We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago to your Saves list
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
stranraer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quiet family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I lost my father last year and so booked this hotle to go to with my mother and my little girl. Nice hotel in a quiet area very close to beach (150 yrds). Choice of food excellent something for everyone. Waiter in restaurant called Javier a credit to the hotel made my little girls holiday one to remember with his fun. Only downside to this hotel is the entertainment at night which i would say was the worst i have seen in 35 years of travelling to the contenent. Very close proximity to airport ,only 15 mins travelling time. On a whole i would use this hotel again because of its cleanliness,food and vacinity. We had a room on the 3rd floor looking on to the main street and was very quiet and peaceful at night. Don't listen to those who complain about the cuisine as choice and variety was excellent.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking main street,very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    498
    185
    78
    73
See reviews for
407
486
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel with the nicest staff we have ever experienced! The manager, Raphael was on hand most of the day and at meal times & was very approachable. Our barmen, the 3 Joses knew what we drank & made our holiday enjoyable. The food was good and plentiful. Rooms were spotless and spacious. All in all we experienced a fabulous first time in costa del sol. Thank you so much everyone t Costa Lago :0)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I agree with the majority of the previous reviews on this hotel regarding food, staff, location, value for money, cleanliness etc..
We as a group of 5 (2 aduts and 3 teenagers) have just returned from an 11 night all inclusive stay at the Riu Luca Costa Lago. As many other people have commented, the food and drinks are very good here with plenty of choice (the paella was my favourite), and they do cater for fussy eaters too.
In high season, the evening meal times dress code is relaxed, with gents allowed to wear shorts. But going off other reviews, this may change in off-peak times. I also loved the idea of self service beer, juices, soft drinks and coffee.

The staff are all very friendly and profesional, and I have to give special praise to the reception staff who are probably the most welcoming, polite and helpful that I have ever had the pleasure of staying with in over 25 years of holidaying.

The pool is, as others have pointed out, a bit on the small side and can get over-crowded. Having said that, there was always enough space for a dip. There are plenty of sunbeds to go round with a lovely big sun terrace area. And yes, unfortunately, there is the old sunbed-towel reservation disease here. But to be fair, there are probably very, very few hotels where this doesn't go on. We even witnessed 2 ladies reserving sunbeds at midnight one night.

The location was perfect for us, it is in the quieter area of La Colina, roughly a 20 minute walk from Torremolinos, so bare that in mind if you prefer hustle and bustle. The beach is a 2 minute walk away and we are all beach lovers so that suited us. Some lovely fish restaurants along the beach front too.
Also, the local train station is only a 10 minute walk away, and it's an excellent and easy way to get out and about.
We got the impression that the La Colina area is favoured by Spanish holiday makers which wasn't a problem for us, but again, it will be a problem for some. The hotel however was heavily populated by Brits when we were there, with the entertainment programmes mainly aimed at the British guests. And on that subject, the evening entertainment that we did catch, was pretty awful.
The entertainment room was hot and stuffy, and outside on the terrace is where all the smokers congregate. So if you're non-smokers like us, it can be quite uncomfortable out there too.

In a nut-shell, this hotel is very good value, the ups very much outweigh the downs,and we really enjoyed our stay here. There is room for improvement, and within time, I would probably expect the odd improvements here and there to be made.
If you are looking for a relaxing break, and have a little bit of extra spending money, I would definately recomend staying here. If you are more of a Blackpool/Benidorm etc type, then maybe look elswhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Fab hotel located two mins away from beach and some lovely restaurants. The food was abit bland in the hotel found ourself eating out a lot even tho we were all inclusive. The staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for us and we were greeted with a glass of champagne on arrival which was lovely also told that we missed dinner but the chef was preparing something for us an this was 10pm at night so we were pleased with that. The evening entertainment was abit poor the best bits were the mini discos for the children the children's entertainers were better then the adult entertainer haha but such a fab hotel lovely pool and bar area to relax by.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went to this hotel in June 2013. It was amazing! Had a fantastic time. the food was brilliant couldnt have asked for anymore. The staff were all very helpful when i was looking for directions to the Aqua park and cable cars. The night entertainment wasnt so good but we done plenty during the day and by 10pm we were shattered lol. The rooms were cleaned daily and had no faults at all :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed over new year and thought it was stunning...especially the food..which we both loved..the variety and quality and setup was fine..it was our first experiance of Spain and all inclusive...loved it..anyway in the bigger picture of things...this is a good Hotel..with great food....lol..weve just returned from a so called four star hotel in Malta...all inclusive..and my god.that was terrible in comparison..I wish i was at the Costa Lago.and shoud of returned....it was looking back very very good..anyway i suppose there is better out there....but there is lots lots worse..if you book the lago and enjoy food-cocktails..etc you wont really go wrong at all in my opinion... ;-) enjoy... oh yeah..the rooms were ok..bars..etc..didnt go in the pool..

Room Tip: away from the lower levels near the bar ares
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked 2 rooms for my family and requested next door to each other but they were 5 rooms apart - bit disappointed but excepted it as I did not want to move half way through holiday. Nice staff, restaurant areas well managed, no queueing for soft drinks/ lager or wine. Hairdryer in bathroom very weak. Sunbeds around the pool were always taken, I even looked out at 7:30 one morning and still the towels were there....There are lots of beds stacked up so you will still get a bed on the grass around 11am as we did after breakfast. If you want to watch the kids you had to walk up to the pool area. The pool was chaos with bodies everywhere - you could not swim more that 2 - 3 strokes without having to move out of the way of someone. Its not relaxing and we had to go to the beach just to get away from the crowded pool. Its a little out of the way for shops so a 20 min walk is needed to get to the beginning of the shopping area. Overall it was a nice hotel but I would have given 5 stars if the pool was bigger and it was near to the shops and bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago

Address: Obispo Juan Alonso, 4, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lago Torremolinos
Hotel Costa Lago
Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Hotel Luca Costa Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.