We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great winter sunshine break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Neath
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“great winter sunshine break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just returned from a brilliant week at this super hotel in the quiet part of Torremolinos, the staff at this hotel are some of the best I have come in contact with and I have traveled to to many countries. The purpose was of course to get some sun, but to also celebrate our friends 55th wedding anniversary, the staff were so helpful, arranged an anniversary cake and wine for dinner that evening had a candle burning on the table when we sat down, and were very attentive. The location is very quiet with a 2 minute walk to the beach, the bus stop is right opposite the hotel and runs every 30 mins, with very convenient changes for Mijas, Benamaldena, and surrounding countryside, I would have no hesitation in reccommending this fab hotel to others, the situation is flat, so easy walking, the rooms are spotless, cleaned every day, the variety of food is outstanding, with show cooking daily with a carvery section as well as buffet, All in all one of the best hotels I have stayed in, Looking to book for next year same time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    501
    186
    78
    73
See reviews for
407
489
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 7-14th of march we were second drop off after the airport check in was quick and helpful got to room and didnt like it so phoned reception who told us to come back down and they would give us another room this time the room faced the terrace and had sun from 12 in the afternoon till about 5.
Hotel is very clean and I do agree with the rooms needing a refurb but I personally dont think there that bad as there so clean and spacious.
Pool toilets were also spotless, pool was cold when I was in it but the baby pool was nice to sit at with my feet in it.
The terrace was a sun trap and sheltered from the wind so spent many an afternoon out there.
Food was good I am quite fussy mind you but I always got something to eat I think we eat out twice during the week as we had the early sitting and sometimes got back from days out too late. The hotel has a spa and a hairdressers in it and prices were reasonable.
Entertainment was average brian did try his best but its just typical all inclusive hotel stuff theres a tv up the back of the lounge and football was shown on mute on a few nights.
Yes the hotel caters for older people but there not all bad we had a brilliant time and found the hotel to be brilliant.
Theres a beach bar down the road called copacabanas and it has double beds you can lie on in the beach drinkin cocktails. The beds are free and cocktails were 7 euros but defo worth it can imagine it to be very popular in high season. Also visited the german paddy across the road from hotel most nights andi was lovley so please pop in and have a wee look for yourself.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to this hotel and once again we really enjoyed our stay. The entertainment was terrible but as we were with friends this didn't bother us too much. Once again the staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the food was lovely and always hot and lots of choice if you are fussy.
Our room was on the second floor and facing the road but it wasn't at all noisy, it was south facing so had the sun on the balcony all afternoon.
This is a hotel for the older generation really, there is nothing for children to keep them occupied.
Apart from the lack of entertainment we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back a 3rd time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Everybody moans about the old people, they have holidays as well, but no trouble just do your own thing. We went for my daughters birthday and had a great time, in the evening they put a candle on the table with a bottle of cava and sang happy birthday to her, a lovely touch done for quite a few people. Rooms okay and very clean even get left swans and elephants made with the towels. All staff polite and helpful and there is always something nice to eat. Easy to go to other places the train station only a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

At reception, in the bar, the restaurant & also housekeeping. Apart from the reception area the rest of the hotel is a little dated now, especially the bedrooms and in need of a good refurbishment. The food is plentiful but average with a large choice at breakfast lunch and dinner you will not go hungry during your stay. However if you are under pension age you will be out numbered by the old folks. If you want somewhere lively go to a different hotel. If you are happy to sit in the sun all day eat, drink & do nothing else even in the evening this is the place for you. Over all an average hotel but not four stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1st week of March 2014. Great hotel could not fault staff. Service was great, also catered for my wife's special dietary needs always happy to help. Really enjoyed daily activities something for all ages, very welcoming. made some real friends

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

On our third visit here . good food . good location ,excellent friendly staff only downside entertainment I have seen the same magic show 6 times now. Mixed nationalities .I agree with the comment about the toilet.

Room Tip: Any .Rooms over looking the road get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.