We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Eastleigh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just returned from a week stay at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and rooms spotless.
Reception arranged for a room transfer due to the fact that we had very small triplets in the next room who woke at 5.30!!

Food good quality. The only down side is that is quite a walk from the main town which can be accessed via 100+ steps

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    468
    173
    75
    73
See reviews for
392
454
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My friend and I booked 2 double standard rooms in this hotel for a week all inclusive with our 4 teenagers. My husband and I had never holidayed in Spain so I didn't know what to expect (having watched the TV series Benidorm!) I could not have been more pleased with our choice. The staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgable. The rooms were of an excellent standard of cleanliness and there was a separate lounge area with an extra bed set up beside the sofa (which was also a double bed if needed). The food served in the restaurant is of high quality and there is a wide range of foods to suit every palate ( even our fussy teenagers!) Plenty of sun beds around the pool and a pool side bar with an area where you can help yourself to tea/coffee, cold drinks and beers. My only down side would be that the pool is quite small so in high season it might be crowded. Other than that, I cannot fault this hotel at all and with a hairdressers and beauty salon on site (where Natalia gave me the most relaxing massage) this is definitely one hotel I will be returning to.

Room Tip: After reading trip advisor we requested rooms on the 4th floor between 401-421. These have an excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just had a one week stay and have to heap praises on this great hotel. We were greeted at reception with a glass of champagne (or cava) and it was all uphill from then . Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the seating area and self service bar (could be a problem if you are an early bedder ) ,Everything in the hotel was less than a minute away .Dining room is very strictly supervised and staff are under the watchful eye of a stern looking but very friendly manager (superfluous as the staff were friendly and funny ) Food was better than most hotels we have stayed in and choice was superb , there was a carvery every night with salmon , beef , pork , lamb etc. . Town centre was 20-30 minute walk but bus stop and taxi rank were right outside . Train station about 20 min s. everywhere was 4 Euros return and trains were regular spacious and had A/c .Town and shops were really good and tapas bars were very reasonable.
Try going by the stairs to town if you are fit shops and bars all the way to stop and ehm rest.

All in all this was great hotel with good food ,great staff and good location we are already looking to book again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel and have absolutely no complaints wotsever ..Food fantastic clean rooms, friendly staff and gr8 location... Wot more could u ask for :-D Hopefully going back next year .....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just realised that I have not written a review of this fantastic Hotel we stayed in back in January. The food is the best we have enjoyed in any Hotel in Europe. The service is excellent, and the staff so helpful.
The Manager is always walking around talking to guests ensuring guests are happy and no complaints. I just wish other Hotels in Europe had the same attention to detail

Room Tip: Go for a room with living room, as it overlooks the pool and gets more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel has so much going for it.
Greeted at reception with the friendliest of staff, great rooms with plenty of space.

The best thing this hotel has is the staff. From the team in the bar (Mario, Partillo, Hose- Anotonio, Maria). What an amazing job they do. Loved them to bits, so professional, this would be my dream team!)

The food is fabulous with something for everyone (if you would like something made for you specially, just ask, nothing is too much trouble) and Havier will make you smile everyday.

The entertainment team are simply fantastic. If you have children then the mini disco will be the highlight of your day! Brian and Maria take time out day and night to get to know you and make you feel welcome. They will know you by name within a matter of days, so friendly. There is lots of fun for adults as well as the children with competitions and challenges day and night.

For the ladies, if you don't want to take part in the aqua-aerobics, get a cocktail by the pool and simply watch. Brian knows how to move his hips!!

Looking to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Have just returned after a week and had to double check the reviews to make sure this was the same hotel. Staff were ok but nothing special and the rooms are very dated. We had a family room and the bedroom was more like a cell. A window which you could only see out of if you stood up and the other room stank of cigarettes. No smoke alarm in there but one in bedroom. At check in we informed girl on desk that we requested a high floor via e mail as suggested in previous reviews but was told that hotel was full. We were in room 150 which is 1st floor so we decided it was not worth trying to move because the room literally stank and managed to ask a cleaner to spray the room which worked for perhaps an hour. The food was among the best we've had anywhere but the meal times were chaos with people going all ways and no sort of order. You are given a table for evening and keep that for your stay. Sun beds were pretty much gone by 9am and many were towelled up by 7am and having woke early for the toilet once looked out of the window and saw towels down at 3am !!! The pool is so small for the size of hotel it is a joke. There are so many kids and inflatables it is easier to just paddle in the kids pool because they are all in the other one. A previous review says about the list of rules which include not putting towels down, no inflatables in the pool and not using pool after 19:00. Just rip it up when they give it to you as nobody gives a damn about them. We heard the pool attendant blowing a whistle at 20:00 trying in vain to empty pool so he could clean it but of no use for another hour. A message to the management that if you present guests with a rule book at least appoint a manager with big enough kahunas to back it up. One last point if you like to hear footballs being constantly bounced and kicked against the ground floor balconies, which may be yours, while you try to relax on a sunbed, assuming you can get one, this is the place for you and if you are really lucky none of the balls will hit you while you're sunbathing. There is no way we would return here

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.