obliging and we found the entertainment very very good, last year it was diabolical so they seem to have sorted it out and what a differents

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    492
    184
    78
    73
See reviews for
406
480
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I travelled to Riu Costa Lago with 2 friends for a weeks break in the first week of July. The hotel is a 15/20 minute coach journey from the airport and less than a 5 minute walk down the road to the beach. On arrival, the reception staff laid on champagne and gave us all the information we needed for our room, safe, pool towels and dining times. You have to choose a time for dinner - either 6.30 or 8.30, but this can be changed if you're going out for the day or on a trip (they'll even give you a lunch box of fruit and water, which you can top up with food from the breakfast buffet). I would recommend taking the 6.30 sitting, as the lounge bar gets really crowded of an evening and it'll give you the opportunity to get a seat.
The rooms are dated, but they're perfectly clean and have plenty of storage. We were towards the front of the hotel, facing the road. I personally preferred this as we could see the sea and didn't have the noise of the pool/lounge bar of an evening. We did notice some rooms around the pool were on the ground floor facing the pool - they didn't have any privacy and I wouldn't have been happy in one of them!
The food was lovely, very varied with plenty of vegetables, salads and meats on offer. In the evening there's a cooking station where there's always some form of carvery meat, and fish is served every day. You can also get your bread and butter, chips, burgers, pasta etc. Breakfast offers a variety of eggs, bacon, sausage - all the usual favourites, as well as cereals, croissants and yoghurts.
The pool is smaller than expected, but I found we were able to get a few sunbeds up until about 10am. If there are a lot of you then I'd get down there early, as people do come down at 7 to put their towels on a bed and then go off to breakfast, returning at 10. The pool bar is behind the pool, with self-service wine, beer and soft drinks. The bar is staffed if you prefer spirits. This closes in the evening, with the lounge bar acting as its replacement. The only problem I found with this is that if you don't want to be around the pool you still have to go past it to get a drink from the pool bar in the day. Personally, I feel the hotel and guests would benefit from the lounge bar being open in the day, too, even if only for the self service machines. There's a lovely terrace by the lounge bar where you can sit if you can't get a sunbed!
Our group travelled during the World Cup, and so evenings were accompanied by a projection screen on the terrace showing the live matches. This refers back to my point about preferring a road-facing room as the guests become quite loud and of course the kids do scream a lot. The entertainment inside the bar was pretty standard of hotel-run entertainment. There were some Spanish dance acts, a kids' disco and entertainer, and a strange man playing the keyboard. Again, if you'd prefer to sit outside of an evening then go for the early dinner sitting and get yourself a table and chairs.
Outside of the hotel is a bus stop which can take you into Torremolinos centre, or up the road you'll find the train station which is best for trips to Benalmadena and Fuengiorola. That being said, Torremolinos is about a 30 minute walk form the hotel. Turn left out of the hotel, down the road to the beach, then turn right and just walk along the sands until you see the sign for the town centre. It's really not that far and there are lots of little shops to stop at on the way. Speaking of the beach, the sunbeds and parasols are chargeable - around 4 euros per day. We just bought those wicker mats for 2 euros and laid on them! Closer to home you'll find a small supermarket, lots of kiosks offering icecreams, crisps and drinks, the usual souvenier shops and a few bars and restaurants - lots of which are on the sandy beach with inspired barbecues made out of little boats (again left out of the hotel then right when you reach the beach).
Overall this is a nice hotel in a very good location where you can get the best everything - relaxation, shopping and bars. The staff are fantastic, they really aim to please and if you have any problems they're great at sorting it out. As an example, we needed an extra chair for the balcony. We asked in the morning, by the time we got back to our room to change for dinner the staff had put an extra chair on the balcony for us - as well as a towel-elephant :)

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a high floor room to avoid the ground floor. If you like the noise, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited the Costa Del Sol many times over or a 15 year period, normally staying in a villa or with family, but as this visit was without the children we chose the Rui Luga Costa Lago(three Rui's in about three miles on the front) all inclusive tariff (great value).
Flight from Gatwick only 2 1/2 hours, from landing to hotel (arrive 10pm) 70 minutes drink of arrival in reception, give keys to room (68 ground floor right side looking on to the pool area).

Room very comfortable two large twin beds pushed together, fridge, shower in bath ,hairdry, shower gel etc A/C fully controllable, TV 15 channels (2 English speaking), balcony table and chairs, plenty of storage, (no tea or coffee facility) safety box (10 euros returnable )
As we arrived late they laid on a evening meal of cold meats and fruits.

The main bar stays open until midday from 6pm (busy times always three members on duty, if you could not wait self service unit just outside near patio area wine, soft drinks, beer and hot drinks)
Evening entertainment to be honest was not for us, juggler, magician, organist etc, they did show all the world cup matches.We know the area well and went out fro a stroll most evenings along the front door (500 yards from front door) and turn right, pass many small bars and restaurants open late into the small hours
The pool bar open from 10ish until 6pm again self service unit next to the bar. (ask for free nuts and olives. There are a few cocktails on offer and slush puppy drink for children.
Food we had no issues there was always some different to eat at lunch (1.30 to 3 or evenings two sittings 6.30pm or 8.15pm you are give a set table for evening meals ).Roast beef, chicken, fish, pork, fruit, ice cream, pasta, chips, cold meats, salads, sauces and deserts. (self service drink station in restaurant).
Breakfast 7.30 to 10, and a Continental breakfast available near the upstairs patio area.
Hint coffee in the jugs is strong mix it with hot milk 1/2 and 1/2 and its ok.
Pool area did get full on most days (hotel was full by rooms but not by beds) and yes there were people out at 6.30am putting towels on sun beds and not appearing to 10am.
On the beach Pepe was the cheapest for loungers and parasol 6 euros total


Must do ,day out to Gibraltar on the express coach (you get 5 hours in Gib) trip to Rhonda, Market days Tuesdays and Thursdays, San Miguel street.
There are two bus stops out the hotel, taxi rank 200 yards and La Corina train station 10 min walk (going to Malaga or Fungerola max 2 euros )


Overall no issues in recommending this hotel or the brand RUI (third stay in one) .

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool end are the quieter in the evening. End corridoor rooms quiet as well now one com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Glass of bubbly on arrival , staff very polite & helpful - food was good plenty of choice , Brian the entertainment organiser was brilliant - never seen a man work so hard , self service bar was a bonus - never had to wait to be served , pool was smaller than it looks in picture but was good enough , table allocated for evening tea so no looking around , says men must wear long trousers for evening meal but they do allow smart cut offs , evening entertainment (brian again) was ok & quite funny at times , all in all I would visit again - very enjoyable

Room Tip: twin rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels we've stayed in, glass of champagne on arrival friendly reception staff who were very helpful over the week. The room spotlessly clean with air con and spacious, beds very comfy. The restaurant had plenty off choices with a different choice of main meal every night the hotel has a lot of different nationalities and caters for all so u can try something different if u wish. Again restaurant staff very friendly and always had time and friendly banter with the children. The pool is big enough with plenty of sun beds to go round. Day and evening entertainment was fantastic the entertainers worked there socks off to keep it all going and there professionalism shined throw . The hotel situated in a good spot with bus stop right outside the hotel to go into torremolinos.
Overall had a great holiday could not find fault with this hotel what impressed me most was that every member of staff was friendly and acknowledged us every time we passed them would defernatley go back to this hotel thanks for a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I went here on august 2013 for my honeymoon i recently just found out how to put reviews on me and my partner loved this hotel it was very clean food was great drink was great rooms were amazeing air con worked perfect we got a glass off bubbly on arrival walking distance from the beach shops buses taxis all close by entertainment was good pool was good i will be returning very soon thankyou very much for a great holiday love this place

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel with my husband and my 6 year old son who had a fantastic time ! On arrival end of june 2014 we had some bubbles which was the best start to are 5 nights holiday ! All the staff were very helpful& friendly , the food was great always plenty of choice , the swimming pool area was always very clean and tidy . The entertainment for the children was very good my son loved the mini club . The only down point would be the rooms they are slightly dated but they were clean and tidy served a purpose . The beach was only a couple of minutes walk along with the pharmacy and paper shop . Over all we had a fantastic holiday thank you all

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor on the outside we had lovely views of the mountains .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.