We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with good service in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great hotel with good service in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

just returned from a weekend break here and have to admit that as a first experience of all inclusive i've had a great time. we went out as a mixed group of 8 with ages 28-38 as a mixed bunch.

arrival was smooth and efficient and certainly nice to be welcomed with a glass of chilled fizzy wine. checking was painless and off we went to different parts of the hotel. the room had a seperate lounge, big bathroom and bedroom. the building is clearly a little older and the communal areas have been done up, and the room had was perfectly fine, but is showing its age. note sure when i last saw a bathroom suite in brown/fawn/beinge/peach had to describe really. so other thanbeing a little old fashioned nothing wrong with the room. air conditioning dribbled in cold air, but it did work.

food was a nice mixed bag with different stuff. fairly standard fair, and certainly nothing to object too. plenty of choice, and i really enjoyed the salad bar. inclusive drinks made a nice change for me and self service beer, wine and softdrinks in restatautn was good.

pool bar also offered self serve beer wine and softdrikns with bar service for cocktrails and spirits. two and coffee available too.

night time bar was not self serve but the staff where quick and took no time at all. no issue with one person getting the round in either - trays were available.

weaker point? the entertainmentr was aimed at the older market, with the bloke on the guitar being pants! he had his own sound effects for clapping etc... make of that what you want.
karioke was also a slow might, but its hard when people dont want to play....

the hotel overall is probably better served to an older age range but that could just be the time of year we went.

overall no complaints from our group, worth going along.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    471
    178
    77
    73
See reviews for
395
465
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had previously stayed in the Riu Belplaya - in January - It was sensational. This “sister” (it is right next door) came up at a reasonable price ... so we tried it for 5 days.

Firstly let me say that this hotel is NOT a suitable choice for young travellers - it is a long way from the excitement of the town centre (5 miles walk to the Marina) and there’s not really much to do at the venue. Most guests are mature couples. It’s not really child friendly either. The disco/bar suits older travellers - with a more ‘senior’ outlook. And the sports/animation suits okder travellers.

The rooms are quite plain. A fairly ordinary TV is provided- but the channels are few and the picture is dismal. The bed has a flat, reasonably sturdy mattresses. Nothing to get worked up about. Each room has a nice veranda - so that you can go out and smoke if you need to. But beware ... some verandas might be quite noisy - ours was room 13 - overlooking the garden on ground level - so not bad ... others overlooked the cafeteria areas or the bars. Some verandas are almost ‘part of’ the public areas - so not so good if you want to enjoy solitude or privacy.

The mealtimes were average. The lunches were probably a bit disappointing. The worst lunch we had was on Thursday - when the choice was chipolatas, beerfburgers, a ‘Paella’ made of pasta and chips. Most diners were looking sadly at their plate of food. Not exactly inspirational. But the chefs do try hard - nothing is wasted - most unused food goes on to get re-created. Dinners are a lot better than lunches, with a carvery option, local fish, always some pasta options, lots of nice veggies and plenty of salad. The desserts were always great.

The bar is friendly and they make some superior cocktails. It’s always busy - the room is too small to cater for everyone at once. So show nights can get a bit crowded.

Why top marks? The price is astonishing. And the service is amazing ... Everything is served with a huge smile. All members of staff tend to go out of their way to make your visit memorable. They all understand quality service - and they always try to delight you. If you can get a good deal here - then give it a go. Lots of sun makes it even better!

We would choose Riu Belplaya over this one if both hotels were offered at the same price ( the hotel next door is slightly better) - but both are well worth a look if you are on a fixed budget.

Room Tip: If you want solitude - check that your veranda isn't too close to a public area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed here end of september as a couple. as we had stayed here previously we knew what to expect. since being taken over by Riu it has undergone a few changes. we were greeted wiyh a drink on arrival and we were checked in very quickly. the staff on reception are all very pleasant and friendly, rooms cleaned daily and to a high standard. food choice varied and always hot plenty of choice even for fussy eaters. you do not need to take beach towels with you as you can get them from reception free of charge you only have to pay if you do not return them. the only downside to this hotel is the lack of toilets so come on Riu lets have some toilets on the same level as the bar. would definetly go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmilns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely time here from 9th-16th oct..although when I booked this hotel my partner was not in a wheelchair , was by the time we travelled ..They were so helpful ..we had a room on first floor near elevator and reception ..On the third day another room neater reception had became vacant with wider doors for wheelchair and they moved us in there....There is a good choice of food ..only thing a would say a bit over the top on the fish...There is a pool bar which is open between 10-30-6...and saloon bar 6-30-12.00...Entertainment I would say was aimed more at the older generation but there was a lovely large patio to sit out with your drinks ..was always busy and you could get a good chat with other holiday makers..Beach 2 min walk ..only 3 euros each for sun beds...The German Paddy Pub 1 min from hotel ..The owner of the bar was lovely and helpful ..pushed wheelchair for me down some of the dodgy slopes...There is a bus stop straight across from hotel into resort ..The hotel staff so friendly and helpful..There was a good choice of A/C drinks and cocktails ..Rooms kept very clean. If it was not for the fact my partner in a wheelchair I would return ...Only less than 10 mins from airport by taxi..if like myself once you are at airport you just want to get to your hotel soon as.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we stayed at the riu costa largo at the end of sept and I feel that this is not a family based hotel there was 2a2c. the rooms was not bad but not up to a 4 star rating by far I have stopped in better 3 star hotels. the maid was in every day bar one day the rooms was a little small to our likeing as was a family room . the food was great got to say lots to pick at but there not a lot to do at the riu unless you want to sit by the pool with the rest of the oap this hotel is based with more over the ages of 60 to 80 years olds and not for family's with kids at dinner we got told that a old couple had been says that kids should not be in there as it was to loud for them.we would not go back to this hotel on the grounds on not a lots for young kids

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First Impressions on Arrival – Excellent customer service by the Receptionist ( we arrived 30mins before lunch was due to end and she suggested we leave our luggage in the luggage room and go have some lunch prior to checking in so as not to miss a meal ). Slight confusion and room mix ups upon checking in after lunch, but this was quickly resolved. Food at Lunch and Dinner was lovely – lots of choice to satisfy even the fussiest of people, and a great mixture of hot and cold food and plenty of drinks options.

Entertainment that evening was Karaoke – and safe to say that our group ( 19 ladies, range of ages celebrating a Friend’s hen Do ) certainly added to the hotel’s entertainment – our group sang several songs, along with interacting with the other guests by singing, dancing and even including a young girl who danced with us – all in all a lovely evening, with a lot of guests complimenting us on our chat, banter and general ‘aura’ – we certainly were not loud, drunk ‘ladettes’ .. Upon the evening drawing to a close, we were unceremoniously requested to finish our drinks OUTSIDE the hotel – I found this rather odd, considering we were guests in a hotel, and there was no ‘residents area’ to finish our drinks or evening – I work in the hotel industry myself, so was rather baffled by this as we allow our residents exclusive use of the bar area once we close to the public, along with offering them the use of the lounge and reception for their comfort and pleasure.

Being an all-inclusive hotel, and a large party, several of our party were designated ‘get the drinks in’ to save us all queuing at the bar – so we were getting approx 3 or 4 drinks at a time to carry back to the group – and this did not appear to be a problem for our 1st two evenings at the hotel, however, following on from the 1st evening, we were served drinks up until 11.55pm on the second evening and then, rather rudely, we were requested to leave the hotel at 12 midnight – upon this request, we complied and lifted our drinks and again headed OUTSIDE the hotel to finish our drinks on the steps/street outside the hotel

Things soured on the 3rd day, when attempting to get refreshments, we encountered despicable treatment. In front of the other guests, we had the barman ( who’s name I cannot recall at present ) waving his finger in our faces telling us ‘ ONLY ONE DRINK, NO MORE, YOU FINISH ONE DRINK, THEN COME BACK FOR ANOTHER – ONE DRINK AT A TIME’ – other guests were being served multiple drinks, while we were clearly being discriminated against. The older guests we had befriended on the previous two evenings were gobsmacked at our treatment and couldn’t understand what the problem was. We requested to speak with the manager and this was refused – due to sheer embarrassment, we left the hotel and sought a new place to provide our business with

It only gets worse on the 4th day – after going out for a walk, myself and the 2 girls I was sharing a room with, returned to our hotel room, to discover the door unlocked and beds overturned – first impressions, we had been burgled. Approx 20 minutes later, a knock on our door revealed a maintenance man with ZERO English and ZERO manners, who barged into the room ( I was wearing only a towel) and he proceeded to pull one of the beds out of the room, knocking me against the wall in the process – it appears one of the beds was damaged, which I presume was discovered by the hotel chambermaids, but at no point were we informed anyone would be entering our room to carry out any repairs, so the shock at the state of our room being turned upside down left yet another bleak mark against the hotel’s treatment of us.
On our 4th and final evening, we suffered the humiliation of being asked our ROOM NUMBERS in order to be served drinks – again, no other guests at the hotel were being asked this information and we also found our group being refused WATER!!

To say I was happy to be leaving this hotel was an understatement. A lot of time and money went into preparing our trip to Torremolinos and the Riu Costa Lago, and while we were made aware of another large group of Girls having problems with the way they behaved/were treated, we did not deserve to be branded the same as them. We were a group of professional ladies ( Nurses, Civil Servants, Sales Professional, Travel Journalist) we behaved with nothing but respect for other guests and the hotel staff, and we were not afforded the same courtesy in return.

The food was lovely on all occasions of eating, so cannot fault that, however the treatment received by approx 4 or 5 members of staff was far more memorable than the good customer service we received from 1 or 2 of the staff. The rooms were distinctly average, with noise levels being unacceptable when you can hear the room above you and their bowel movements – not pleasant at all.

I would not be able to bring myself to recommend this hotel, due to the fact I work in the hotel industry myself, and if I treated the guests at my place of employment the way I was treated, I would find myself out of a job and quite frankly I would be disappointed in myself – unfortunately the few good points about this hotel is not enough to save it in my opinion

Room Tip: If travelling as a Group - request rooms together to avoid being seperated from your friends/family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week with my family including our 18 month old grand daughter. Our rooms were facing the road and got the sun all afternoon/evening. They were immaculate. They were cleaned spotlessly every day. The most important part of this hotel is the staff. They are wonderful. The hotel is a little from the town but the bus stop is outside and 1.22 euro gets you into the heart of Torremolinos, which I must say is a rather lovely place. I did have my reservations before we went but would go back tomorrow. Back to the hotel, the only negative thing that I would say is that we had a group of stags in whilst we were there and they were very noisy. This really isn't a hotel for same sex groups. The management need to monitor this. I've been on girly breaks and understand that certain hotels cater for these groups. It's a shame if the costa Lago gets a bad reputation because of the management failings. On a big plus side the weather was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Room 349 and 355. Both have lounge areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.