We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Rui" Brand will not let you down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Costa Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
basingstoke
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“"Rui" Brand will not let you down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited the Costa Del Sol many times over or a 15 year period, normally staying in a villa or with family, but as this visit was without the children we chose the Rui Luga Costa Lago(three Rui's in about three miles on the front) all inclusive tariff (great value).
Flight from Gatwick only 2 1/2 hours, from landing to hotel (arrive 10pm) 70 minutes drink of arrival in reception, give keys to room (68 ground floor right side looking on to the pool area).

Room very comfortable two large twin beds pushed together, fridge, shower in bath ,hairdry, shower gel etc A/C fully controllable, TV 15 channels (2 English speaking), balcony table and chairs, plenty of storage, (no tea or coffee facility) safety box (10 euros returnable )
As we arrived late they laid on a evening meal of cold meats and fruits.

The main bar stays open until midday from 6pm (busy times always three members on duty, if you could not wait self service unit just outside near patio area wine, soft drinks, beer and hot drinks)
Evening entertainment to be honest was not for us, juggler, magician, organist etc, they did show all the world cup matches.We know the area well and went out fro a stroll most evenings along the front door (500 yards from front door) and turn right, pass many small bars and restaurants open late into the small hours
The pool bar open from 10ish until 6pm again self service unit next to the bar. (ask for free nuts and olives. There are a few cocktails on offer and slush puppy drink for children.
Food we had no issues there was always some different to eat at lunch (1.30 to 3 or evenings two sittings 6.30pm or 8.15pm you are give a set table for evening meals ).Roast beef, chicken, fish, pork, fruit, ice cream, pasta, chips, cold meats, salads, sauces and deserts. (self service drink station in restaurant).
Breakfast 7.30 to 10, and a Continental breakfast available near the upstairs patio area.
Hint coffee in the jugs is strong mix it with hot milk 1/2 and 1/2 and its ok.
Pool area did get full on most days (hotel was full by rooms but not by beds) and yes there were people out at 6.30am putting towels on sun beds and not appearing to 10am.
On the beach Pepe was the cheapest for loungers and parasol 6 euros total


Must do ,day out to Gibraltar on the express coach (you get 5 hours in Gib) trip to Rhonda, Market days Tuesdays and Thursdays, San Miguel street.
There are two bus stops out the hotel, taxi rank 200 yards and La Corina train station 10 min walk (going to Malaga or Fungerola max 2 euros )


Overall no issues in recommending this hotel or the brand RUI (third stay in one) .

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool end are the quieter in the evening. End corridoor rooms quiet as well now one com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    614
    227
    88
    75
See reviews for
521
606
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Glass of bubbly on arrival , staff very polite & helpful - food was good plenty of choice , Brian the entertainment organiser was brilliant - never seen a man work so hard , self service bar was a bonus - never had to wait to be served , pool was smaller than it looks in picture but was good enough , table allocated for evening tea so no looking around , says men must wear long trousers for evening meal but they do allow smart cut offs , evening entertainment (brian again) was ok & quite funny at times , all in all I would visit again - very enjoyable

Room Tip: twin rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels we've stayed in, glass of champagne on arrival friendly reception staff who were very helpful over the week. The room spotlessly clean with air con and spacious, beds very comfy. The restaurant had plenty off choices with a different choice of main meal every night the hotel has a lot of different nationalities and caters for all so u can try something different if u wish. Again restaurant staff very friendly and always had time and friendly banter with the children. The pool is big enough with plenty of sun beds to go round. Day and evening entertainment was fantastic the entertainers worked there socks off to keep it all going and there professionalism shined throw . The hotel situated in a good spot with bus stop right outside the hotel to go into torremolinos.
Overall had a great holiday could not find fault with this hotel what impressed me most was that every member of staff was friendly and acknowledged us every time we passed them would defernatley go back to this hotel thanks for a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I went here on august 2013 for my honeymoon i recently just found out how to put reviews on me and my partner loved this hotel it was very clean food was great drink was great rooms were amazeing air con worked perfect we got a glass off bubbly on arrival walking distance from the beach shops buses taxis all close by entertainment was good pool was good i will be returning very soon thankyou very much for a great holiday love this place

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel with my husband and my 6 year old son who had a fantastic time ! On arrival end of june 2014 we had some bubbles which was the best start to are 5 nights holiday ! All the staff were very helpful& friendly , the food was great always plenty of choice , the swimming pool area was always very clean and tidy . The entertainment for the children was very good my son loved the mini club . The only down point would be the rooms they are slightly dated but they were clean and tidy served a purpose . The beach was only a couple of minutes walk along with the pharmacy and paper shop . Over all we had a fantastic holiday thank you all

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor on the outside we had lovely views of the mountains .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great hotel!! Was there from 2nd to 12th July
My listing of all the things that impressed me:-
Food was always tasty, varied, kept topped up, fresh, hot and well presented
Never had to wait for a table to be ready.
Everywhere was kept clean and tidy, particularly around the self service bar and food areas.
Great attention to detail - cutlery was always gleaming and plates were always sparkling.
Nothing was ever "out of order" and the ice was always kept topped up.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Although the area directly around the pool was quite crowded there was plenty of space further back particularly in the nice grassy areas.
Nice location near beach and good long promenade.
No complaints - would recommend.
Whilst travel from airport via train is very cheap (1.75 euros per person) and quick the station La Colina is probably about half a mile from the hotel which is a bit of a distance if pulling suitcases. On leaving we got taxi from hotel back to La Colina station which cost 8 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just returned from a week stay at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and rooms spotless.
Reception arranged for a room transfer due to the fact that we had very small triplets in the next room who woke at 5.30!!

Food good quality. The only down side is that is quite a walk from the main town which can be accessed via 100+ steps

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torremolinos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#25 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Belplaya
Hotel Riu Belplaya
#16 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#19 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#8 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
6.7 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#17 of 47 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Hotel Riu Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.