We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back, pleasant enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Save Saved
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would go back, pleasant enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Me and my husband went here fir Christmas 2012 and wasnt sure what to expect.
having never been to costa del sol before.
We were pleasantly surprised .
Great area and grounds, was a little quiet but the staf says thats because if the time of year. Wasnt much english but that was fine.
Food was very nice and Puddings were to DIE FOR

rooms very spacious and had a lounge area , balcony big and bath VERY big.
Entertainment was fine not the best but okay, bar area was small and there was lots of guests. Only problem i had was that the toilets were on ground floor near resturant so if you were in bar you had to go out of bar along to reception and in lift to ground floor.

Went on trip to Gibralter which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Would deffinatly go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    449
    164
    72
    72
See reviews for
376
442
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Returned to this hotel from 2nd to 8th October 2013.
Stayed on all inc basis and was again more than happy with our break. This hotel is friendly, clean and great value.Staff are professional and extremely helpful.
Rooms with sitting area are quite spacious and charged the same. Perfect if you have a child.
Food,drinks and snacks abundant with great choice and variety, the entertainment is average but okay for this time of the season but can't comment for peak times obviously.
The situation is perfect if you like to be close but not in the midst of Torremolinos, bus stops outside hotel and La Colina train station is a short walk away for trips to Malaga or any stops/resorts towards Fuengirola and travel is so much cheaper than the UK
.There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the beach is 3- 5 mins walk at most. The front is beautiful and the beach clean and safe for all.
Weather was beautiful and will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: Room balconies on the left side get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2weeks in september with my wife and had a wonderful time.we arrived at 11am and our room was ready we was given a room on the second floor with a pool view the room had everything we needed the furniture was a bit dated but it was cleaned to a good standard.
The food at this is very good with some of the food cooked in front of you the food was always hot which made a change from luke warm food we have had at other hotels we have stayed in.
The pool is a bit on the small side but there was plenty of sunbeds even if you went out in the morning .
The evening entertainment is not too bad the bits we saw but we sat on the outside most nights as we found it a bit warm inside our entertainment was talking to other people which we meet some lovely people and made the evening go so quick all in all we had a great time at this hotel and would like to thank all the fab staff at this hotel as they are a credit to the hotel and made our stay enjoyable.
The only downside is the location as there is not much going on outside at night and we like to wonder but this is not the hotels fault and we would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

In general the Riu costa lago is a very good hotel, very tidy rooms first class comfortable beds and air conditioned rooms with excellent en-suite facilities.
However the only thing that stopped me from giving it 5 stars was the so called entertainment.
This was on the whole very poor apart from one night when there was an excellent Magician, wholey unacceptable for a hotel of this standard given the locasion is some what out of the town centre.
The only other thing I would say is some rooms are a long way from the bar/restaurant area, not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

just returned from the Riu costa lago, although the hotel was quite nice it was a bit disappointing. It wasn't the usual RIU standard, you had two bar areas one at the pool and one in the hotel. The one in the hotel didn't open until 6.30pm which was fine but outside that bar was a terrace that only had drinks available 10-11am and 4 -5pm (non alcoholic I might add) in other RIU's there was always a terrace and a pool bar that was open all the time with snacks all day. The snacks were only available between the times above. The hotel was a bit out of the way although a bus stop was outside and train station about 10 min walk. Not much entertainment, only one animation person, not the best RIU. I also found the beds very hard and air con wasn't up to much.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are quieter we were in 393 which is away from the terrace if you want an early n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First of all room cleaned every day fresh towels left if you put used ones on floor only fault with room was very little drawer space but managed o.k. Was disappointed at being given room on floor number _1 having requested a high floor but we did have a lovely garden view and plenty of afternoon sunshine. Self service drinks were good as you didn't have to queue if you only wanted lager soft drinks or tea and coffee. Restaurant really good as you are allocated a table on first day which you kept to all holiday so no searching for a vacant table although breakfast and lunch you sat where you wanted there was always plenty room. Food was very good and always plenty of choice so mustn't complain that I put on 7lbs in my 2 weeks stay! During evening meal you would always see the manager walking round and having chat with guests asking if you are enjoying your holiday which I thought was a very nice touch. So all in all brilliant holiday and would return. Thanks Costa Lago Hotel and all staff for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from 11 nights in the Riu Costa Lago, Torremolinos. This was our first stay in this hotel normally we holiday in the sister hotel Riu Bel Playa.
We requested an upper floor room and were given a room on the top floor which we really liked.
The room was very comfortable with ample storage and a separate sitting area. The beds were comfortable and the linen was changed regularly. The bathroom was dated but clean and serviceable with a good shower. A fridge in the room would be a big plus!
The staff in the hotel are friendly and welcoming.
The swimming pool, poolside and gardens are well maintained and clean with plenty of sun loungers and space on the grass areas as well as the poolside for lounging.
The food was a bit repetitive and if you do not eat red meat or fish then the choice is limited. However you need never go hungry!
The evening entertainment could be better but you can take your drinks outside to the terrace if you don’t want to listen or watch. The drink measures are small as the glass tends to be filled with ice making a little look more! One downside is a lack of toilets for the evening bar as the only toilets are located on the lower ground floor whilst the bar is on the first floor.
The hotel is close to the train station (La Colina) for trains to Malaga – Fuengerola and the bus stops just outside the hotel for Torremolinos town centre.
We really enjoyed our stay and would return to the Costa Lago.

Room Tip: Upper floor preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.